We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view of Temple but ..........” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
Manly
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great view of Temple but ..........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

If you book a Temple View room that is what you get, very expensive to pay for this view but it is wonderful especially at night with the lights. But considering the price for the Presidential Suite (very expensive!) I would have expected a couple of basic complimentary services would have been offered. As we arrived by bus and did not wish to drive in Sicily I was told I could pay to have a car service pick us up from the bus station - I queried that and asked if that could be complimentary as we were staying 3 nights at considerable cost. The hotel agreed but I was disappointed that this was not offered in the first place as the bus station is not far at all from the hotel. The other main point is, I would suggest a free shuttle bus be offered to guests to take you into the town of Agrigento and return to the hotel possibly 3 times a day at set times and then one evening shuttle with say a 10pm return to the hotel as again the price you pay for accommodation is high and a simple inexpensive courtesy bus would be very helpful and appreciated by guests who do not wish to drive in Sicily. We found out that there are not many taxis in Agrigento and especially at night - we could not get back to the hotel one night from the town, there were no taxis to be seen and coming from Australia and not understanding a lot of Italian to ask about buses, finally catching a bus part of the way back to the hotel and then having to walk in the dark the rest of the way to the hotel. We have stayed in Greece at a hotel that was just out of the main town and they offered a complimentary shuttle a few times a day and at night for their guests which worked really well - a suggestion I think Villa Athena should consider. If you want to be close to the Temples this is the place to stay, you can easily walk there and spend a good day. Hotel Villa Athena is a special hotel with location its best asset, also dining at night in the hotel restaurant highly recommended.

Room Tip: Temple View Room recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelqueen0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,161
    283
    92
    30
    22
See reviews for
277
1,004
28
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel is right next door to the Valley of the Temples and has amazing views, it's pricey but we you consider the other options is the only place to stay, we had two wonderful nights here and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We had a room around the back, not an issue as you see the temples from all other areas , and was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZ_WP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel was beyond belief. I only wish we could have stayed longer than 1 night. This hotel is all about the customer...from the time you enter to when you leave. Because of where it is located, you eat at the hotel. You sit outside and opposite of you is lighted Greek temples with deep blue sky and waving palm branches. It was the most breathtaking view I have ever experienced. The room consisted of a sitting room, bedroom, walk-in closet and bathroom. Free internet connections. Breakfast was typical Sicilian breakfast with lots of fresh fruit, sweets, eggs, and breakfast meat to your likings.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Hotel Villa Athena far exceeded our expectations. We had heard that the hotel was in a great location and that the location was the reason they could command the prices they do. How wrong! It's certainly in an amazing location, but it's also a wonderful hotel. The rooms are spacious and lovely with views of the temple. There's even an incredible view from the bathroom! The staff is warm and welcoming and the food is superb. The grounds are beautiful and you can't beat that location. We were able to wake early, get a delicious breakfast and walk to the archeological site before the crowds arrived. Hotel Villa Athena is worth the splurge!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank powejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

This was my third time staying here while visiting the temples, This time it was my honeymoon , The staff welcomed me like family , the room with the temple view 104 was one of the best in the hotel !! Service is excellant , they can't do enough, excellant food at dinner w a view of the temple lit up at night is outstanding , Thank you Annamaria for all your help and going the extra mile at reception ! I want to go back , so hard to leave ! Best es

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eshander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with an amazing view over one the main temples in the Valle dei Templi in Agrigento. The temple is right in front of the bar and some rooms' windows. Watching the well lit temple in the evening while sipping your drink is worth the stay. The service is excellent, the rooms are large and tastefully decorated. Breakfast is so-so. Worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalTravelMan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I spent 10 days in Sicily this May, two of which in the Villa Athena Hotel, Agrigento. Wonderful hotel with a breathtaking view of the Temple of Concordia! Beautiful, well managed, privileged location and a vey helpful and courteous staff. Particularly, Anamaria and Lucia of the front desk were outstanding. The Hotel has astonishing gardens that, per se, are worth the stay. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NathalieSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
2.0 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
2.4 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
25.3 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
0.1 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#5 of 25 in Agrigento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
100.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Property: Hotel Villa Athena
Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing