We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dei Templi
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Reviewed 11 January 2007

Was desparate after a long day and stayed here. Avoid it if you can. Carpeting in halls has no padding and so when people walk down the hall it sounds like a herd of elephants. Walls seem to made of paper so we could hear *everything* in the bathroom next door and in the pool, which was halfway down a long corridor.

When we went to checkout, the man at the desk, probably the same rude fellow that has been referred to in other reviews, told us that the connection was down and *insisted* that we pay cash.

Locals frequent the bar and make you feel uncomfortable.

Risotto in the restaurant was actually excellent.

As the previous reviewer stated, give this hotel a pass. It was the worst experience of all our hotels in a 10-day stay in Sicily.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GunserMt.Horeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2006

We stayed at the hotel for one night during the Gate 1 Affordable Sicly tour. The beds were the cheapest imaginable and the front desk was RUDE! I asked to change a 50 euro note to tip the tour guide and the answer was a flat NO. Didn't even get up from her desk. Just NO. I was glad it was only one night. After the temples there is nothing in Agrigento except the rip-off "Chamber of Commerce" wine tasting. They sold wine for 18 euro you can buy for much less in a shop. They pushed a CD of some terrible kids playing "folk music". It was a joke!

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Italicizeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2006

When you visit Agirgento, you expect to be transported back in time. But that should only apply to seeing the wonderful ancient Greek relics. I didn't expect it to apply to the hotel where I was staying in !!

The initial signs were not good. Our driver simply couldn't find the hotel despite driving all over town. But that's when we found out this hotel wasn't even IN town -- it was in a suburb or satellite town on the other side of the highway from Agrigento. When we got there, we found the Grand Hotel Dei Templi situated along a dusty road lined with cheap garages and other indutrial-looking workplaces. Not exactly luxury territory.

The hotel itself brings you right back in time: to the late 1960s or early 1970s. Not only was the outside arhitecture decidedly 60s, but the state of the interior suggested that all the furnishings were 'original'. From the well-worn carpets, to the ancient lighting, to the tired-looking furniture, everything inside suggested that the owners haven't updated this archaic institute since it was first built - and even to the casual observer, it ws pretty obvious when that was.

The 'oldness' extended to the tiny, creaky elevators, the smoky corridors, and unfortunately into the rooms. My first impression when steeping inside the room was: Boston YMCA, mid-1980s. Yep, that's how cheap it felt. The old, worn bedding, the ancient mini-bar, even the cheap lamps. The carpet was filthy (dead flies - partly squished). The curtains were full of cigarette burns - and smelt of second-hand tobacco. The air-conditioning was pretty weak, and that stank too. The weathered orangey color scheme really evoked images of Austin Powers. Ugh !

Worst of all was the toilet. Cramped, dark, poorly ventilated ... and filthy. We were unlucky to get one of the rooms which for some obscure reason the bathroom was 'modified' (actually shrunken) so that instead of a bath-tub, you only get space for a small shower. I don't know why some rooms have this reduced-sized shower and others still have a full-sized bath-tub - but every other room on our floor was 'reduced'. The shower doors were hanging loose from their rails and wouldn't close properly, and the edges were covered in mildew and mold. Our travelling companions with the 'bath-tub' bathrooms didn't fare any better: the shower head came loose at first touch and the tub was similarly filthy.

Dinner that night in the hotel dining hall promised to redeem things a bit. The old male waiters were courteous and the food was decent. Thank goodness, because there weren't many options for dining out around the hotel. But the next morning, everything came back down to earth. Breakfast was so-so, but the service of the waitresses on the morning shift was terrible. They were rude, impatient and even had the audacity to shout at guests or cast them unfriendly stares if they were 'getting in their way'. Hmm ... seems even the service here is 'pre-historic' (neanderthal?).

I didn't bother to try the pool. I certainly wouldn't recommend it for the ladies. A deserted pool area with some lecherous looking locals constantly peering in isn't my idea of a relaxing swim.

Overall, this place was nasty and ancient. I only stayed here because it was part of a package I stupidly bought. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone I know - even those I don't like too much.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank adls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2006

Stayed at the Grand Hotel Dei Templi March 10, 2006
Hotel: Needs a facelift, but for 1 night it was fine.
Beds and pillows are hard - which I found to be that way all over Sicily. Good bathroom.
Restaurant: Breakfast was good.
Location: Center city

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2006

My friend and I had a one night stopover in this hotel recently. Nice view from balcony down to pool and hills in the distance. The hotel looks tired, dust covers on the lounge chair armrests were grubby. There is a little bar area with 3-4 poker machines at which you can also get a cappuccino. I have never seen so many plastic, dust covered floral displays in my life,now I know where plastic flowers go when they die. The lighting I think was circa 1970's. The room we were in was decorated in a soothing (?) combination of orange and red with grey carpet going from the floor to half way up the walls. Bed was reasonable and the pillows (one each)were wafer thin. The shower flooded the bathroom floor every time it was used and the toilet didn't always flush, sometimes after three attempts. Dining room service was fine and the meals reasonable.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gypsymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2006

We stayed at this property for one night. The room was small, but clean. The view overlooked a half completed hotel. The hotel was not in a location where you could walk to anything. The food was okay, but not horrible. It was a disappointment for being in Italy, but I am not sure that there was a better hotel in town. The temples on the otherhand were fabulous, and the weather was good. There was a wedding in progress, so it was fun to see local residents enjoying a celebration. The hotel was not the high point of our trip. The staff was friendly and helpful. Skip this place if you can.

Stayed: January 2006
7  Thank Chuck P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2005

Since many hotels in the area were closed (high season was over), our tour group stayed at this hotel. Fortunately, we were only there for only one night.

One side of the hotel overlooked a large dog kennel, which was the source of continued noise (and according to some members of our group) smells. The best solution: keep the gates on your windows and balcony door tightly closed to muffle the noise.

The cable television had only one working English language channel, the Gospel Channel. An odd choice, especially for Italy.

The elevators were tiny and cranky.

On the plus side, the food was somewhat above average. The room was clean, although quite dated and banged up, and totally lacking in any kind of style.

If you are visiting Agrigento, try to stay elsewhere if you can.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank JayinNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tre Torri
Hotel Tre Torri
#12 of 23 in Agrigento
347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Mose
Grand Hotel Mose
#7 of 23 in Agrigento
513 reviews
2.5 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 23 in Agrigento
1,814 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lerux Guest House
Lerux Guest House
#15 of 23 in Agrigento
35 reviews
2 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dei Templi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dei Templi

Address: Viale Leonardo Sciascia | Villaggio Mosè, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range: £100 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Dei Templi 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Dei Templi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Agrigento
Grand Hotel Dei Templi Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing