We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,114)
Filter reviews
1,114 results
Traveller rating
702
247
90
33
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
702
247
90
33
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the harbour sister hotel fantastic location window seat st austell brewery fish and chips single room the pub booked a table family room great room rashleigh arms eden project one night stay no lift lovely food short break
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,114 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2023 via mobile

Although this has been done up after a fire so everything is new, it is missing something.

It is bland. The decor and tables reminded me of a Travel Lodge and the lights were turned on full in the evening. It felt as if they were catering to the masses. It’s fine but nothing special other than the location when the sun is out and you can sit outside.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank RayeBowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
St Austell Brewery, Revenue Management at The Pier House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2023

Thank you so much for your review, and recognising that we have recently had a fire, fortunately the are of the Pier house that is currently open suffered limited damage. We were able to reopen with a lick of pain and having all of the existing furniture cleaned.

Rest assured we will be closing in a few weeks for a full refurbishment where we open looking better then ever.

Hope to see you then, from all of the team here at the Pier House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2023

Visited this pub numerous times over the years. Great location next to the harbour with sea views but they don’t accept cash now so we won’t be returning again any time soon.Shame but it’s the principle.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
St Austell Brewery, Revenue Management at The Pier House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2023

Hi Peter Thank you for our Three star review, i'm very disappointed that as we are not taking cash at the moment detracted from what most people would agree is a excellent place to visit.

Unfortunately on the 20th of January we had a significant fire that has damaged some key part of the building including our office, this puts us unfortunately in a position where we are unable to take cash safely, our office where the safe was located currently, does not have a roof on it. I'm sure that you can appreciate that the safety of the team is paramount.

We will be taking cash again soon, once the building has been repaired, which will include a full refurbishment. Hopefully we will see you then.

From all of the team Team here at the Pier House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2023

We stopped here last year (before the fire) and wanted to rebook but due to renovation work this wasn’t possible. The food was excellent along with the friendly staff. A beautiful place just for a drink right on the harbour. Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SBadland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
St Austell Brewery, Revenue Management at The Pier House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2023

Thank you so much for the great review, we would agree with you Charlestown is a beautiful place. So please that you came to enjoy it with us at the Pier House.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2023

Didn't stay at this hostelry but had a great impromptu supper. Overlooks the harbour and is a lovely place that locals use. Our evening started rather stressful with having at short notice to find a place to stay for two nights.
Rowena came to our rescue and went above and beyond her remit and sorted us out a room with the Raishley Inn for the two nights. She was an absolute diamond and we can never thank her enough.

Room tip: Great lively place that locals use
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
St Austell Brewery, Revenue Management at The Pier House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2023

Hi Debbie,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience, Rowe will be so pleased that you have mentioned her personally. We all strive to deliver the best experience to all but Rowe has the ability to excel, so please that she made your day.

Hope to see you here back with us soon and I will be sure to pass on your comments to her and your thanks.

From all of the team here at the Pier House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2023

Great food - love the menu variation, super friendly staff, lovely atmosphere and the best views of the harbour a great place to enjoy drinks with friends in the sun!
A must go to place if visiting Charlestown!

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Navigate25795156538
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
St Austell Brewery, Revenue Management at The Pier House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2023

Thank you for such a lovely review. we would certainly not argue with you that we have the best views over the harbour. hope to see you again soon in the sun.

from all of the team here at the Pier house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews