We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel restaurant”
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2012

the hotel Athena has a wonderful position overlooking the valley of the temples but the restaurant is a disgrace and i would advise travellers not to use it.Tthe staff were totally indifferent to our party and one could say downright rude. the prices were outrageous and the portions pathetic the cheapest wine was 40 Euros a bottle and i saw the identical bottle selling at a local supermarket for 6 Euros a complete rip off.0ur bill was over 220 eorus for one course only and we came out still hungry.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

781 - 787 of 1,772 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed just for one night at this wonderfull hotel, with the most beautiful view towards the Valley of the Temple, large superior room, beautifully decorated, great beds,spotless clean,free parking, great breafast- the best we had during our 10 days stay in Sicily, they could offer also some fresh vegetables.Nice garden with lots of birds singing in the morning, staff polite and efficient but nobody smiles. Great lobby with lots of books. If visiting the Valley of the temples best walk to the nearest entrace (Hardcastle and Concordia) because their parking place is more than 1,5 km far from the actual entrance .Highly recommended, would return anytime.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms have a balcony and direct access to the garden, 2nd floor rooms have a better vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michaela12G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Visited in December of 2011. Staff was attentive, room was very nice with a great view off the patio of the Temple of Concord (which was nicely lit at night). Food was excellent too.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
2  Thank K_S_685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The Hotel's localization is perfect, its inside of the Vale del Templi! The hotel view is amazing. But he service is poor, the staff is not friendly.The restaurant's waiters was rude, but the food is really good.The room is good too. I am a SHL member and my privileges was not honored! I don't felt well in the hotel. It is sad, because the hotel localization is amazing! I think the hotel need to something to improve the staff!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmo_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

All exceeded expectations, however the outside patio was not available due to improvement in progress and the cappuccino was not adequate. It should be made the traditional way and not with machines...

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dbottino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

A fantastic jewel of a hotel with an exceptional view and an amazing location. We had a suite which accomodated us and our two children and a big bathroom. The staff were very helpful and the Villa of the Tempes is directly behind the hotel. We did not have dinner at the hotel but the breakfast was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank notenoughshelfspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed for two nights in April 2012. Rooms are modern and clean. Some rooms have a direct view of Temple of Concord and Temple of Hera (Juno) at a distance. Great to have a drink in the evening and watch the temples lit up. We can even walk to the moments from the hotel without going through the official entrance. The menu is rather limited. Best to stay there but eat elsewhere!

Room Tip: Request rooms that face the monuments but likely to be pricey. The area is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank World_explorer_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
1.8 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
1.4 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
0.6 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
24.9 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,926 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Exclusive
Hotel Exclusive
#7 of 23 in Agrigento
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range: £86 - £472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing