We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pier House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Carlyon Bay(St Austell)
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Hart(St Austell)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel(St Austell)(Great Value!)
US$79
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$217
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tremarne Hotel(Mevagissey)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (547)
Filter reviews
547 results
Traveller rating
306
144
52
21
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
306
144
52
21
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the harbourseafood pancaketall shipspa bathbistro menusunday carveryeden projectthe pubfantastic locationsingle roomst austellgreat roomrashleigh armsa sea view roomno liftshort breakstayed for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
349 - 354 of 547 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were visiting the Eden Centre and Heligan Gardens and picked the hotel off the Internet having never been to the St Austell area before. We were delighted to find it right beside the harbour in Charlestown just as described, arriving in the late afternoon to the sight of around 60 children in wetsuits 'tombstoning' into the harbour and generally having a great time! We stayed in the fully renovated Room 9, a corner room with views over the harbour and the enclosed harbour basin - strongly recommended as it gives you great views and a through draft of fresh air. The facilities, food (in both restaurant and bistro - both very busy) and service were faultless and it was especially nice to be looked after by local staff who knew the area and were very helpful. Charlestown Harbour is really a little oasis with the quite excellent Shipwreck Museum, tea rooms, pubs and restaurants, together with walks along the cliffs. Of course there is some noise - kids enjoying themselves in the harbour, adults enjoying their evenings, but by late evening it was quiet and we slept well with windows wide open.

Room Tip: Corner rooms or rooms facing the harbour
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koukatis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I remembered a rather tired establishment many years ago, but booked because of its being by the sea and a short walk along the coastal path from my grandson. My visit started well, with a very warm welcome at reception. No sea view with single rooms of course, but the room was larger than usual for a single, with a truly luxurious shower room. Cornish friends joined me for dinner, which offered an interesting menu, perfectly cooked food beautifully presented and service which was friendly and efficient. The harbour view set the seal on a memorable evening. I had a small problem with my bedroom window, which I reported to reception the next morning and the problem was resolved during the day. Breakfast was delicious and I had a table with a sea view. On my way out I got a glimpse into a room with a fabulous sea view and stairs up to a bathroon with a spa bath, which was one of the most appealing hotel rooms I've seen for years. I shall be back - please.

Room Tip: Single rooms don't have sea views, but 21 was on the side and very quiet. Rooms 4 and 9 seem to be the most covetable of the sea-view doubles.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillian010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Superb location overlooking the harbour and beaches. Many rooms are being renovated and have harbour views ( these however are the more expensive ones. We stayed in a queen double room which was very nice tea and coffee in room plus TV. Food good with a Resteraunt, a bistro and a pub next door. Saturday night the pub has live music which was great but book a room on the other side of the hotel if you want an early night! All things considered a lovely place to stay for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank george l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel 10 years ago whilst visiting Eden and Heligan.
The hotel has been beautifully refurbished with fine attention to detail.
The food in the restaurant was absolutely excellent! Don't eat anywhere else.
The icing on the cake was the set building round the rigger ships in the dock for Poldark!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lamaload
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Having stayed here a couple of years ago whilst working in St. Austell I booked again as I was doing a revisit on the work. The hotel is even better that I last remembered. Their is a friendly greeting at Reception and the rooms have been improved. The atmosphere of the area is great, especially to wind down in an evening whilst having a beer outside overlooking the bay. I ate in the Sports bar, however as all the food for the three areas is cooked in the same place the quality was as good as the last time I was down here. The only downside is the lack of reception for mobiles but if you want to just get away who cares. Definite one to come back to again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews