We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the nicest hotel I've stayed in”
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2010

This hotel is located in the Valley of the Temples with an outstanding view of the Temple of Concord. The rooms are very stylish. The service was excellent. Wifi is available throughout the hotel. Free parking is available. Breakfast was an experience in itself. The restaurant is great food. The swimming pool had a beautiful view of the temples as well. If you can afford the room rate, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
htlvillaathena, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2010

Dear Guest,
thank you from all of us for your lovely comments..
We are glad to read from your review that you had enjoyed yours stay with us at the Hotel Villa Athena.
We hope to have you once again as our guests.
Kind regards,

Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

909 - 915 of 1,810 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2010

Hving just returned from 8 days in Sicily and 5 days in Rome I have to say the highlight of our vacation was the time spent at the Villa Athena. This is a fabulous 5 star experience with caring, considerate, and very professional hoteliers. The lodging was excellent and the location next to the Valley of the Temples was exquisite. The restaurant was the finest eating experience of our entire vacation. Giovanni was an excellent host and entertainer. Be adventurous and let the chef prepaare his specialities. The octopus cappacio and pasta with sea urchin are not to be missed , but even the lamp chops were great. Do Not stay anywhere else in Agrigento.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kihuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We were referred to Villa Athena by a friend who had stayed there and loved it. So did we. The hotel sits in the middle of the Valle of the Temples and the view is sensational. We had traveled through Italy for 10 days prior to visiting Agrigento and were very surprised to find the staff at most hotels annoyed when we asked for assistance. This was not true for Villa Athena. Everyone was warm and friendly and only too happy to help. We had lunch the day we arrived and thought the menu a bit pricey, however the service and the food were wonderful. The rooms were fresh and clean. The grounds are beautiful. It was truly a lovely place to stay and will go back for our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcamardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

My husband and I stayed in The Villa Suite for one night which I believe cost in the region of over £600.00. The Villa Suite is the most expensive room in the hotel. This was a reduced rate as it was the only room they had available when we called in to see if they had availability. Even at this reduced rate it is still a lot of money to spend for one night and therefore the following was disappointing.There was no massage lounger which the hotel says some of the suites have. The wi fi connection was terrible and slow. There was no i pod in the room as was also described. There was not an audio and video system as was described. No complimentary newspaper came the following morning. In fact we only found out about these extras upon reading up on the hotel on its website after we had left. I think the coffees we ordered in the room should have been complimentary for the money we paid. However, the room was beautiful, it was comfortable and had a fabulous view. The evening meal was very good and the breakfast the following morning was excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful. Overall, a lovely hotel but we have stayed in better for less than half the price.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BUMPYWelwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Based on reviews, we decided to stay at Villa Athena as it was our first night in Sicily, and thought it a good place to start. The hotel was amazing - our room overlooking the carpark was quiet, luxurious and did not disappoint. We ate in the restaurant, overlooking the Valley of the Temples, and it was fantastic, but pricey. The breakfast buffet was amazing, and was the best of our holiday. Just wish we could have afforded the suite...

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieBBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Villa Athena Hotel in Agrigento was superb from location,service,cleanliness of room etc etc. Just visited in early September and after spending day travesing through the Valley of the Temples we had a private anniversary dinner on the terrace of our room overlooking the Temple of Conchord on the hill....Service by Giovanni and food from restaurant at hotel were superb and will be lifetime remembrance of our first night in Sicily.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D2plus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Overall this hotel is ok. Ultimately you pay for the view BUT
- do you really want to pay €8 for a plate of chips and €6 for a small coke at lunch time?
- the pool area is small and understaffed
- reception staff are rude
- although the hotel is walking distance from the valley of the temples it is otherwise in the middle of nowhere, a 30-40 min walk through a very dodgy part of Agrigento to get into the town centre (no taxis anywhere)
- mark up on wine is just a rip off - €5 bottles we had for €12 in other places eating out were €40 here

However the restuarant was fantastic - the food was lovely. shame there was a wedding going on around us - small things like this and generally feeling we got poor value for money left a bad taste in my mouth

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londongirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
1.8 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
0.6 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,238 reviews
1.4 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
1.2 mi away
Hotel Exclusive
Hotel Exclusive
#6 of 23 in Agrigento
319 reviews
60.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range: £103 - £512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing