We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some things average; some things good!”
Review of Blu Hotel Kaos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blu Hotel Kaos
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Agrigento
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“some things average; some things good!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I would put this hotel in the 'good' category rather than my overall rating of 'average', but as the next category was 'very good' I could not quite bring myself to rate it as that.

As other posters have stated, the property is lovely and it boasts a nice pool and terrace. There is a large airy bar and good reception area. The staff mainly are very friendly, helpful and efficient. This part of the island is blighted by rubbish strewn by the sides of the road and has a somewhat scruffy appearance in comparison to the Taormina area. However, this hotel is beautifully clean and well presented.

Our room overlooked a courtyard area which was very pleasant, and we also had a view across to Agrigento. We had a small balcony with a cane chair. The hotel has clearly been built and added to at different times - as evidenced by framed photos on display - and rooms are on various levels. In the part where we were, there was no lift so it meant lugging suitcases up steps and small flights of steps.

The dining room is where the rating drops it, in my mind, to an average rather than very good category. We travelled in a tour, and groups were rather herded and directed quite peremptorily by the head waiter. Staff appeared to be under pressure and this was reflected in the service - not their fault, they just could have done with more help. The anti pasta buffet was very good, and the other courses were adequate. I think that sometimes tour guests do not appreciate that a deal has been struck with the hotel and the tour company and this is obviously reflected in more ordinary food.

Breakfast was OK. Fresh fruit would have added to the experience. The worst aspect of it was the watery fruit juice and awful coffee. We got into the habit of giving the coffee a miss and getting a very nice coffee whilst out.

A wedding celebration took place whilst we were there and apparently it impacted a bit on the rooms facing the terrace and pool area, where the firework display took place - this was enjoyed by many of us. The noise level was OK and it finished at a reasonable time. Our room was directly over the bar, but due to the good insulation, we were not aware of any noise at all.

Wi fi carries a charge - why do they do this? It did at least work in the room. But in this day and age tourists come to expect free Wi fi. In our family's experience, all the hotels in Germany provided a free service, as did hotels and B&Bs in the southern states of the US. Many in the UK are also coming round to this.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    349
    209
    115
    64
See reviews for
312
365
13
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

It's not easy to find this place. There's a break in the guard rail on the highway to get to a remote location in a residential area. But when you find it, it's beautiful. Large property. Huge pool. (Steps up or down to everything here) Check in not so smooth. We arrived at 1:00. The room wasn't ready and they offered us a room overlooking the loading dock (they shouldn't even have a room there). We declined and went sightseeing. When we came back at 4:30, our room still wasn't ready. We waited at the bar while they cleaned it. This room overlooked the parking lot and the sea in the distance. (the hotel is not near the beach) Breakfast (which ends at 9:30) was not very good. No fresh fruit (canned), the coffee (automatic coffee machine) needs improvement. We enjoyed pretty good coffee throughout Sicily during our three week visit, this was not very good (pretty bad actually). This was another place that charges 2 Euros for a pool towel. I can't figure out why anyone puts up with that. If things are that bad, shouldn't they add that fee to the room rate? Maybe it's me.

All that being said, the staff is very nice, the pool is beautiful (best we found in Sicily), the rooms are very modern (like an Ikea showroom) and the grounds are very nice and well maintained.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachDLT-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne And Wear
Level Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I'm sure the name might be a bit offputting to some but Kaos does not mean chaos!! This was a lovely hotel - stayed for 3 nights with Riviera Travel tour. Easy check-in organised by our tour manager.Lovely room - we were on the ground floor and had a huge patio where we could relax at night after being out all day touring the island. Nice bar with very good Sicilian wines and cold beers at good prices. We were half board and enjoyed the food - the desserts are to die for. Huge pool and pleasant gardens

Room Tip: Recommend a ground floor room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgeTyneandWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

As part of our honeymoon, my hubby and I took a road trip along the coast of Sicily. We left Taormina to see the ancient ruins of agrigento, and promptly got list trying to find this hotel. We pulled over several times to inquire how to find this hotel and eventually stumbled upon it. After checking in, the two front desk ladies, who were very pleasant, told us to park our rental across the street in the lot. This was not the most secure looking lot, but my husband did as he was told. We then lugged our own luggage (I was suprised we weren't offered assistance because we had large bags and every other hotel we stayed at in Sicily transported our bags for us) up two flights of stairs and found our room-modern, clean, but unable to open the windows. We had purchased the meal plan with our stay, so we thought we would go sit by the pool and have a drink before dinner. When we got downstairs we started to notice the hotel was VERY empty. We went to the bar to ask about the pool and waited about 20 min before anyone noticed that we (the only guests at the hotel) were waiting. We found out that the pool did not have a bar but we could take a drink outside. So we did just that and as we approached this gorgeous, huge pool we saw there was a thick later of scuzz on the top. That immediately made our choice as to whether or not we would be swimming. After fighting off bees by the greenish pool we thought it must be getting time to eat. So we venture over to the dining area and are told they can't open the doors yet so we should just wait outside. Thinking it could be that long if a wait, we wandered over to the bar only to find that the bar wasn't serving drinks because the bar tender was doing double duty as a waiter at dinner. Once we finally got to dinner, we were looking forward to some delicious Italian wine and some fresh fish. HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT! The wine was served in pitchers and we were told it was home made, but I've had better cheap bottles (2 buck chuck anyone?) than the cold red table wine they were serving here. An even BIGGER DISAPPOINTMENT was the fish was FROZEN! Why couldn't they have fresh fish?? Oh and we finally saw some other guests at dinner, but my husband and I were the only people in the room that were unable to join AARP. The two nights we stayed were equally as bad, but the icing on the cake was when my husband ordered a drink from the bar and pulled a petrophyed bee from his mouth after downing the last of his drink. In summary: property had the potential to be breathtaking if it was only better taken care of, the service was friendly but lacking the appropriate number of staff, and the food was HORRIBLE. I would never stay here again. Pay the extra cash and get a nice hotel, or just make Agrigento a quick day trip.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phisigsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agrigento hotels

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of a Riviera Travel holiday. The rooms were big and modern and spotlessly clean. The pool was massive and set in beautiful gardens. The food could do to be a bit better and there were very few choices for vegetarians - I had to ask and was offered either a cheese omelette (which didn't even taste very "cheesy") or caprese (mozzarella and tomato salad). However the puddings were very good! The hotel location is miles from anywhere but it is a good base to stay at if you are exploring the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Modern and light public spaces. Our room was modern and clean and recently completed/decorated. Very acceptable. Good bathroom with wet room. Floor of wet room is wood and water tended to pool and not drain well. Could be a problem but didn't seem to create any damp. No view from our room except of another hotel wing. Complicated tv system with a tuner handset and a tv handset. Got ours to work but other guests had problems.
The setting is wonderful on a cliff above clear blue water. Sadly, they seem to have run out of money when planning he garden and any space beyond that used by weddings is rough track and badly gardened. With a little more effort it could be outstanding. As it is the pool area and space between the hotel and th pool is excellent.
So why only "Very Good"? Well, as others have stated, it's the food (and the coffee). This was the first Italian hotel where I couldn't get a reasonable Americano style coffee, even when ordering carefully in Italian: surprising.
Restaurant: limited but satisfactory buffet in the evening. Antipasti is available from the buffet and a served course is available later at the table. It was ok but nothing special. Apart from limited choice there was nothing wrong, more choice would be helpful. Restaurant seemed clean and hygienic.
Paying for our Riviera tour was complicated. Long queue. Why? Big hotels normally manage but not here. An Italian speaker on his phone was allowed to jump the queue: I thought that was cheeky. British queuing is such an art!

Room Tip: Beware of rooms overlooking the bar area if you are a non smoker since your balcony will have smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Having looked at Tripadvisor reviews about this hotel prior to our tour with Riviera we were somewhat apprehensive. However, we were pleasantly surprised. We had specifically asked for a room with bath, but were shown into the newer part of the hotel, where there was a lovely, if compact, shower room but no bath. However, Reception quickly, and cheerfully, put this right, and we ended up in the older part of the hotel, in a pleasant room with bath. If you're expecting some authentic Italian/Sicilian food you'll be disappointed, but it was decent enough hotel fare, at tables for 4, in a very pleasant dining room - and there was no separate area for tour groups. Last year we were on a tour where there were rectangular tables for 10 or 12 - back to school! - so this was a distinct improvement. The hotel has lovely grounds, and a huge, most beautiful swimming pool, straight out of a film set - sadly it wasn't warm enough to use it, and neither did we have the time, but it looked amazing! The Reception staff were particularly helpful and cheerful, spoke excellent English, and if you needed help with cases you only had to ask. All in all I'd say it was a pretty good average, rather than a top 4-star hotel.

Room Tip: The newer part of the hotel has smarter rooms, with excellent, modern showers. However, the shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Poppy1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
4.6 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
5.0 mi away
Antica Perla Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 25 in Agrigento
1,657 reviews
1.1 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
2.1 mi away
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
#3 of 3 in San Leone
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blu Hotel Kaos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blu Hotel Kaos

Property: Blu Hotel Kaos
Address: via Giovanni Gentile 11, (Strada Statale 115, Km 185-186) | Contrada Cumbo Villaggio Luigi Pirandello, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Agrigento
#6 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#6 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Blu Hotel Kaos 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Blu Hotel Kaos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Agrigento
Best Western Kaos
Blu Hotel Kaos Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing