We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER****”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dei Templi
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Agrigento
Milan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“NEVER****”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We only stayed one night on a tour. We were the only people in which was just as well as only one of the two tiny lifts was working. It was clean but oh so tired and depressing in a poor location by a busy road junction opposite a scruffy shopping outlet.

Our room smelt, possibly from smoking possibly from damp from the end wall. We overlooked a shabby scene of "courtyard" and a half finished building opposite, but it was surprisingly quiet overnight. Those on the road elevation were less fortunate.

A so-so dinner was provided and breakfast was ok but no more. It would have been very depressing to have stayed any longer.

Room Tip: Avoid the road side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malvernman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    17
    22
    39
    49
See reviews for
22
43
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This hotel has seen better times and is suffering from the recession with very few guests. The food was very poor with only one choice on the evening menu. Some of our party of 21 went to restaurants in the evening as the hotel food was so poor. The advertised swimming pool was closed and obviously had been for some considerable time which was a disapointment, the excuse was that it was being refurbished but this was not convincing. The room was fine and the staff were friendly and helpfull

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gangad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
598 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Arriving late evening we searched high and low for a hotel and were told to look for this one on the road out to Syracuse. Upon finding the rate an agreeable 60 Euro, we stayed here. In retrospect I'm glad we DIDN'T see reviews on Trip Advisor or Booking.com or we probably wouldn't have stayed here. The only reason I am rating this hotel, 'poor' instead of 'average' is that the airconditioner didn't work in our non-descript room. This wasn't apparent until we returned from dinner (they recommended a nice restaurant rather than 'pushing' their own). When we asked someone to come, they did, however it did not get better. We were offered a chance to change rooms but declined, as we had our stuff all over the place.

The breakfast (buffet) was better than average for our (basically 2-star hotel) trip. Their wireless internet also worked (in the lobby), and this was very welcome. The receptionist was one of the most helpful of any hotel we stayed at. Folks, I'm here to tell you, you can do a LOT worse!

This is NOT a 4-star hotel, but at least they don't charge 4-star prices. If you're going to Agrigento, make certain you plot out a hotel to stay at before you get there ... however, if you don't, the Hotel Dei Templi is a half-way decent option.

Room Tip: Check airconditioner BEFORE unpacking your bags
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wanderlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agrigento hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We were in this hotel for only one night. Can't say that much. Staff is friendly, room is clean.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CesariaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We stayed at this hotel on a coach tour. Even before we arrived our guide was apologetic about the quality. I would have to agree with many other reviewers- definitely not 4 star. The whole place needs a major upgrade.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marg30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

we booked this on the last minute during our visit to sicily and got a great deal. Was a bit hesitant as someone had said it was a terrible hotel on a review, it was great, not luxurious as could do with an update but all was great especially the pool.staff were helpful and friendly, rooms very clean. idela for a couple of restaurants across the road from there, try Chez Jean just 2 mins walk away, great seafood and pizza. would stay here again and its ideally located for the valley of the temples.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suejayne61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
312 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2010

This hotel is very old and creepy. It has carpets on all the floor, including the reception lobby. The furniture looks not antique, just simply old and scraped. In winter it was so lonely and silent, that we were afraid to find a boy in a tricycle wandering in the long and lonely corridors...

Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank RicherTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Mose
Grand Hotel Mose
#8 of 25 in Agrigento
439 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel della Valle
Hotel della Valle
#10 of 25 in Agrigento
777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tre Torri
Hotel Tre Torri
#14 of 25 in Agrigento
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Demetra Resort
Demetra Resort
#18 of 25 in Agrigento
164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kore Hotel
Kore Hotel
#1 of 1 in Villaggio Mose
347 reviews
2.5 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 25 in Agrigento
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dei Templi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dei Templi

Property: Grand Hotel Dei Templi
Address: Viale Leonardo Sciascia | Villaggio Mosè, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Dei Templi 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Dei Templi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Agrigento
Grand Hotel Dei Templi Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing