We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel”
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Beautiful setting amongst orchards and looking straight at the amazing ruins, which are lit up at night and look spectacular. A very small hotel and set up really well, there is even a porthole in the shower looking out at the ruins which we found very quirky. Breakfast was limited in January, but sufficient. Staff were lovely, the hotel was light and airy and a nice place to be. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: point of staying at this hotel is to get a room on the side facing the ruins, not sure if there were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

831 - 837 of 1,810 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed here for two nights and had the most wonderful time. The hotel is situated at the valli di templi and from our bedroom we could gaze directly at the temple of concord. The staff were wonderful and very accommodating. The breakfast had a nice selection of sweet and savory delicacies. We would rate this hotel as one of the finest we have stayed at in the world. The restaurant was sadly closed for the season. The only negative is that the nearest highly rated restaurants are a fairly lengthy walk down a dark and busy road.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JasonandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Together with another couple, we arrived at the hotel in the early afternoon after a long hot drive. We mentioned at the desk that we were looking forward to a swim but were told we couldn't use the pool because they were setting up for a wedding that night. Disappointing but not the end of the world. We did feel that being a 5 star hotel it would have been nice if they offered us a complimentary drink or something as recompense but they didn't. We were shown to our rooms which were large and comfortable and each had a lovely terrace overlooking the ancient ruins. The view was really amazing. However, the wall of the ensuite was glass. Some people must like this but we didn't. Apart from the lack of privacy it meant that if someone used the bathroom at night the whole bedroom was lit up. Apparently all the rooms don't have this glass wall so I recommend that people mention their preference when they book. That night we ate at the hotel restaurant. Once again we had a magnificent view of the temples and it looked beautiful all lit up at night. The food was delicious but the night was ruined by the rudeness of the head waiter. We had booked a table earlier in the day but we when we couldn't remember our room number he seemed to get really annoyed. He was so incredibly rude that it was almost comedic. As I said when the food came it was delicious but my husband's meal didn't arrive with the others. After a while we asked the waiter where it was. He looked surprised and said "5 minutes". Finally it arrived but there was no apology or recognition of the mistake. Breakfast the next morning was ok. It was served in what seemed like a conference room but it was varied and plentiful. After we had checked out we asked if it was possible to have a cup of coffee before we got back on the road. That was fine but it was back to the conference room and we were charged 15 euros for 4 cups of coffee. This hotel was good because of it's view and proximity to the temples. You can walk to the temples but there is no footpath directly outside the hotel and we had to cross a very busy road twice to actually get to the ruins - a bit hairy!

Room Tip: If you like a bit of privacy in the bathroom then ask for a room without a glass wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NannaNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

This is one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed or been. It is truly magical. Where else in the world can you look at temples from the private balcony of your bedroom? The hotel is small and the service is very personal. The head waiter, Ignazzio in the dining room is most gracious and will guarantee a memorable experience. I stayed with my son and grandson over Christmas and just visited again with my brother and his wife. My sister will visit in February and I will return. I am staying in Ortigia and it seems to be the place I want to visit again and again and again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnstonstudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Luxury hotel, belongs to one of the Leading Hotels of the World chain. My room was gorgeous and it's terrace overlooked the pool and the Temples. Nice staff, very clean and nice restrooms, good breakfast and free wifi (which is unusual in Italy)

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bellabella907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I warmly recommend this hotel. You can enjoy a view onto an amazingly preserved greek temple as never seen anywhere else ! You can enjoy this view all day if you ask for a room with this perfect view but you can also enjoy this view at night having a great diner on the terrace restaurant, when the temple is enlightened. The rooms are verу cute.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with terrace overlooking the temple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YPollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This is a beautiful hotel! I was particularly impressed by the well trained staff, from the front desk to the restaurant servers. On our first night, we didn't dine in the dining room but ordered a glass of wine and asked for something to nibble on, like nuts or chips. To our surprise, our server brought a delicious small platter of cheeses/meat/bread, etc. All complimentary! Our dinner the 2nd night was outstanding - again, service was excellent!

We had a lovely room with a view of the temple from every window, even the porthole in the shower! I loved the ultra chic Italian decor! Everything was spotless! Of the 3 five star hotels we stayed in during our 7 day tour, the Villa Athena will stand our in my mind as 5.5!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the temple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scpclaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
1.8 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
0.6 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,238 reviews
1.4 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
1.2 mi away
Hotel Exclusive
Hotel Exclusive
#6 of 23 in Agrigento
319 reviews
60.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range: £103 - £512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing