We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd only to the Amarvilas in Agra”
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2011

A bit closer to home than the Taj Mahal.... but with a view to match.
Room with terrace overlooking Concord's temple a must and absolutely worth the money. Peaceful, stirring and a real feeling of a pre-christian world from your bedroom window.

If you can afford it blow the budget on a night here.

Restaurant tries hard but doesn't set the world alight.

Staff very helpful and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: Room 5 gave a perfect view from a perfect terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tuscanyinstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

850 - 856 of 1,811 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

i cannot imagine a better hotel than this
superb location in front of temple
nice pool and view
good and expensive retaurant
looking the temple from there at night is quite and experience
good and modern rooms
place were breakfast is served its outside main property crossing the parking lot which is substandar with the rest of the experience
all the rest superb
if its in your budget go for it cannot go wrong

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank welltraveledA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We chose this hotel because of its close proximity to the archeological park and were rewarded with an amazing view of the Temple of Concordia from our comfortable, modern room. The hotel is pricey, but, since we only had one night in Agrigento, it was the right decision for appreciating the amazing Greek temples and museum. It was easy to park in the hotel lot and walk to the park. Breakfast was unusually ample, with a big buffet of choices in addition to being able to order eggs a la carte. Given the expensive restaurant menu and the lack of stellar reviews, we chose to eat dinner at a nearby trattoria. The staff was friendly and charming.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Temple of Concordia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evora05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Villa Athena was quite expensive but the view of the temple made it worth it. Everything was as you would expect from a five-star place. The front desk staff was extremely helpful and arranged for our dinner even though we lacked the proper attire. The restaurant was also quite pricey, especially for the portions. I wouldn't eat there again on a return visit.

Our room opened to the garden and had a beautiful view of the temple...the sole reason we elected to stay here. That alone made it worth the cost. This was the one hotel we splurged on this trip and we weren't disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Due_Caffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

The hotel feels like it is in the archaeological park, it has such good views. From our room window, we had a perfect view of the temple that is most in tact. Having a drink on the Terrace was another fabulous view.... Really, very romantic

Very, very nice service and everyone was very helpful. We had to leave the hotel at 5:30 a.m., and the night clerks got us espresso and juice as we waited for our ride....

Also -- fabulous showers!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AvaS125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

How this hotel got included in the Small Leading Hotels of the World listing is a mystery. Despite the €280 off season price tag, you are not guaranteed to get the admittedly stunning view of the Temple of Concordia (the hotel's only selling point). However, you are guaranteed to get attitude from the staff (when our key wasn't working and we couldn't get into our room), plastic furniture in your bedroom (in one of the world's most beautiful natural sites) and a cheap breakfast (with pre-sliced ham and cheese.) Extraordinarily bad value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Booked two nights here as part of a week touring western Sicily (by 'bus!). It was perfect. We had a wonderfully spacious room with its own little terrace and view of the temple on the ridge above. The shower was fantastic, the best I have seen in any hotel for a long time. The decor was minimalist white marble with white furniture and white everything else. Very cool!

Unlike other reviewers, we found the staff to be courteous, attentive and most helpful. The restaurant was fine and the food very good indeed. Breakfast was the usual standard buffet but with a wider selection than many places. There was also Earl Grey tea available so the day can get off to a civilised start!

The location is incomparable. Lunch on the terrace, overlooking the monuments, with cold wine and good food is a true delight, as is a late night drink with only the floodlit temples and chirping of the crickets for company.

Should you not arrive in a car the local 'buses don't stop outside the hotel so you need to walk either to the Valley entrance or to the archeological museum to catch one into town. Crossing the road at the end of the drive is quite hazardous, but the pavement is on the opposite side so you have no choice. On the other hand if you are not in a car you don't have to do battle with the traffic in town and the 'bus links to other parts of the island are cheap and fairly quick.

Yes, it's expensive. It couldn't really be otherwise, but book out of season and the prices are a lot less. I would recommend it to anyone. The only downside to our stay was a large party on an organised cycling tour whose inconsiderate bellowing and braying throughout the evening in the restaurant rather took the shine off an excellent meal, but that was hardly the fault of the hotel. So, if any members of that group read this review, please think of your fellow diners and remember to turn the volume down when you are next in a group in a restaurant.

Room Tip: It goes without saying that the rooms facing the Valley of the Temples are to be preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scottieLancashireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
1.8 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
0.6 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,239 reviews
1.4 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
1.2 mi away
Hotel Exclusive
Hotel Exclusive
#6 of 23 in Agrigento
319 reviews
95.4 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range: £95 - £527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing