We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but trying hard”
Review of Blu Hotel Kaos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blu Hotel Kaos
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This was the first of 2 hotels we stayed in on our recent tour of Sicily with Riviera Travel.It has clearly seen better days and with Western Sicily attracting fewer tourists than Eastern Sicily it is hard to see it surviving.However taking this into account we have no specific complaints. Staff numbers have clearly been cut but those remaining worked hard and pleasantly.Our room was quite adequate and comfortable and the food unexciting but sufficient.The excellence of our tour manager,Rosario,helped to iron out any problems and hopefully continuing use by Riviera Travel will enable the Hotel survive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank greebo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,089)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 1,089 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

The setting of this hotel is really quite stunning - it would not be out of place as a Hollywood film set. The public areas are attractive and we found the desk staff very helpful. Our room was adequate, with super beds, a fully functioning TV, and a small but welcome balcony. But the air conditioning was simply not up to the job, and the absence of a shower curtain meant that the bathroom flooded every time we used it. There was no hot water in the shower until we asked for it to be fixed. The fittings, though, were fine and everything was very clean. It was the dining room that really disappointed. The decor was uninspiring and the inflexible table formations simply failed to make mealtimes the sociable occasions they should have been. The food was adequate, but no more. The lack of fresh fruit was particularly disappointing. You don't expect to go to Italy and have tinned peaches served in syrup! There was a marked shortage of staff in the dining room. In short, an average hotel that was OK for three nights.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We recently spent three nights with friends with Riviera Travel in this hotel. . The staff found it impossible to provide a table for six in the restaurant which was a very unappealing room, badly laid out so that you had to queue endlessly at breakfast, as everything was crammed into one corner of the room. They were unhelpful and slapdash. The shower in our room was very tired, with the surround grooves an unappetising brown. One evening we returned to our room to find the master key to all the rooms in our door which was ajar. This meant that anyone could have gone into our room and we could have entered anyone's room had we wished to! It definitely does not deserve 4 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel, wonderful grounds and very picture postcard. It is based off the beaten track and you will require a car or taxi to get into town. I think they would do well to offer a shuttle service into town. The breakfast is highly ok as a continental breakfast goes. They do not offer any lunch at the hotel and the dinner menu is limited.
The staff were helpful but definitely need to improve the facilities.. Free wi fi please! this place cannot be faulted in its lovely setting.. Just better customer service like instructions on use of the television and information on hotel facilities please for a perfect break in Sicily.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeniseMortimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Three nights of a two centre week, every aspect of the stay was perfectly acceptable. Stunning pool too, very welcome given the excellent weather! We had read adverse comment before we went but our experience was a thoroughly pleasant one. A large tour group doesn't pay premium prices and we found this hotel met our expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Only few rooms are good and sea facing, rest are all mundane
Bathrroms are shower cubicles so small that you cannot
get in easily and then come out. Food could be better and
needs a bit of character, which is lacking.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms overlooking pool and sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 23vaneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We booked this hotel 10 months before in advance through our travel agent, Once we got to the hotel in the afternoon after traveling 4 hours to get there, we found out that blu hotel had booked us in at another hotel that we found out later they use when they are full, their reason was apparently due to water issues in the section of the hotel we were ment to be staying in and they claimed to have told our travel agent about the issue, we have spoke to our travel agent and they were not informed. We were shocked and started to look for a new hotel but all the nice hotel had been booked out. After speaking to the manager saying that she could book us in a hotel but not a refund. We were in Shock andall we wanted to do was just see the valley of the temples so we couldn't leave, we stayed at the other hotel with little choice.. A nice hotel but not 4 star with no pool we could have saved $150. we were then told that we could use the pool at there hotel, yet they have no public toilets or changing rooms. We spoke with the manger all she had to say were smart remarks like myself and my partner are to young to under stand but to me if you pay $300 you should be put in a hotel at the same cost or refund on the spot. But to be put in another hotel no where near the standards of the blue hotel was a shock and will be trying everything to get our
money back! Nothing but kaos! Steer clear!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
4.6 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
5 mi away
Antica Perla Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,227 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 23 in Agrigento
1,772 reviews
1.1 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blu Hotel Kaos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blu Hotel Kaos

Address: via Giovanni Gentile 11, | Contrada Cumbo Villaggio Luigi Pirandello, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Agrigento
#5 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range: £107 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blu Hotel Kaos 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blu Hotel Kaos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Agrigento
Best Western Kaos
Blu Hotel Kaos Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing