We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location”
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The reason to come to Agrigento is to see the ruins, and you can't see them better than from the Hotel Athena (at least until you actually go in to the ruins site). This is a beautifully decorated and sited property, with most rooms featuring views of the temples. The pool is a delight in the hot weather, and the outdoor terrace is a great place to have dinner and enjoy the lighted splendor of the temples. We found the service only so-so, as the front desk didn't have maps of the area and was less than helpful when we were looking to visit the old town of Agrigento. Nice breakfast as well.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank profgjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

747 - 753 of 1,754 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2012

Never in our lives did we think we could have our breath figuratively "taken away" as we would enter a hotel room, until we walked into our room in Agrigento's Hotel Villa Athena. Breathtaking may be an over used term, but on our trip to Sicliy this past April / May it was a fact several times.

Prior to our trip we looked at hotel websites and our itinerary as we tried to preview, find a little history and have a geography lesson as we did out prep. That usually includes a photo gallery, but this time the reality of the vista of the Valley of the Temples from our excellent and modern room was better than the professional photos! Whether on a sunny afternoon, sunrise or upon returning from dinner, when the temples are lighted at night, the sight was beautiful!

We had a beautifully decorated room with a huge terrace, that actually joined three other terraces. We took advantage of this amenity for larger gatherings (10-18) for pre-dinner cocktails, with the ever present Temple of Concordia always in our view, only several hundred yards away.You truly had to pinch yourself since it was such an outstanding focal-point of beauty and history. The pool area was equally lovely with the ever-present Concordia, with almond tree groves surrounding the hotel, the valley between the hotel and the ridge with the three main temples.

The breakfasts were very good, though at the waiters pace for cook to order items.The breakfast dining area is not in view of the temples, though as you enter the dining entrance you literally walk-over an archaeological excavation. The hotel and the surrounding grounds are all built on the ancient city of Akragas.

We did not have dinner or lunch at the hotel, so I am unable to provide an Excellent rating. We did though have a wonderful multi-course meal at Kokolas Ristorante, within a short drive of the hotel and located on a hillside with a view of several temples. Kokolas seemed to be a very popular place for the locals, with full typical Sicilian meals and a huge wood-fired oven for pizza!

Finally, a short drive from Agrigento is San Leone, and the Trattoria Caico Ristorante! WOW what a fabulous meal! The house specialty is fresh seafood, but other irtme are available. Service was superb! The presentations were beautiful and on our Sicilian holiday with outstanding food daily, Trattoria Caico was at the top of the list! Trattoria Caico too catered to a local clientele, which is always a good sign.

For our first trip to Sicily, lodging like Villa Athena was spectacular and yes, breathtaking.

Room Tip: They do have a lower level facing the temples, but it is low and the trees block any view of the tem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LComoIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

It just goes to show you can't please all the people all the time. We just spent one night, and it was all perfect. Our room was beautiful, the view will take your breath away. We had a good dinner on the terrace, slept in comfort, had a great breakfast, took a tour in the morning, ate lunch again on that wonderful terrace over looking the temples. All three meals were fine some excellent and service could not have been better. The hotel arranged a wonderful tour guide, Lorrenzo, to take us through the archelogical site. We later swam and had drinks poolside, changed and left . They brought our bags up and down each time and held them while we swam before leaving. It is the only way to visit this area in my opinion. I will return, it was well worth it. FYI: We are experienced well travelled this is my 20th time in italy and this is a great spot and a very good hotel.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ada B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012 via mobile

As a place to visit, Agrigento does not offer much beyond the Valley of the Temple archaelogical site, which this hotel property abuts. The hotel has a very pleasant spa-like ambience. The service and food were good. We enjoyed it for a couple of nights. It's not quite 5-star, but it's a very solid 4-star.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El_Cure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Villa Athena's only appeal is its location. Other 5 stars offerings that one can expect are simply missing. Food (degustation menu) and service were horrible. The first plate arrived after 80 MN and it was not what we ordered! Cooking was uninspiring at best, when food was not barely defrosted (rabbit). The air condition was not working and when I reported the incident, the receptionist simply said " I know, we have a problem". She didn't bother to offer an apology.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reimmop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The view of the Temples from the hotel is beautiful. That said, the focus seemed to be their catering. The rooms face the restaurant so that the wedding and the band music kept playing past 1:00AM. The second evening we were assured the confirmation party would be more low key.It went until after12, and we could hear the staff straightening up. Our dinner at the restaurant was just OK. Service was extremely slow and the food came out cold. It was disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYorkSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The hotel has one of the most beautiful views of this world: the Temple of Concord at the Valley of Temples. Its like to be in a dream having such a awestriken view of one of the most important temple at the Valley while reading a book at the hotel swimming pool or eating a spaghetti with shrimps and pistachi at lunch time or eating a pasta, Casareccio with ragu di pomodoro e cernia at dinner time sorrouded by a nice garden with flowers and olive trees. Excelent service personnel in all areas of the hotel and 6 stars to the restaurant service personnel really nice and well trained supervised by Roberto a very professional and friendly manager.

Room Tip: ask the rooms with the Temple of Concord view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ettorevianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
1.8 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
1.4 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
0.6 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
24.9 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,905 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel della Valle
Hotel della Valle
#10 of 23 in Agrigento
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range: £89 - £461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing