We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”
Review of CityBed

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
CityBed
Ranked #164 of 225 Agrigento B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The CityBed hotel is not in a particulary good position if you are arriving by car. The rooms are roomy and bathrooms work well. The breakfast is included in the tariff is only OK, but gets you started for the day. Car parking is in the street so it is the luck of the draw. The staff friendly and helpful, complimentary internet was a bonus.

Room Tip: The classic double room with frescoes on the ceiling, has a glass ceiling and lets all the hotels ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobNoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

Good place with lots of local free parking available if you're driving. Helpful and friendly staff and excellent value. Breakfast was a little limited (avoi if you don't eat pastries or bread) but the fridge and honesty box for cold drrinks were very welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirstyAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I spent 1 night in CityBed. The hotel has a modern and minimalistic design. The room was only furnished with a double bed, a wardrobe built into the wall, one bedside and one chair. It had a wooden floor and no carpet. It was very clean.

The public area was maintained in the similar style with some comfortable white (if I remember correctly) sofas, armchairs and tables distributed around. There was also MAC PC over there connected to the internet which one could use for free.

The breakfast was very simple: coffee and some sweets.

The hotel is located 10-15 min. walk from the train station.

Disadvantages:
- The price of the room was 15 Euros more than in another nice B&B located earlier in the same street and also recommended by the Lonely Planet (checked).
- The biggest disadvantage were the opening hours of CityBed. The hotel is closed between 10am and 3pm and nobody will arrive to allow you to check-in if you come between those hours. I arrived from Palermo around 12.00, called the owner (telephone was written next to the ring bell) and he refused to come (mind that he only speaks Italian which farther complicates the problem. I used Spanish). Fortunately, I left my backpack in another B&B (run by very warm and gentle lady in which I planned to stay for the next night) in order to visit the temples. If one plans to arrive to Agrigento early (and for one day only) I thus strongly suggest to book a room in another B&B. Otherwise you will risk visiting the temples, which are located out of the city (10 min. ride by bus from the central bus station), with a backpack on your back.
For these reasons I give CityBed three instead of four stars.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I spent 1 night in Atenea 191. The hotel has a modern and minimalistic design. The room was only furnished with a double bed, a wardrobe built into the wall, one bedside and one chair. It had a wooden floor and no carpet. It was very clean.

The public area was maintained in the similar style with some comfortable white (if I remember correctly) sofas, armchairs and tables distributed around. There was also MAC PC over there connected to the internet which one could use for free.

The breakfast was very simple: coffee and some sweets.

The hotel is located 10-15 min. walk from the train station.

Disadvantages:
- The price of the room was 15 Euros more than in another nice B&B located earlier in the same street and also recommended by the Lonely Planet (checked).
- The biggest disadvantage were the opening hours of Atenea 191. The hotel is closed between 10am and 3pm and nobody will arrive to allow you to check-in if you come between those hours. I arrived from Palermo around 12.00, called the owner (telephone was written next to the ring bell) and he refused to come (mind that he only speaks Italian which farther complicates the problem. I used Spanish). Fortunately, I left my backpack in another B&B (run by very warm and gentle lady in which I planned to stay for the next night) in order to visit the temples. If one plans to arrive to Agrigento early (and for one day only) I thus strongly suggest to book a room in another B&B. Otherwise you will risk visiting the temples, which are located out of the city (10 min. ride by bus from the central bus station), with a backpack on your back.
For these reasons I give Atenea 191 three instead of four stars.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityBed A, Direttore at CityBed, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Sorry, but unfortunately not been possible early check-in because it was Sunday, which we do normally in all other days of the week. To avoid any inconvenience to guests carry the check-in: - Monday to Friday opening hours reception 15:00 / 21:00, check-in option with telephone appointment 9:00 / 15:00. - Saturday opening hours reception 15:00 / 21:00 chance to check in with telephone appointment 9:00 / 12:00 - Sunday opening hours reception 15:00 / 21:00 chance to check in with telephone appointment 9:00 / 11:00 The lady who takes care of check-in (15:00 / 21:00) speaks excellent English and Spanish, during the morning you can find people who speak only Italian, but, if called at the times listed above are able to understand that it has gotten to Bed is that it is necessary to get the guests. Inform you that during the morning in the hotel's staff takes care of breakfast until 10:00 am, and what is responsible for cleaning up at 12:00 or so, if you arrive during the morning I suggest you knock until the staff (I mean to clean up) and do not feel open. Emanuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The staff were terrific. I arrived outside reception desk hours without telling them (I really should read the details when I book!) and they at once sent someone to let me in. When I needed a taxi, they not only called one for me but came out to wait with me and make sure it appeared and the driver knew where to go. My room was wonderful, there was soda and water in a fridge in the kitchen paid for on the honor system. For a huge 3 Euro one could also get not a wine "mini" as in some hotels, but an entire bottle! And . . .free internet!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Excellent location in the center of the historic quarter of Agrigento. Charming, well appointed room at an excellent price.

Room Tip: Some rooms (not sure about all) upstairs have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhnwltn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Lovely room, well cleaned and helpful staff. The breakfast was adequate for us and the position was optimal for doing all the tourist things. Perfect

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
3.3 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
5.3 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
5.7 mi away
Antica Perla Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Kore Hotel
Kore Hotel
#1 of 1 in Villaggio Mose
391 reviews
2.8 mi away
Roba degli Ulivi B&B
Roba degli Ulivi B&B
#1 of 2 in Montaperto
52 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Tre Torri
Hotel Tre Torri
#11 of 23 in Agrigento
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityBed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityBed

Address: Via Garibaldi 61, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 225 B&Bs / Inns in Agrigento
Price Range: £44 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — CityBed 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HostelWorld so you can book your CityBed reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CityBed Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing