We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis at Agrigento”
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Oasis at Agrigento”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Villa Athena, a former private villa, is a smart well equipped oasis in the dry south of Sicily. Its USP is its proximity to the Unesco heritage site in the Valley of the Temples. At supper the dining terrace looks up to the Temple of Concordia and the Temple of Hera and the rising full moon (do time your stay to catch it!) makes this an impossibly evocative and romantic location.
Excellent spacious and quiet junior suite (room 110) close to reception and to the separate breakfast room cost E 399. The food...mixed impressions. My wife's red snapper was fresh caught and impeccably prepared. My filet of pork was overcooked and inedible and by the time the staff had fetched some extra salsa it was cold too. Part redemption with free drinks thereafter but the occasion was spoiled. The staff on our visit was entirely male/efficient and a touch of female/warm might have improved our welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,233
    306
    97
    32
    23
See reviews for
303
1,059
29
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

A great place to stay, modern clean rooms, everyone very helpful, walking distance to the temples, the best breakfest buffet of our 12 day trip to Scicily. Truly a 5 star location. The only weak spot the the evening dinning, I would give the restaurant a 3 out of 5

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drjohnmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The old villa has been refashioned recently with sleek white spaces and glass-enclosed common areas but the view is timeless. The temples are lit up at night as you dine al fresco, reminiscent of some Athens hotels with rooftop dining overlooking the Acropolis. The restaurant itself may not boast a Michelin star but was as good as one- and two-star places we tried in Sicily. Breakfast buffet even has a make-your-own cannoli station with a couple of fillings to choose from.
Our room had plenty of space, comfortable enough double bed created by putting together two singles, similarly large bathroom. The remodel has brought the rooms right through the twentieth century and into the twenty-first. Enjoyed the pool at the end of every day with its warm water.
A couple of misses however: no business center or common-area computer which would help greatly in Sicily where WiFi is unbelievably slow. And how about hooks in the bathroom to hang those plush white bathrobes?
But the main thing is you walk out the front gate, make a left and you're at the temples in the length of a city block. Walk out in the other direction and just as fast you're at the Archeological Museum, well worth a visit for its vast trove from the temple site, especially the ancient Greek urns. There cannot be a better way to do Agrigento.

Room Tip: First-floor rooms behind the reception area may not have the best view but were good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

As other reviews will say better, this hotel is one you choose for the location as it is a modest walk away from the wonderful monuments in the "valley" above and the museum in the other direction. The view from the grounds, the terrace and many rooms is amazing and improves at night when there is good lighting. You have to eat on the Terrace which is probably convenient after a day sightseeing, especially if hot.
This is however a really 5* hotel and one of few in Sicily. There are only 25 rooms so you have a miuch better atmosphere than in a large hotel.The service is caring from arrival with a tour of the hotel and a personal introduction of the room by the receptionist rather than a porter. All facilities are on hand including WiFi throughout the hotel including at the pool which makes a change! Pool is large, warm and has enough space for all the guests who want to lie there to relax or recover from a tough tour.
Dinner in summer is on the terrace which has that splendid view. Service here is friendly if a bit slow as the kitchen is in another building. Food comes from a well chosen and interesting menu with decent execution. Not the very best cooking perhaps but the whole experience makes it a wonderful evening.
Rooms mainly have the view. We had probably the cheapest one, facing the town, itself actually interesting by day and night and not easy to see from lower down. However, we were not in the room much so it did not matter. The room itself is clean, wonderful white with linen, turn down service of course and a huge shower - no bath in this one. TV was not working but doubtless that will have been fixed.
Downsides? It is not near the town so going there is another expedition, And price - all this is not cheap but worth a nght of luxury and if you can afford it a bit more to look at the countryside, for which there is lots of help.

Room Tip: Face the view as high up as you can or go for a cheaper room and just sit by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_fool_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We only stayed one night and it is very convenient to visit the temples. Arriving late afternoon, we appreciated the sheer luxury and location with a swim in the delightful pool. Service was generally efficient but neither warm nor friendly. But the location is everything. With a room with a view of the temples, dinner (expensive but very good) on the terrace overlooking them; as the sun set the temples were lit and we felt completely imbued with the atmosphere of the place. Ready, after a good breakfast in the very up to date indoor restaurant, to make an early start and beat the worst of the crowds.

Room Tip: View or side view of the temples is important
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

fantastic location with amazing view of temples especially at night
Agrigento itself nothing to write home about
Rooms very comfortable but not 5 star
service outstanding and food and drink prices fair for quality of hotel

Room Tip: if you stay here you must have a temple view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randell1852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manly
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

If you book a Temple View room that is what you get, very expensive to pay for this view but it is wonderful especially at night with the lights. But considering the price for the Presidential Suite (very expensive!) I would have expected a couple of basic complimentary services would have been offered. As we arrived by bus and did not wish to drive in Sicily I was told I could pay to have a car service pick us up from the bus station - I queried that and asked if that could be complimentary as we were staying 3 nights at considerable cost. The hotel agreed but I was disappointed that this was not offered in the first place as the bus station is not far at all from the hotel. The other main point is, I would suggest a free shuttle bus be offered to guests to take you into the town of Agrigento and return to the hotel possibly 3 times a day at set times and then one evening shuttle with say a 10pm return to the hotel as again the price you pay for accommodation is high and a simple inexpensive courtesy bus would be very helpful and appreciated by guests who do not wish to drive in Sicily. We found out that there are not many taxis in Agrigento and especially at night - we could not get back to the hotel one night from the town, there were no taxis to be seen and coming from Australia and not understanding a lot of Italian to ask about buses, finally catching a bus part of the way back to the hotel and then having to walk in the dark the rest of the way to the hotel. We have stayed in Greece at a hotel that was just out of the main town and they offered a complimentary shuttle a few times a day and at night for their guests which worked really well - a suggestion I think Villa Athena should consider. If you want to be close to the Temples this is the place to stay, you can easily walk there and spend a good day. Hotel Villa Athena is a special hotel with location its best asset, also dining at night in the hotel restaurant highly recommended.

Room Tip: Temple View Room recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelqueen0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
1.4 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
1.8 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
3.7 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,181 reviews
24.9 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,782 reviews
60.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Property: Hotel Villa Athena
Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing