We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep amongst the ruins”
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
Jericho, New York
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Sleep amongst the ruins”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel is located inside a park of ancient ruins. Breathtaking views of greek temples. This is not a four star hotel by any means, but it's small suites are clean and comfortable. Service is pleasant but less than professional. The pool and outdoor dining areas are both very enjoyable. Two nights in Agrigento are more than enough and this is the best place in town. Ask for Lorenzo if you want a great guide to the ruins

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,236
    306
    97
    32
    23
See reviews for
304
1,060
29
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This hotel and its surroundings are stunning. Unfortuantely we only had a one night stay at the Villa Athena. The hotel was quiet so we were upgraded to a room with a private balcony - wow, what a view. It was almost as if time stood still as we sat on the balcony in the sun gazing over at the Temple of Concord.

The staff were excellent. Nothing was too much bother for them. I had mislaid a bag en route to the Villa Athena and the hotel receptionist could not have been more helpful trying to locate the bag for me. She made endless phone calls to all the places we had visited that day until the bag was finally found.

Overall I cannot fault this hotel, the location is superb, the staff excellent and the restaurant fantastic. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hetty14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I stayed only one night at the Villa Athena. The hotel's main claim to fame is definitely the view over the temples at Agrigento. It was such a pleasure to open the shutters and to look out over the "Temple of Concord", illuminated at night, as well as in the morning.

The hotel is definitely upscale, but I don't know if I would go so far in calling it five star. First, the positive points. The staff was excellent, and spoke English and German very well. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the breakfast was really outstanding. I stuffed myself with the delicious Sicilian delicacies until I nearly burst.

That being said, there were a couple of negative points. For a five star hotel, and for such prices, I found the rooms were rather small, and everything seemed a bit dated. The decor was a bit lacking, a kind of bland classicism, and the the bathroom, while very clean, had limescale deposits on the shower floor. For that kind of money, I expect everything to be top of the line.

Still, all in all, and incredible place. If you're going to stay, then definitely splurge, and get a room with a terrace as well. In that case, stay more than one night, to simply enjoy the temples from the terrace, and to watch how the ruins shift in their colors over the course of the day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ibrahimdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Villa Athena is an exceptional place with magical views. This enclave away from the ugly citybof Agrigento and amidst the 2000+ year old greek temples, provides fantastic food and grand service. The rooms are spacious and modern and provide wonderful amenities. The only problem we found was some noise from the rooms next door, but nothing too bad. I would definitely go back to this amazing place.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos_L93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This hotel ticks all the boxes, twice! Stunning location set just below the Valley of Temples, which look magnificent by day and are breathtaking by night, fantastic rooms (we travelled with another couple and all four of us agreed that we wished we could bring the rooms with us on all our future holiday trips) excellent service and a superb restaurant. The breakfast selection provided was outstanding, possibly the best that I have ever encountered during my travels. The hotel organised a guided tour of the temples, which was highly informative and enjoyed by all. As others have said, the hotel is somewhat isolated however through the combination of it's location, restaurant and staff you won't want to leave anyway. We stayed for two nights, which was enough to explore the temples and chose not to spend time in Agrigento itself, which is not a pretty city by Italian standards.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nolnoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flesherton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The most beautiful rooms can be found here. The view of the ruins from our room was spectacular...especially at night. Meals were great but in cool weather (no pool time) 2 nights would propably be enough as there's no where to walk to except the temples, which were well worth the stay,so you're kinda stuck to the property if you don't want to drive.The staff is kind and helpful and "little treats" sometime appear!

Room Tip: Any room looking at the temple would be perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

This relatively small 5 star hotel has the feel of a private villa, with stunning views if Agrigento's temples.
We stayed 3 nights, and it was a total pleasure. The breakfasts were a real highlight with fresh fruit salad, fresh ricotta, home mad preserves, delicious Sicilian cakes, make your own cannoli, and eggs cooked to order. The head waiter, Piero, was absolutely charming and helpful at all times.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FaustoCopp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
1.4 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
1.8 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
3.7 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,184 reviews
24.9 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,790 reviews
60.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Property: Hotel Villa Athena
Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing