We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A stunning view and helpful staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
South East
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A stunning view and helpful staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

The view from our room was unbelievable, the Temple of Concordia in all its glory. It is really breath taking, waking in the morning and looking out across your terrace at this exquisite 2500 year old Greek monument.
The staff here were also excellent and Salvatore in particular went out of his way to make our stay special including arranging a trip and overnight stay in Taormina. Breakfast was very nice too with good, friendly service.
Why not a higher rating? Room was nice and well furnished but small and did not feel luxurious given the 5* rating and pricing. As other reviewers have said the food and drink prices were prohibitive, a glass of wine costing more than a decent bottle in a nearby restaurant. The main disappointment was during our 12 night stay there were 3 wedding parties which were noisy affairs, The car park was full and on one night we got very little sleep as the sub karaoke band played until after midnight and the noisy guests carried on partying. A sleepless nights was not what I expected at over 300 E a night. In hindsight a couple of nights here followed by a move to another centre would have been better.

Room Tip: Worth the extra cost for a superior room overlooking the Temples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andypsps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,161
    283
    92
    30
    22
See reviews for
277
1,004
28
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

After much debate on whether to splurge on one night here, I did decide to go with it for the convenient location,a s our only interest in this area was to visit the temples.
In the end I am very glad we did, since it is indeed very convenient and our one night stay was very pleasant. As expected, however, we did find it overpriced for the size of the room (tiny, and even though I am a member of SLH we'd I'd not get an upgrade) and the food at dinner was disappointing. In fact, our dinner there was the most expensive the whole week in Sicily, and the least satisfying.

That said the grounds are lovely, and we really enjoyed lounging at the pool after the long drive from Ragusa, had very good cocktails by the pool, and the view of the temples at night time is breathtaking.

Breakfast was very good, as everywhere else in Sicily, and service at the front desk was very friendly. Would choose it again for visiting the temples, but definitely know that you are paying a more than 25% premium for the location.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilbucofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

If you like everything handed to you on a silver platter and a view of a 2500 year old Greek temple, this is the hotel for you. The staff were great and most of them could speak english well, the food was exquisite all and all. The Only thing I would change would be the breakfast, the freshly squeezed orange juice was a nice touch but the French toast was more of a French wafer and there was no syrup. But other than that minor discrepancy it was pretty much perfect

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

If you have driven all the way to the Valley of the Temples and can afford to stay in this noble residence then don't dither. Just book it! Dining on the terrace in the half light with the lit up Temple of Concordia just 200 metres away is an awesome experience both in food and view. The hotel generously provide a free of charge night lights tour of the temples and nearby town of Agrigento at around 10pm each night - it's really worth doing. We stayed one night - two would have been really relaxing and three possibly a day too long having seen all we'd come to see. A memorable experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We booked this hotel via Hotwire (it’s the only 5 star resort in Agrigento, so we were fairly certain of which hotel we were getting). In addition, we were upgraded to an amazing suite which made it our most glamorous stop in Italy. In addition, the hotel is only blocks from the entrance to the Valley of the Temples, so it’s an easy walk. In addition, our terrace looked directly out at the Temple of Concord, which was lovely by day and stunning when it’s lighted at night.

The hotel is a beautiful property with a relatively small number of rooms. It has an outdoor bar and restaurant with views of the temples, as well as an indoor restaurant where breakfast is served. It also has a large pool. Our room was a 2-room suite, with a terrace. Everything about it was first class, including ceiling to floor windows with flowing drapes, elegant furniture and a king-size bed. The bathroom was the nicest of anywhere we stayed. It included a large shower with a full shower door, a soaking tub, and a window above the tub that perfectly framed the Temple of Concord.

Since Villa Athena is outside the new city of Agrigento, it feels like a secluded country estate. For this reason, we chose to eat dinner at the outside restaurant at the hotel, rather than driving into the city. We were very pleased with the food and the service, as we gazed at the lighted temples on the hillside. We couldn’t have asked for a more romantic setting.
Breakfast is excellent. It includes a buffet, along with cooked to order omelets and other breakfast foods. As you walk into the restaurant, you walk over relics that were unearthed during construction. The hotel placed a plexiglass floor over the excavation so that diners can appreciate the history that surrounds them.

As far as I concerned, Villa Athena is the only place to stay when visiting Agrigento.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slg2if
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

The only reason for going to Agrigento is to see the temples (and the archeological museum, which is mostly full of the same old stuff but has the occasional interesting, unusual piece); the main reason to stay at the Hotel Villa Athena is that it is easy walking distance to the temples, and you have a great view of them from the hotel.

The hotel itself is very clean, comfortable beds, air conditioning - all you can ask for except (as usual) poor quality pillows. Why is it that so few hotels at least offer the choice of feather-filled pillows? After a hard day in the heat I do not want a piece of unforgiving foam to lay my head on.

The pool is quite big and there was plenty of space around the poolside with sufficient umbrellas; breakfasts were good; can't speak of dining in the evenings as we ate out at one of the (many) good local restaurants.

So the only drawback of the hotel is the price; our nightly rate there was €315 per room, which is far from being cheap. But the hotel has a captive audience and little or no competition. And in a way I found the temples slightly disappointing, in just the way that I found the Graeco/Roman theatre at Taormina disappointing; very touristy, and there are more impressive sites in the Middle East - now sadly inaccessible in many cases due to conflicts.

As for Agrigento; a sad atmosphere, with tower blocks of shoddy ugly flats packing out the place; the seafront at night is full of cheap rip-off consumer goods being sold by immigrants trying to eke out a living, while the gritty Sicilians wander along and choose a restaurant. It felt quite raw and I must say I liked it enormously for its authenticity. The hotel was fine, no complaints, very helpful staff, good breakfasts - try the iced cream coffee.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reluctantvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington,DC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel has recently been redone to minimize lobby space and maximize the rooms that face the temples. Some of the older reviews of the hotel, which call it overhyped are probably from before the renovation. Everything is lovely in the redone section of the hotel, and the lunch and dinner areas have incredible views at all hours, plus the food and wine are quite good. The breakfast room is separate and behind the hotel, and the breakfast very good. Avoid garden rooms as they have no view and are not particularly interesting or private in terms of being able to seat outside or even have your blinds up.

You can walk to all the temples easily from the hotel. Don't miss the Archeology Museum, which is closed on Mondays--plan ahead! This is the finest museum for artifacts of Greek Sicily. It is comprehensive and well laid out.

Room Tip: Plan ahead and reserve a temple-view room--it's definitely worth the effort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank almsafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
2.0 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
2.4 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
25.3 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
0.1 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#5 of 25 in Agrigento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
100.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Property: Hotel Villa Athena
Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing