We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally Located Luxury”
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ideally Located Luxury”
Reviewed 15 July 2010

With its absolutely prime and quiet location, its beautiful grounds and pool, plus the recent renovation, the Hotel Villa Athena is a perfect choice for visiting Agrigento. We had three nights in the luxurious comfort of an "as new" Junior Suite which, along with the well appointed contemporary bathroom, was spacious and elegant.

It's easy to understand why the terrace restaurant which commands an awesome view of the Temple of Concord is reputed to be the showcase for visiting politicians and dignitaries. While the service could be described as relaxed, drinking in the view (plus champagne!) at sunset, beholding the heavenly golden glow of the temple beneath a vast night sky in which the moon, for a while, lay seemingly cradled between the open arms of two well placed palm trees, is an experience we will never forget. The pianist added to the magic and for a brief moment I almost fell in love with the indifferent head waiter!

We're unable to reconcile our breakfast experience with the views of another writer. The omelettes which were cooked especially for us were delicious, the freshly prepared fruit salad in abundance, the coffee hot and to our taste. We enjoyed the cheese and ham selection and passed over the cereal and yoghurt options, preferring to round off our banquet with croissants and slices of cakes and flans. At all times, the breakfast service was to a high professional standard.

It's only a short walk to either the Valley of the Temples or the archaeological museum and the hotel provides ample free parking.

I've chosen to end this review with accolades for the exemplary service which we experienced at this hotel. This began with prompt, courteous and helpful email contact prior to our booking and was equally reflected by staff at the front desk who assisted us in a variety of ways. We inadvertently left our passports behind at departure and their high point was in providing overnight delivery to a hotel in Palermo. We highly recommend the Hotel Villa Athena and hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e-Aletheia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    297
    96
    31
    22
See reviews for
292
1,045
29
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2010

The hotel is supurb! We had a wonderful stay at the Villa Athena. The staff provided excellent service throughout. The hotel itself is a fantastic location with memorable views of the temples of Agrigento coupled with its own beautiful gardens.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archaeologist1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
htlvillaathena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this review, 8 August 2010
Dear Guest ,
thank you for your lovely comments that you had posted on Trip Advisor.
I was glad to note that you were pleased with your room and the amenities received.
It will be our pleasure to have you once again as our welcome guests.
Best regards,

Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Excellent property BUT the restaurant is only average with rude and unsurly service .... not what one would expect , especially at these high prices; we could not find a waiter to order dessert and coffee so we left and told someone to just put the tab on our room bill. Too bad as everything else about this hotel is wondeful.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjazz369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
617 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

After driving across Sicily, we arrived at Hotel Villa Athena just after 4.00pm, to be told by a female staff member at reception that our room wasn't ready, even though check-in is 2pm. After waiting 25 minutes and making our displeasure obvious, we were shown to a room without a bath (despite having a booking of a room with the view of the temple and a bath). We were then told this type of room doesn't exist in this hotel. 'The travel agency knows the layout of the hotel. There are no rooms with baths overlooking the temple', we were told. ( We did, however, book direct with the hotel). She insisted that it was not possible. More waiting. More arguments! Then miraculously this room did exist and we were shown to the room we had confirmed and booked. Note for Reception: Don't lie to customers. You will look stupid further down the track.
Now, start again.
Hotel location is stunning, best in Agrigento.
Hotel amenities and quality of rooms is 1st class.
Walking distance to the Temples and Archeological Museum.
Restaurant at night on the terrace is stunning as is the food. Not cheap, but you are paying for the setting. (If you have a car go down to beach nearby at San Leone and eat at the Trattoria del Pescatore. Good quality seafood and good menu).
Breakfast is excellent as is the waiting staff.
Overall, we had a good stay but the check in experience was upsetting and frustrating !

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djhallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

This is the only hotel located in the serene strip of land between the city of Agrigento and the temples and offers a spectacular view. The prices reflect this.
Therefore a tip: The hotel has rooms on all sides, and only one side has the spectacular panorama. But the pool, bar and restaurant areas also offer this. So if you don't insist on seeing the temple of Concord from your bedroom window, you can actually afford dinner.
Service was impeccable, even for a 5 star hotel, rooms spotlessly clean and recenly refurbished in a very classy style. The dinner is indeed very expensive, but justified taking the view and experience into account.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vincid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

It was a last minute reservation - I was driving down to Agrigento and just dialed this hotel because I saw it in my guidebook and read good reviews before. And I am so happy I did that. Lady on the phone was very nice, price was great considering value you get, reception staff is great and view from the room is AMAZING. You have completely unobstructed view of the temple day and night. Same from the pool and restaurant.
Service was very good, staff is very nice, they even gave me a laptop for use as I forgot mine.
Hotel is very tastefully decorated.
Rooms are very nice, good beds, great bathrooms, balcony etc. One little thing - toilet cover was creaky:)))) Even from the bathroom you have small window that with a Temple view!!!!
Nice pool. Great garden.
Dont miss restaurant. Great food. Try apple pie for desert! Nice life music. And when you dine you have amazing view of TWO TEMPLES. It is juts breathtaking!!!!!!
Musician was great but I was just thinking that if they would have harper playing something mystical it might be even better instead of great European classics. It would match with Temple view. Just an idea:)
Overall, do not miss this hotel in Sicily!
I came for one night and stayed for two. Come in the evening, have dinner. Next day explore Valley, relax by the pool, have dinner in their restaurant again and leave next day.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petrzalka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

You pay for the view. The rooms are adequate, beds reasonably comfortable, bathrooms adequate. But this is no five star hotel. No one else can offer this location. You are 1 kilometer from the the Temple of Concord. It greets you in the morning and bids you goodnight and it is spectacular. But the rooms are not up to five star standards. And the staff is stiff (though that goes with any hotel on any given day). What is not excusable is the breakfast. Yoghurt, cereal, breads and the worse brewed coffee I've ever had. Simply inexcusable in a hotel of this price, especially one that bills itself as 5 star. It was worth staying here for the location, but only in the cheaper rooms. The more expensive ones would not have been worth it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jAlfano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
1.8 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
1.3 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
3.7 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,740 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 25 in Agrigento
1,162 reviews
100.9 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Property: Hotel Villa Athena
Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing