We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best possible view.. average service...”
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
St. Gallen
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“best possible view.. average service...”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I've been in villa athena several times. There is not a better choice in Agrigento as it has a perfect view of the Valley of temples. Still this does not make it a great hotel. Service is too much average and not what you expect in an SLH. Skip the restaurant that tries too much and has too complicated dishes . You can get great food nearby much cheaper.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a view on the concordia temple.. .it's worth it , otherwise it does not m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scoi00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,225
    299
    96
    31
    23
See reviews for
297
1,054
29
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2011

we stayed for 2 nights at villa athena . The views and location cannot be matched, however this hotel is totally overpriced. The service in general is non existant and the dinner at the hotel restaurant terribly overpriced and tasteless.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALEXANDEVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nearby
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The location of this hotel is fantastic: in the heart of the Valley of the temples with a spectacular view over the Temple of Concord. The Archaeological area and museum are at walking distance, but the hotel is isolated enough from the road traffic noise. Additionally, given the average level of accommodation and restaurants in Agrigento, you may want to consider this hotel for your stay. Do not expect too much though!
Their main activity is clearly organizing receptions (wedding, christening…), an all year round business compared with the seasonal activity of the hotel. Therefore every second night you'll have a hundred or more "invaders" with a visible deterioration of the service level. It cannot take a 5 star hotel 45 minutes to bring cocktails to the (small) pool area just because "today I'm on my own". The visitors do obviously make some noise in the back and, I assume, a lot noise when taking their cars and leaving the parking lot at the front of the building. Our room, at the ground floor towards the swimming pool, was normally quiet although, occasionally, the buzz was perceivable. Same goes for the restaurant where normally a few waiters seem to be taking it too easy leaving all the work to the maître and a few others, especially during receptions or special events. The food served at the restaurant is good, but the wine choice is limited to the local products, not good for an international hotel.
Breakfast was also good, served indoors with fresh fruit, real juice and all the things you would expect. Their “light lunch” would be also good if you hadn’t to fight it out with wasps. Try to choose something they don’t like or you’re going to lose that fight. In the pool area, where there’s less food (but water), wasps are less annoying but still numerous. I concur that the place is in the middle of nature, still something could and should be done.
Cleaning is far from perfect. Being everything in the room white does not give justice to the poor lady, but the room was much cleaner on check-in than any other day. Turndown service is also quick and unusual: you get clean towels, that’s it.
Reception staff: some were great, friendly, helpful and nice, some seemed to care less, others… anybody home?? (being blonde is no valid excuse!)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waggadouggou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Avoid this place at all costs. From front desk managers to general manager they all share a latant disregard for customer satisfaction and they do not even try to hide it.

My room was significanly smaller than the desription in reservation -less than half the size actually. The bathroom size and quality was also ver different from the description.

Common areas were unattractive at best and certainly not in line with the category this hotel deems itself to be. In summary an enormous deception!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enrique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
htlvillaathena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
Dear Mr.Enrique,
We remember your stay with us all too well, above all we remember your rude manors and how you were yelling at the reception desk.
We reject your comments as we find them pretentious and full of prejudice.
We recall that as soon as your arrived you immediately complained about the measurements of the rooms you were assigned demanding us to show you the blueprints of the rooms which, for security reasons, cannot be revealed to guests. We would like to underline that your room corresponds in full to the description on our site: a beautiful spacious room with temple view as many of our previous guests have confirmed leaving positive comments at our guest desk after their stay at Villa Athena.
The reason for this incomprehensible behavior was clear to us the day you checked out. For the first time ever we were forced to call the police in order to make you pay the bill. Obviously all your complaints were aimed at not paying the bill.
Villa Athena and its’entire staff have one mission: the customer’s well being and satisfaction. Our staff, along with the front desk and general managers are available every day to fore full our guest’s needs and resolve any problem that might occur. Obviously we could not find a solution to our real problem: not wanting to pay the hotel bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We have just returned from a stay at Villa Athena. Without doubt the location is exceptional, and the hotel is very well fitted and furnished. The majority of the staff exception of a couple of permanently grumpy individuals) and their service standards was very good, as was the quality of meals. So why the "average" rating? Just a few but important points which this hotel will have to address if it wants to be a real 4/5 star establishment:
1 Rooms at the front of the hotel overlook the carpark, into which the refuse collection lorry arrives at 6.00 am every day and makes a considerable noise. Surely a later collection could be arranged? - a 4/5 star hotel would do so I'm sure.
2 There was some sort of reception on every evening - weddings, christenings etc - all fine but one went on into the early hours and again the rooms at the front suffered carpark noise until 2.30 am. A 4/5 star hotel would ensure that its guests were not inconvenienced by non-residents, and in the event that they were, would at least apologise.
3 Drinks are expensive, as one would expect of course in this type of hotel, but what one does not expect is short measures - if I buy a glass of Prosecco for E10, I don't expect half a glass, and this was not an isolated occurence so be prepared to send it back and ask for a top-up - shouldn't have to in a 4/5 star hotel.
4 A 4/5 star hotel would accept ALL credit cards - including Amex.

This could be a great hotel, but needs to address the fine details if it wants to be one.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces the Temples, you'll pay for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warmwaterdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
htlvillaathena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
Dear Guest,
We thank you for taking out the time to place your comments. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Athena. We also thank you for offering us the opportunity to explain how some services are carried out and underline that these services do not depend on our will, for instance the garbage withdrawal which depends entirely on municipal services.
Occasionally our hotel hosts private parties inside a separate restaurant with an independent parking area. The occasions end no later than midnight in order not to bother our guests.
The prices of our drinks are more than reasonable considering the location and the wonderful view in which one can enjoy them. For these reasons we repeat our bar service is not expensive.
Finally, as far as the use of American Express credit cards is concerned, our guests are well advised on all our portals and at check in by our staff that we momentarily accept all kinds of credit cards except “American Express” due to bank problems that do not depend on our will. We are sure you will be pleased to know that the management is working to quickly resolve this problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

when you go to visit valli di templi in agrigento dont miss this fantastic hotel! we had a beautiful room with view and we really enjoied the relaxing pool and the sicilian sun! we had a good sicilian lunch and the service was excellent! staff at villa athena is very good, they adore their guests!!! thank you everybody............ we will come back

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elvylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Perfect location, walking distance to the temples and museum (a must to visit) with amazing views . Everything simple but high quality. Small garden and pool but perfect. Excellent, friendly and courteous service. The bed linen is sublime. We loved this place so much that we ate here both nights, food is good but not outstanding considering the price; however the vista at night is unique - we watched the full moon rise from behind the temple of Venus - an incredible experience. Breakfast was good. Note they do offer eggs so do ask - we didn't know and only got offered after we had finished! Also make sure you get the room you want as there are several rooms at the back and the side. I had booked a juinor suite - temple front facing but on arrival was given side view behind another suite/terrace. As this was the only reason I booked this hotel I was not happy so asked to change - this was done straight away. It clearly belongs as one of the 'Small Luxury Hotels of the World'!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nevines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
1.3 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
1.8 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
3.7 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,168 reviews
24.9 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,760 reviews
60.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Property: Hotel Villa Athena
Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing