We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular view, beautiful rooms”
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Spectacular view, beautiful rooms”
Reviewed 25 June 2010

It's almost difficult to believe the view of Roman temples from the hotel's patios and pool. The temple complex and museum are in easy walking distance, and the restaurant is delicious. The rooms are clean, stylish and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,236
    306
    97
    32
    23
See reviews for
304
1,060
29
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2010

The hotel was pretty, the rooms nice, the staff helpful. Our only complaint was that there was supposed to be internet (we needed to work while there as well), but it was terrible. It only sometimes worked and we couldn't get onto gmail.com nor many other sites. Very weird.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pearlybrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2010

During Our recent trip to Sicily hadn't we booked ahead for a couple of in Agrigento reasons. Firstly , We Did not know how long we'd like to stay there , But more importantly we Were not Able to find a hotel accommodation That Was not very commercial in nature or who's rooms Looked acceptable. Kept thinking I Was I missing something and figured someone locally Would Be Able to Provide a nice hotel recommendation. After Taking the coastal route and driving for hours through non-descript towns, stumbling upon the Hotel Athena Was a breath of fresh air and vacations Exactly What Should Be All About ! The hotel has Recently Been Completely renovated and no expense WAS Spareda . The view outside window of Our picture- postcard WAS amazing . The furnishings and bathroom in the room was gorgeous as Were all the common areas. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. We Had a lovely dinner at Their new restaurant . Although the selections Were quite limited , the taste and presentation was excellent. Overall , our stay at the Hotel Athena WAS Truly a pampering experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewJerseyTraveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2010

If you pass by Agrigento, you definitively have to stay at Villa Athena! It is wonderfully located (just in front of Tempio della Concordia, which you can admire even while showering...!!!), furnished with refined pieces, managed by professionals... Rooms are elegant, comfortable and quite. Service is more than efficient.

I would really say it is a touch of stylishness in the heart of Sicily.

I was there for 4 days in May and really had a great time. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FS175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA, USA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We paid full price for a superior room (the most expensive room for our two-week trip to Southern Italy), but felt better when we got upgraded to a full suite. It was fantastic - large living room and separate bedroom (gleamingly white), and temple view. Great location - walking distance to the temples. The onsite restaurant has very nice outdoor tables with temple view, but the menu is overpriced soulless hotel food, and we decided to drive to a local trattoria instead. Good stay overall, though I imagine quite pricey if no upgrade...

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelforChow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville VA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Lovely small hotel with refined modern decor in an unrivalled location, in full view of the well preserved Greek Temple of Concord in the archaeological zone of Agrigento. Excellent dining on the upper level outdoor terrace overlooking the gardens, with the temple just beyond. Rooms pleasant and stylish, though somewhat spare for this type of luxury hotel. Bathrooms also somewhat small but quite well equipped. Pool attractively situated in gardens but a little small since many guests want to use it. Breakfast is served in a sunlit, sleek modern dining room in a separate building just a few feet from the main hotel. Be sure to ask for a room with a view of the gardens since otherwise you may overlook the parking lot, though that is not so bad and you see the hilltop modern city in the distance. Pleasant, helpful service.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fussyrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agrigento
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Lovely small luxury hotels, perfect for couples. We stayed 4 nights. Get a Room With A View on the temple! Very attentive staff. Restaurant served excellent food, However, be prepared to pay for it!
The temples are 3 minutes walk from the hotel. If you want to walk to Agrigento, this is possible. It Takes it about 30 minutes to walk, Mostly up the hill, just follow the pavement.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NN123Agrigento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
1.4 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
1.8 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
3.7 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,184 reviews
24.9 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,790 reviews
60.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Property: Hotel Villa Athena
Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing