We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pay for the view, not for the service.”
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The location of this hotel is fantastic: in the heart of the Valley of the temples with a spectacular view over the Temple of Concord. The Archaeological area and museum are at walking distance, but the hotel is isolated enough from the road traffic noise. Additionally, given the average level of accommodation and restaurants in Agrigento, you may want to consider this hotel for your stay. Do not expect too much though!
Their main activity is clearly organizing receptions (wedding, christening…), an all year round business compared with the seasonal activity of the hotel. Therefore every second night you'll have a hundred or more "invaders" with a visible deterioration of the service level. It cannot take a 5 star hotel 45 minutes to bring cocktails to the (small) pool area just because "today I'm on my own". The visitors do obviously make some noise in the back and, I assume, a lot noise when taking their cars and leaving the parking lot at the front of the building. Our room, at the ground floor towards the swimming pool, was normally quiet although, occasionally, the buzz was perceivable. Same goes for the restaurant where normally a few waiters seem to be taking it too easy leaving all the work to the maître and a few others, especially during receptions or special events. The food served at the restaurant is good, but the wine choice is limited to the local products, not good for an international hotel.
Breakfast was also good, served indoors with fresh fruit, real juice and all the things you would expect. Their “light lunch” would be also good if you hadn’t to fight it out with wasps. Try to choose something they don’t like or you’re going to lose that fight. In the pool area, where there’s less food (but water), wasps are less annoying but still numerous. I concur that the place is in the middle of nature, still something could and should be done.
Cleaning is far from perfect. Being everything in the room white does not give justice to the poor lady, but the room was much cleaner on check-in than any other day. Turndown service is also quick and unusual: you get clean towels, that’s it.
Reception staff: some were great, friendly, helpful and nice, some seemed to care less, others… anybody home?? (being blonde is no valid excuse!)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waggadouggou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

866 - 872 of 1,810 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2011

Avoid this place at all costs. From front desk managers to general manager they all share a latant disregard for customer satisfaction and they do not even try to hide it.

My room was significanly smaller than the desription in reservation -less than half the size actually. The bathroom size and quality was also ver different from the description.

Common areas were unattractive at best and certainly not in line with the category this hotel deems itself to be. In summary an enormous deception!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Enrique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
htlvillaathena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2011

Dear Mr.Enrique,
We remember your stay with us all too well, above all we remember your rude manors and how you were yelling at the reception desk.
We reject your comments as we find them pretentious and full of prejudice.
We recall that as soon as your arrived you immediately complained about the measurements of the rooms you were assigned demanding us to show you the blueprints of the rooms which, for security reasons, cannot be revealed to guests. We would like to underline that your room corresponds in full to the description on our site: a beautiful spacious room with temple view as many of our previous guests have confirmed leaving positive comments at our guest desk after their stay at Villa Athena.
The reason for this incomprehensible behavior was clear to us the day you checked out. For the first time ever we were forced to call the police in order to make you pay the bill. Obviously all your complaints were aimed at not paying the bill.
Villa Athena and its’entire staff have one mission: the customer’s well being and satisfaction. Our staff, along with the front desk and general managers are available every day to fore full our guest’s needs and resolve any problem that might occur. Obviously we could not find a solution to our real problem: not wanting to pay the hotel bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We have just returned from a stay at Villa Athena. Without doubt the location is exceptional, and the hotel is very well fitted and furnished. The majority of the staff exception of a couple of permanently grumpy individuals) and their service standards was very good, as was the quality of meals. So why the "average" rating? Just a few but important points which this hotel will have to address if it wants to be a real 4/5 star establishment:
1 Rooms at the front of the hotel overlook the carpark, into which the refuse collection lorry arrives at 6.00 am every day and makes a considerable noise. Surely a later collection could be arranged? - a 4/5 star hotel would do so I'm sure.
2 There was some sort of reception on every evening - weddings, christenings etc - all fine but one went on into the early hours and again the rooms at the front suffered carpark noise until 2.30 am. A 4/5 star hotel would ensure that its guests were not inconvenienced by non-residents, and in the event that they were, would at least apologise.
3 Drinks are expensive, as one would expect of course in this type of hotel, but what one does not expect is short measures - if I buy a glass of Prosecco for E10, I don't expect half a glass, and this was not an isolated occurence so be prepared to send it back and ask for a top-up - shouldn't have to in a 4/5 star hotel.
4 A 4/5 star hotel would accept ALL credit cards - including Amex.

This could be a great hotel, but needs to address the fine details if it wants to be one.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces the Temples, you'll pay for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warmwaterdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
htlvillaathena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2011

Dear Guest,
We thank you for taking out the time to place your comments. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Athena. We also thank you for offering us the opportunity to explain how some services are carried out and underline that these services do not depend on our will, for instance the garbage withdrawal which depends entirely on municipal services.
Occasionally our hotel hosts private parties inside a separate restaurant with an independent parking area. The occasions end no later than midnight in order not to bother our guests.
The prices of our drinks are more than reasonable considering the location and the wonderful view in which one can enjoy them. For these reasons we repeat our bar service is not expensive.
Finally, as far as the use of American Express credit cards is concerned, our guests are well advised on all our portals and at check in by our staff that we momentarily accept all kinds of credit cards except “American Express” due to bank problems that do not depend on our will. We are sure you will be pleased to know that the management is working to quickly resolve this problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

when you go to visit valli di templi in agrigento dont miss this fantastic hotel! we had a beautiful room with view and we really enjoied the relaxing pool and the sicilian sun! we had a good sicilian lunch and the service was excellent! staff at villa athena is very good, they adore their guests!!! thank you everybody............ we will come back

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elvylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Perfect location, walking distance to the temples and museum (a must to visit) with amazing views . Everything simple but high quality. Small garden and pool but perfect. Excellent, friendly and courteous service. The bed linen is sublime. We loved this place so much that we ate here both nights, food is good but not outstanding considering the price; however the vista at night is unique - we watched the full moon rise from behind the temple of Venus - an incredible experience. Breakfast was good. Note they do offer eggs so do ask - we didn't know and only got offered after we had finished! Also make sure you get the room you want as there are several rooms at the back and the side. I had booked a juinor suite - temple front facing but on arrival was given side view behind another suite/terrace. As this was the only reason I booked this hotel I was not happy so asked to change - this was done straight away. It clearly belongs as one of the 'Small Luxury Hotels of the World'!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nevines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Pleasant low key five star hotel. The atmosphere of a family run place including moody granny at the front desk. In the middle of the valley of temples but still very quit.
Beautifully appointed room with comfortable bed. Room with a view. High quality amenities. Sumptious breakfast included. Relaxing pool. Perfect Italian lunch with old fashioned quality service. No need to dress up. We really enjoyed the place and would have liked to stay a little longer than just one night.

Watch the room rates carefully by your online booking. There can be amazing differences between the hotel site and e.g. the SLH site.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeesE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The location and the views are perfect ...... The garden suite was nice and the decor was fresh and perfect for the surroundings.
The pool is wonderful, and a must, in heat of the day.
Would have enjoyed the breakfast more if it had been served on the outdoor terasse with the wonderful views. Seemed strange that it was served in a building behind the main hotel and parking lot, eventhough the area in itself was nice enough.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenmarkIquack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
1.8 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
0.6 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,239 reviews
1.4 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
1.2 mi away
Hotel Exclusive
Hotel Exclusive
#6 of 23 in Agrigento
319 reviews
95.4 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range: £99 - £523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing