We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hospitality!”
Review of La Casa di El

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa di El
Ranked #8 of 212 Agrigento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vicenza, Italy
1 review
“Wonderful Hospitality!”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We had an amazing experience with Alfonso and his charming B&B! It was very spacious, elegantly decorated, clean, and in an excellent location. The views from our balcony were breath taking. We were greeted with afternoon coffee and pastries, given excellent recommendations for sites to see, and had a lovely dinner at Osteria Expanificio nearby. The breakfast had some of the best pastries I have had in Italy and was plentiful. I highly recommend staying at this B&B for an unforgettable time in Agrigento.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teamcollins5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    47
    6
    1
    6
See reviews for
56
289
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We spent a week in Agrigento, which is perhaps too long without a car.
However, thanks to Alfonso we had a lovely stay.
He is a very good host, friendly, helpful, and had very good English; which was great as our Italian isn't up to much!
We spent most of our week in the lovely apartment on the top floor. It is beautifully decorated and has a lovely view.
As mentioned by other patrons the breakfast was plentiful, and it was nice to chat to Alfonso about our plans every morning.
All the restaurants he recommended had excellent food.
Nearby places we recommend are Sciacca, and the gardens around the temples.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We planned to stay in Agrigento for 2 nights; we ended up staying an extra night.
We had the room on the top floor and everything was superb:
- fabulous view (Valle Dei Templi looks just great from the balcony)
- excellent breakfast (custom made and more than generous - could feed twice as many)
- very nice room with the piano lounge.
Apart from the room itself, this was a very good location in the city, with a comfy parking nearby.
But what made the difference from a lot of other place was our host which was more than attentive, before we reached the premises, with all the indications he's been providing, and also afterwards with all good recommendations and help (from local restaurants to places to visit).
Definitely recommended!

Room Tip: The room on the top floor is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B0gd4n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We spent 2 days in Agrigento at La Casa di El. The owner, Alfonso, welcomed us in a very warm way. Our room was colourful and clean and had a very nice view of the temple valley.
The breakfast was very generous and could be enough for 4 people (we were 2).
I would definitely go back and recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilviaBxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed with Alfonso at La Casa di El twice on our recent month long Sicily travels, the first time in a large, comfortable room with bathroom, and later in the magnificent 11th floor suite with its balcony and picture window views of the Temples, the sea, and the coast. The breakfast, whether in the lovely courtyard adjoining the rooms or en suite upstairs, was unbelievably good. Fresh juices, pastries, breads, homemade marmalades, tavola calda, cheeses, prosciutto, salami. Best of all is Alfonso's gracious attention to detail and to his guests' comfort and pleasure. The location at the end of Via Athena is perfect for exploring old Agrigento, and the nearby restaurants recommended by Alfonso provided some of the best meals we had in Sicily (And we had a lot of good meals). Staying here was a real highlight of our trip. We felt like family and Alfonso is all the good things, and more, that you can read in these reviews.

Room Tip: Get the suite if you can. It was quite simply the most magnificent room I have ever stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viadiritta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anacortes
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed in the Deluxe Suite with Balcony for 2 nights and loved it. Amazing views from the balcony and the windows. Though from online photos, I wasn't sure how I'd like the decor, we found it quite lovely and romantic. The bathroom is beautiful and spacious....though a change in floor level requires some caution. The suite was very clean. Breakfast was good (choice of sweet or savory), a nice variety served artfully by Alfonso....we enjoyed it in our suite. Parking seemed a little challenging at first, but we always found a space nearby on the typically narrow road. Wi-Fi wasn't easily available in the Suite, though if important to the guest, Alfonso was willing to set it up there. We were fine without it for a couple days. Great location for walking around the old, interesting parts of town and plenty of good options for food. Alfonso is an enthusiastic and helpful host. (Note: For payment, cash is required. My husband had to go to 3 ATM's before he found one that worked....)

Room Tip: The Deluxe Suite with Balcony & Sea View is the nicest, most private room, and a great value for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dayle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is a 3-room B&B halfway up the hillside in western part of Agrigento, which is a very good place to be. However, one of the rooms is 10 floors (in a high-rise building) above the other two rooms, which makes staying there with a friend rather odd. The large room on the high floor is very nice, indeed. It has a wonderful view and good amenities. At least one of the smaller rooms at the bottom of the building has its "private" bathroom located outside the room and past the door to the third room. It's altogether an unusual and unexpected arrangement. That said, breakfast was excellent--the young proprietor's sister is a good cook. If wifi is important to you, though, you should know that it works only on one of the floors at a time. If it is needed in two places, someone will be out of luck.

Room Tip: Get the double room on the top floor. It is many times nicer than the other two rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGGGGGGGGGGGGGX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elenarizzo52, Direttore at La Casa di El, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Good morning to all dear readers of tripadvisor,

What they I regret is that my B & B is again penalized in the ranking of tripadvisor for a review voted in the wrong way for an error.

How can you respond to a review where it's all great? As told by the gentleman is the great location, the room and the excellent breakfast and all this is confirmed by the votes given to the various voices that are all about 4 or 5 dots. I assure the gentleman has had an 'excellent stay. In fact room tips Stayed in a Suite

which has an area of 45 meters in addition to a private balcony, is equipped with every comfort: Bathroom of about 10 square meters, Tv 32, Dvd player, Air conditioning, Heating,Wifi free, lounge area with piano, refrigerator etc..etc..The suite is located on a different level than the two bedrooms is therefore ideal for privacy and relax because there will be other guests who may disturb your stay.

From the windows and from the balcony you can admire an Unique and Unforgettable Panorama of the Sea Mediterranean, of the Archaeological Park and of the Majestic Valley of Temple and as we read from the various reviews of other guests truely wonderful. Also the suite is located on a different level than the two bedrooms is therefore ideal for privacy and relax because there will be other guests who may disturb your stay. Is therefore no definitely a mistake to vote in the final judgment. The only disservice or inconvenience reported and according to him the location of the different rooms that are not all on the same level, but this, I assure you is a strong point of our structure. In fact, my B & B unlike other B & B that have 4 or 5 rooms on the same level and there are 10-12 people, is realized on two different levels, as well as rooms of a hotel, to try to give more privacy and tranquility my guests, in fact, so each level has a maximum of 4 people. Maybe down will be perfect for families or couples of friends, because they reserve the whole and there are no other guests who disturb their stay, but when I have this type of reservations I always give the opportunity for guests to get off the Suite another level and staying in the lounge or on the patio and vice versa, the guests of the Double Room can climb into Suite and the breakfast also they all do together or in the living room or on the patio I assure you there is no difficulty in taking an elevator, I leave you to imagine....I do not understand then where is the discomfort. Even in a hotel it is possible that you have a room on the second floor and one on the fifth floor , as well as is possible in B & B that have more plans. However if there are any special requests or special needs I invite you always to contact us via email or phone and we'll be happy and find the solution that best suits your needs.

Best regards for all.
Alf* B&B La Casa di El Agrigento***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 25 in Agrigento
1,656 reviews
2.2 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
3.2 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
B&B MiraValle Agrigento
B&B MiraValle Agrigento
#1 of 212 in Agrigento
171 reviews
3.1 mi away
Villa Concordia
Villa Concordia
#3 of 212 in Agrigento
237 reviews
1.6 mi away
B&B VillaSeta
B&B VillaSeta
#4 of 212 in Agrigento
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa di El? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa di El

Property: La Casa di El
Address: Via Giovanni Amendola 18, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 212 B&Bs / Inns in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bed and breakfast 'La Casa di El' is situated right in the heart of the city next to the Via Atenea, the shopping and entertainment street of Agrigento. A few hundred meters you can visit numerous medieval and baroque churches including Santa Maria Greeks, San Giuseppe's Shrine, Basilica of the Immaculate, Cloister of the Holy Spirit, the imposing Cathedral, Collegio dei Filippini, the Lucchesiana Library and the prestigious 'Luigi Pirandello' Theater. The Valley of the Temples and the Archaeological Museum are only 2,5 Km. The area is served (within 50 meters) also of: Restaurant, Bar, Bakery, Market, Pharmacy, Rotisserie, Bank, Post Office, Tobacco shop, and various shops. Also you can benefit free parking in the same street. From the Rooms you can admire an unique and unforgettable Panorama of the Majestic Valley of Temple of the Archaeological Park and of the Sea Mediterranean. The breakfast includes: croissants, local bakery, homemade jams, seasonal fruit, yogurt , fruit juices, yogurt, cappuccino, thè,coffee, etc...or if you prefer you can also savory breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your La Casa di El reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Di El Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing