We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch”
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had lunch at this hotel as part of a Tauck Tour of Sicily.
It was the best lunch we had in Sicily with cleanly cooked food beautifully presented on the terrace.
This hotel also had the best toilets in the whole of Sicily.
The gardens are beautiful to wander around and the views to the Valley of the Temples are magnificent.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the Valley of the Temples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wandering59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 545 of 1,772 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at Hotel Villa Athena for only 1 night during our Sicily tour.

The hotel, located right in the heart of the Valleys of the Temple, is set in a beautiful century-old mansion. There's a private parking area right after you drive through the front gates. Check-in was efficient and the staff even went the extra mile to give us a guided tour of the building including our room. 90% of the rooms here have a stunning view of the Temple of the Concorde. They even have a circular window in the bathroom so you could see the temple from where you are taking a shower. How thoughtful is that!

Breakfast was excellent (and included) and was definitely one of the best we had in Sicily. After breakfast, we took a comfortable 10-minute walk to check out the temples before hitting the road again to our next destination - Palermo.

Note: we visited Agrigento on a Sunday and it's almost impossible to find a restaurant that's open. Finally, we did find a decent one called Marco Polo, which's about 10 minute drive from Villa Athena. Service was a little slow but in case you need to eat, it's not a bad choice.

Room Tip: Any room facing the Temple of the Concorde
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hedonist420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We made a good decision to visit Agrigento and also to stay in the Villa Athena. The location cannot be better, not only for access to the Greek ruins (a short walk), but the vista from the hotel of the valley of the temples. I don't know when I will ever again be able to sit on our patio, or by a pool, or at a dinner table and have a view like that of a world that once was, unobstructed and uncluttered by modernity (photo attached of view from dinner table at night). One's imagination has a certain freedom to visualize history without the distractions one finds at so many other ruins. The rooms were comfortable and the service friendly and helpful, especially at the front desk. Other suggestion time permitting - take a 15 min ride to see the Scala dei Turchi (photo attached), "Turkish Cliffs" - pretty interesting.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PS06840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a simply beautiful hotel, also a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the world. We had a ground floor suite with a view of the Temple of Concordia. The views from the terraces and dinner patio are amazing, and at night when the temples are lit up you feel lost in time. The staff is very accommodating and we had two wonderful dinners. They change the menu regularly and it features many fresh regional dishes, plus an excellent wine list. Proximity to the Valley of the Temples cannot be beat. The room was very clean and white, and there is a very nice turndown service. Breakfast is in the "winter" dining room and is sumptuous, including juicer to make your own truly fresh orange juice. Like all Sicilian hotels it is very heavy on breakfast pastries and cakes, but remember when in Sicily...and enjoy the sweets! Plus the local cheeses are amazing including fresh ricotta. You can order eggs to your liking if you need to, but there is so much available it almost isn't necessary. If you are planning to visit the Valley, this is well worth it for a magical stay.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of one of the Temples - Concordia is the most impressive but Junio isn't...
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Aurelie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We are currently staying here for our honeymoon for 3 nights on a trip around Sicily and have loved it. The place is perfect, looking out on the Temple Concordia from the terrace or at dinner.

Rooms are gorgeous, food is wonderful. The staff are all so helpful and polite, they really take the place to the next level.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TimUriS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The pictures do not exaggerate the beauty of the Villa Athena. It truly has the most sumptuous setting and is high end without being stuffy. TWO words to the wise - the rooms are very disparate in terms of what they offer- IF you want a room with a view be very clear what you chose. The first floor rooms are actually hunkered down below the foundation - think a very beautifully appointed bunker - and felt a bit strange in their layout. Having said this, that I could forgive BUT we had two negative experiences with the restaurant. Glacially slow lunch and dinner service and food that did not live up to expectations. The wait staff were lovely, kind and personable, but at times appeared to be distracted, disorganized and even "checked out". We were surprised and disappointed. I would stay here again but would be more strategic in my room choice and more open to the idea of eating off site.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was a very nice hotel. The best thing about it is the location. It is walking distance to the Valley of the Temples and all the souvenir shops, but not much else. If you choose another hotel the parking at the Valley of the Temples is 10 Euros and they provide a shuttle. Our room was spacious but the bathroom door did not close all the way. There were no hooks to hang anything on. We stayed across from the reception desk on the first floor and it was convenient and quiet. Dining there was very over priced and service was minimal, but the view of the temple all lit up was spectacular. Breakfast Buffet was average for the area. The visit there was pleasant, would I stay there again, probably not, tough decision. It was a great location but was it really worth the money?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcvega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
1.8 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
1.4 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
0.6 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
24.9 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,926 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Exclusive
Hotel Exclusive
#6 of 23 in Agrigento
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range: £87 - £471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing