We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a spectacular view”
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2014

we visited Villa Athena for two nights and were thrilled with everything about it. the service is first class, the restaurant is terrific, and the view of the valley of the temples puts it as one of the most dramatic locations for a hotel. highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PETE1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,719)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Athena
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

550 - 556 of 1,719 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

With limited time, we decided to opt for a stay at Villa Athena with its location on the grounds of the valley of the temples and the nearby entrances (altho when walking, the sidewalks are not particularly user friendly or well maintained). The building itself isn’t nearly as impressive as the location, manicured grounds, and view and the lobby was quite small– a let down from what we have experienced at other luxury hotels. We had standard rooms which were adequate in size and the furnishings were nice if not slightly worn around the edges. I did notice that the door to the room was very thick, providing good noise abatement and it didn’t slam when closed like many hotels, a welcome surprise. The beds too were very comfortable. The desk staff’s demeanor was professional but at times too impersonal for my taste; the hotel could learn a lot from majority of other highly rated hotels in Sicily about making guest feel welcomed and appreciated. And one of the desk staff should be coached to not insist on speaking English when a guest wants to converse in Italian - I found this off-putting.

The breakfast buffet, served in a different building across the parking drive from the main hotel, proved abundant, the quality quite good, certainly one of the best in all of Sicily. The staff was formally attired and very attentive. Most disappointing however was our lunch that was served on the large terrace with a view of the Temple of Concordia. Yes, the wait staff too was formally attired and the view spectacular but the food fell far short both in quality and portion based on the exorbitant pricing. Another downside, the hotel does not contain any exercise facilities which seemed incredible to me at 5 stars.

All in all, the hotel does not quite provide the ambiance or service of a 5 star establishment but the location, far from the city center (possibly a positive note) and on the grounds of the temple complex makes this a good choice if time and proximity and not cost are your major concerns. If I was to return, I’d still consider Villa Athena only if the rate was fair but would lessen my expectations. And I would definitely skip lunch.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

After a stressful drive we were warmly greeted by staff. We received a complimentary upgrade. The room was well sized, very clean and ultra modern. A very short stroll to the valley of temples entrance made things even better. We found the staff very helpful. The restaurant was very nice. Being winter it was quite empty but the food was tasty. For a 5 star hotel the food was also quite affordable. Definitely where to stay in Agrigento.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

After several days touring and staying in B&B's this hotel provided us with a welcome change, namely a full sized luxurious shower. The beauty of the view from our balcony window of the temple Concordia cannot be described. The stay included a wonderful breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant. It's just not breakfast anymore if you don't have a "make your own" cannoli bar:)

The only negative was the cheesy American disco music playing outdoors. It was quite annoying while we tried to enjoy the outdoor evening view of the temple.

Room Tip: We Booked directly thru the hotel for an unobstructed view of the temple.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larryf310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Yep, we splashed out! we could not resist when we saw the beautiful pictures. The hotel is a nice size (small), the suite was nice, with two separate rooms: a living room with the strange but cool sunken bath and a bedroom with all glass walls on two walls. The view is magnifcent. The best part is the terrace which is huge 9as big as teh suite) and faces the temple. It is amazing.
Having said that Im not sure it is still worth the price they charged. By the way we got it slightly cheaper on the small luxury hotel website the hotel is part of. I do believe that any room on that floor or under facing the temple would have a view of the temple.
Also was dispointed we could not enjoy eating out on the terrace as there were wasps everywhere, so it defeated the point really.
Breakfast is lovely, serve in the restaurant which is in a spearte building. We also had time for a quick dip in the pool which was again lovely.
A nice hotel to stay for usre (we walked from there to the valley of temples - although it was scorching hot!), the suite is very nice but I think it is still overpriced.

Room Tip: A room facing the temples but not necessarily the Villa Suite
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kald06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel was by far the best accommodation we found in our 10 days in Sicily. The rooms (we had a junior suite) were spacious, modern and very comfortable. Large, well-provisioned bathrooms were a bonus. Situated on the same grounds as the temples, you can walk to the historical sites, and have a spectacular view of the temples from the hotel itself. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Agrigento. One thing to avoid, however, is the restaurant. Way overpriced ($20 for a bowl of soup). Seriously? Go down to the shore, about a 10 minute drive, and you'll find several good and fairly-priced restaurants.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the junior suite. It's worth the few extra dollars.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank World53Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

With two Ancient Greek temples practically in our back yard, it may be hard for the other aspects of the hotel to match up. While of course they couldn't possibly, the Villa Athena was a wonderful place - very comfortable with gracious and efficient service. The decor is possibly excessively modern, but it works.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Mkliegman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
1.4 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
1.8 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
3.7 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,204 reviews
24.9 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,838 reviews
60.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range: £91 - £651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing