We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Little gem”
charlestown harbour, beach in background
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
charlestown harbour, beach in background
appletree house front garden detached house Poldark in charlestown-5min walk ongoing filming for new series
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
charlestown harbour, beach in background
appletree house front garden detached house
Poldark in charlestown-5min walk ongoing filming for new series
the beach ( pebbly) 15mins walk
dining room
Second double bedroom
charlestown beach great for rockpools, snorkeling and kayaking, paddle boarding etc
charlestown
charlestown
oak shaker style kitchen with oven/grill/microwave/fridge freezer/washing machine
entrance
Fowey nearby,eating out,sailing
Polkerris lovely for a sundowner,music events and great food,15min away.
Lounge opening out to patio and garden with table and chairs
Porthgwarra
Levant, Botallack
Kynance cove, Lizard
Eden Project nearby
Porthcurno and minack
10 mins walk from house
Nearby Pentewan with plenty of watersports to hire
Bedruthan steps, north coast.
Sunny garden and alfresco dining
Bedroom 1 with ensuite
View from bed at our other place, Seaview house in Mawgan Porth.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Charlestown, St Austell, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ethel2530
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Little gem”
Reviewed 28 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

What a wonderful find. This place was perfect for me and my family ( including my dog).
Only a 5 minute walk into the harbour of Charlestown , with some excellent restaurants and dog friendly pubs..
We travelled around Cornwall using the train from either st Austell ( 30min walk ) or par station ( 15 mins drive).
Apple tree house was on a quite close, very well presented and clean. The house its self had everything you need and Zehra was very accommodating and willing to help with anything you need.
The garden had sun on most of the day. Only slight problem with having a dog is there's a path at side of house where they can get out but we just blocked it off using bins and garden furniture.
Would love to return and definitely recommend to everyone.
Thanks Zehra we had the best time

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fay C
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
3
people found this review helpful

The house is a lovely 3 bed detached with everything that you need for your stay. 10 minute walk down hill to the excellent Charlestown Harbour for lovely evenings out watching the sun set, the locals are all lovely and very friendly with five great places to grab a drink and Wreckers does an excellent meal and really reasonable prices. Tesco and Lidl are both a 5 minute drive away in st austall with good selections. The area the house is in is lovely and quiet, easy to get to and nicely decorated. Would recommend a stay.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula S
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
6
people found this review helpful

Great location for exploring. Comfortable house and welcoming host. Would recommend this house for a relaxing break. Walkable distance to Charlestown with its beautiful harbour and great pubs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2016
Thankyou for staying with us and so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Appletree house and exploring Charlestown
You are most welcome back any time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kfoligno
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mr&Mrs”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Charlestown is a quaint Cornish village on the southern coast of the region. We really loved it there and the house provided us with everything we needed for our stay. Centrally located, ideal for visiting the region's highlights.

Clean and comfortable we were very happy there during our stay. We were greeted warmly by Zehra (the owner) and she provided all the information we needed, plus was very flexible with arrival to and departure of the house.

We highly recommend staying here. It made our holiday to Charlestown, where memories will be with us forever.

Zehra provided a cot and high chair for no extra charge. Very nice gesture.

The only negative point for the period when we stayed (during the football European championship) was that the remote control didn't work for the TV and the supplementary boxes. Zehra informed us that she would be updating the TV and digital box.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2016
Thankyou for your kind words, it was lovely to have you and your family stay. Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Charlestown and found the house comfortable and clean.It was our pleasure to be able to help in any way to make your holiday go smoothly
You are most welcome back any time and we will be updating the TV!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen W
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“A poor neglected property”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The house was a last minute booking for a family of 6, charged at a reasonable rate for the height of the season.This could be a lovely holiday destination but I have a list of over 30 problems our family encountered. The house itself is in real need of TLC inside and out, the kitchen tiles were unfinished and dirty, the worktops and cupboards were sticky and dirty, light switches didn't work, cooker hood didn't work, the smoke alarm was broken, a toilet seat was broken, the front garden wall was unsafe. The garden itself was unkempt with brambles growing across the grass. The patio was uneven and weedy. The passage outside the back door was very dirty. The whole house, inside and out needed painting and cleaning. Although supposedly for 6 people there were not enough garden chairs to use at the outdoor table, no barbecue was provided. There wasn't a set of 6 of anything, chairs, cups, mugs, spoons, forks etc. The coffee machine was too dirty to consider using. The list goes on but you get the picture. We did contact the owner twice during the stay to discuss the issues but she refuted our complaints and stated that she had checked the cleanliness of the house prior to our arrival, she would not come nor send a representative to see us.
Very, very disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet situation within walking distance of Charlestown harbour
Liked least: the dirty, unkempt, uncared for, poorly equipped house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2016
Whilst we welcome reviews and understand different expectations from visitors, I was shocked to read these comments. We have had returning guests for over 10 years. We take our guests satisfaction very seriously and the house is professionally cleaned and inspected every week. We would never have surfaces that are left sticky or unclean! In fact having read the comments and checked our records I wonder if this was where you stayed. As you can see from guests who have stayed prior to and after this, guests have thoroughly enjoyed their stay and found the house to be clean and exactly as advertised. As I live nearby we would always respond quickly to rectify anything
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location. Clean, modern house.”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely ,modern house. Short walk from the beach and great food pubs, and close to Eden, Heligan and other fantastic destinations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Crockery could be replaced as a few chips.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, off road parking and pet friendly
Liked least: Lack of shower in family bathroom, although there was one in en-suite to master bedroom. No wi-fi/ internet access except for a BT hotspot at front door.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing