We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate but poor food”
Review of Hotel Della Valle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Della Valle
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I stayed here as part of a tour of Sicily. It was a disappointing hotel overall. Luckily Sicily was not so you try to forget your hotel experience. Issues were resolved quickly by the management to be fair but the safe and the television didn't work on arrival. The door to the room only opened after much coaxing. The keypad did not always activate the lock. Little issues but all gave a poor impression. There were no towels available at the pool on our first day there, the bar man said they had not arrived back from the laundry as it was a Sunday. Sicily is still learning as far as tourism is concerned! The food was poor, and school dinner standard at best. The breakfast also was nothing special and there were lots of queues for coffee machines and toasters, It didn't spoil our stay but we would not choose this hotel again. Many dining issues could have been easily resolved by using local freshly prepared food.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuartLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 860 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

The room was cramped and noisy, there were holes in the wall, exposed wiring and the beds uncomfortable. Worst of all was the bathroom - having to climb over the bidet to get into the phone-booth sized shower is just not acceptable. The garden was pretty, and the location convenient for the Valley of the Temples, but if I ever get back to Sicily I won't be staying here again.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Joanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My wife and i have just returned from a seven day tour of Sicily with Riviera Travel.We stayed the first three nights at the Della Valle in Agrigento.It is a very good hotel with excellent facilities.The food was as you would expect in Italian hotels,lots of pasta etc,but amole servings and well prepared.The swimming pool was lovely and the staff very helpful and polite.All in all a good value for money hotel.

Room Tip: rooms at the rear and side seemed best for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gomez11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

The garden and pool area are delightful. The bar man is a real sweetie. My room was fine with a modern bathroom. Vey clean towels and laundry. Breakfast was fine but evening meal was really dreadful. The food was obviously catering packs and either had no taste or was inedible. Very disappointing each evening. If they are not paid alot for food then cut the courses and provide a better level of cuisine.
Most of my party had problems with the room safe. I reported this to reception and they were in my room in five minutes to fix it.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandahep15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We travelled with the previous reviewer on this tour and agree with their comments.Small dark room with a large hard bed, small bathroom and tiny shower, but sufficient toiletries. Very nice garden and the pool looked nice. Nothing in the immediate vicinity - there was a Spar shop sign nearby but the shop had obviously been closed for some time. A bar several hundred metres away would sell you bottled water but it was a long walk and uphill on the way back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanJoan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed here for only one night as part of VJV tour. It had slightly awkward access from the road, and the lovely pool and gardens were to one side. We were lucky in that we had a room away from the road and overlooking the gardens and sea. The smallish room was dominated by a huge (hard) bed. The bathroom was small, well supplied, and everything worked. Three lights & the safe did not. As it was all in dingy brown, it did appear rather tired and drear. The vast TV took a bit of wrestling with, but was beaten into submission to produce BBC World news. The public areas likewise were a rather dingy shade and looked in need of a makeover. However, it was clean, and the staff were friendly and jolly. The food was tourist hotel standard - ie not nasty, but not exciting. The pool area was really very attractive, but it was too early in the season for the pool bar to be open, and too cool to sit out after dinner. Breakfast was probably the worst of any of the hotels we stayed in, with 2 (but mainly only one working) automatic drinks machines producing unlovely liquid and large queues (again, mainly tour parties staying). We don't drink tea, but it appeared to be a struggle for the tea drinkers to obtain normal tea as opposed to fruit infusions wherever we stayed. Its main function was clearly to put up large numbers of people who had come to see the Valley of the Temples and it did this quite adequately. If you were looking for attractive rooms and good food, then clearly it did not tick the boxes. It would be a steep hike into the village of Agrigento (which from the hotel did not look particularly inviting anyway.)

Room Tip: The rooms at the side on the upper floors have lovely views and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cornwallgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Stayed here for one night in summer of 2011. We reserved plain double room instead got a huge junior suite with a view to the garden, pool and most important - Valle dei templi. Hotel is pretty big and all the staff is highly professional. The pool was very nice, big and clean. Breakfast nice with pretty big choice of food.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iva_hr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 23 in Agrigento
1,793 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
0.7 mi away
Hotel Exclusive
Hotel Exclusive
#6 of 23 in Agrigento
318 reviews
2 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Della Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Della Valle

Address: Via Ugo la Malfa 3, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range: £56 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Della Valle 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming four-star hotel, the Hotel della Valle offers its guests all the benefits of being at the center of everything. Located in a quiet and elevated position, close to the historic center of Agrigento, the Valley of the Temples, and the clear blue sea and coastline. The hotel offers its customers a perfect combination of panoramic views of the Valley of the Temples and easy access to major places of interest thanks to its proximity to main roads. In addition to basic services - Reception 24 hours a day, fast Check-in and Check-out, and Luggage Storage - Hotel della Valle offers its guests a number of useful services on request: laundry and ironing services, breakfast in your room, Internet WI-FI, Fax / Copier, newspapers, 1 extra bed or cot, baby sitter.Completing the range of services on request you may wish to: enjoy spa treatments in the hotel Wellness Center, take advantage of shuttle bus services to a private beach with sun umbrellas and sun beds, join guided excursions, make use of a convenient connecting service directly to Catania, Palermo and Trapani airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Della Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Della Valle Agrigento
Jolly Della Valle Hotel
Hotel Della Valle Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing