We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Place at a Very Good Location”
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I've spent two weeks driving around Sicily and this was by far the best place I stayed.
Very well located, you could actually walk to the Valley of The Temples. The place is very well decorated, comfortable, silent and clean. The restaurant was good but the breakfast buffet was excellent. The staff was courteous and attentive and there was enough parking space inside.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the temple ruins, unforgettable views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANTONIO S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

557 - 563 of 1,755 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed two nights at the Villa Athena in a room with a large terrace overlooking the temples. What a view! Our room was comfortable, the wifi worked perfectly and the bathroom was very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful especially when all the roads to the hotel were closed on our first evening for an almond festival at the Valley of the Temples so we had to cancel our dinner reservation in town and eat at the hotel. The desk staff took care of that for us. The breakfast here was very extensive, varied and excellent. We had a very enjoyable experience at the restaurant. The food was more expensive than we had encountered in Sicily but it was all very tasty, beautifully presented and the service was warm and friendly.

Room Tip: We had room 105 which had a very large terrace with a fabulous view of the temples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sethsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

a very exclusive hotel with a breathtaking view over the fascinating temples. It is in a walking distance to the temple ruins and the museum. The restaurant is also excellent. The staff is very helpful and friendly. At the swimming pool you have a nice view of the temples.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SidneyFroes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel is located inside a park of ancient ruins. Breathtaking views of greek temples. This is not a four star hotel by any means, but it's small suites are clean and comfortable. Service is pleasant but less than professional. The pool and outdoor dining areas are both very enjoyable. Two nights in Agrigento are more than enough and this is the best place in town. Ask for Lorenzo if you want a great guide to the ruins

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This hotel and its surroundings are stunning. Unfortuantely we only had a one night stay at the Villa Athena. The hotel was quiet so we were upgraded to a room with a private balcony - wow, what a view. It was almost as if time stood still as we sat on the balcony in the sun gazing over at the Temple of Concord.

The staff were excellent. Nothing was too much bother for them. I had mislaid a bag en route to the Villa Athena and the hotel receptionist could not have been more helpful trying to locate the bag for me. She made endless phone calls to all the places we had visited that day until the bag was finally found.

Overall I cannot fault this hotel, the location is superb, the staff excellent and the restaurant fantastic. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hetty14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I stayed only one night at the Villa Athena. The hotel's main claim to fame is definitely the view over the temples at Agrigento. It was such a pleasure to open the shutters and to look out over the "Temple of Concord", illuminated at night, as well as in the morning.

The hotel is definitely upscale, but I don't know if I would go so far in calling it five star. First, the positive points. The staff was excellent, and spoke English and German very well. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the breakfast was really outstanding. I stuffed myself with the delicious Sicilian delicacies until I nearly burst.

That being said, there were a couple of negative points. For a five star hotel, and for such prices, I found the rooms were rather small, and everything seemed a bit dated. The decor was a bit lacking, a kind of bland classicism, and the the bathroom, while very clean, had limescale deposits on the shower floor. For that kind of money, I expect everything to be top of the line.

Still, all in all, and incredible place. If you're going to stay, then definitely splurge, and get a room with a terrace as well. In that case, stay more than one night, to simply enjoy the temples from the terrace, and to watch how the ruins shift in their colors over the course of the day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ibrahimdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Villa Athena is an exceptional place with magical views. This enclave away from the ugly citybof Agrigento and amidst the 2000+ year old greek temples, provides fantastic food and grand service. The rooms are spacious and modern and provide wonderful amenities. The only problem we found was some noise from the rooms next door, but nothing too bad. I would definitely go back to this amazing place.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Carlos_L93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
1.8 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
1.4 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
0.6 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
24.9 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,906 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel della Valle
Hotel della Valle
#10 of 23 in Agrigento
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range: £89 - £464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing