We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool area, clean,modern but somewhat impractical rooms. Average.”
Review of Blu Hotel Kaos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blu Hotel Kaos
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Agrigento
Burnley
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great pool area, clean,modern but somewhat impractical rooms. Average.”
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel benefits from it's advantageous position able to accommodate larger groups (we stayed as clients of Riviera) close to the archeological sites.
The core business would appear to be weddings and tour clients the "bread & butter". The food rates a generous "average" being repetitious re Antipasti, soups abysmal, mains passable but pasta dishes very good it has to be said. We stay ed in the new wing with a modern twist but the bathroom - designed on a wetroom style but on wooden slats???? Was impractical The shower was supposed to drain through a 3cm diameter hole but instead flooded throughout the bathroom and threatened to spill over into the bedroom! The bed was large king, clean and very comfortable as long as one likes a "firmish" bed. The pool area is beautiful, shallow and has lots of sunbeds. During my visit no bar was visible down in this area so drinks etc had to be carried down two flights of steps and on to pool area. The bar is ultra modern and inviting, service- very good. The seating is woeful! Yes....it looks the part but unless you lie flat whilst drinking it's pretty nigh on impossible to sit comfortably. Lastly, there is absolutely nowhere to go, even for a stroll, outside the hotel i.e. You are stranded.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirikiriroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    349
    208
    115
    64
See reviews for
312
364
13
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tadley, Hants
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed as part of a Riviera Travel coach tour on 29th Septmeber for 3 nights. I thought that the hotel was clean, comfortable and about what I would expect for a 3-4 star hotel.
Our main problem were the number of stairs everywhere. Also you didn't get help to take your suitcase up various flights of stairs. I think this could have been organised better.
We moved my 85 year old Dad to a different room so that he would only have a few stairs/steps to his room and could use the lift to get to the dining room.
There are 49 steps down an outside marble staircase to the pool. The pool is large and shallow to help the sun keep it warm. The water was cool but seemed clean although as someone has said there are some areas of green algae on the bottom in places. The pool was a relaxing place to spend an hour when back off our coach trip but yes you do need to take your own drinks with you (the pool bar is not manned, probably because its low season).
The food was OK. There was antipasta to start with (mainly a selection of cooked cold vegetables and salad). This was followed by a soup or pasta or rice starter and then a meat or fish course. For dessert you could help yourself to fruit or various cakes and pastries. Apart from the pea soup which as as previously described - a tin of peas in a soup bowl we thought the food was OK. We certainly didn't go hungry. The drinks from the bar were a bit expensive, the best value was 1/2 litre of beer for 5 euros. The blood orange juice at breakfast was gorgeous.
Don't be put off by the reviews unless you have difficulties with stairs. The staff were very helpful in getting dad moved to another room.
NB The instructions for the TV are in the hotel information folder. The only english channels are BBC news and CNN.

Room Tip: Only some rooms are accessible from the lift. If you find stairs difficult then ask for a room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LesleyBTadley_Hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is quite a nice hotel, located a few kilometers south west of Agrigento, Sicily. Quite new, nice rooms, good food. We were halfboard there.
The main problem - this hotel comprises of several buildings connected by multiple stairways and long corridors. Most of the rooms are not approachable by the single elevator in the hotel, so if you have heavy luggage this is a real problem, carrying heavy loads thru several stairways to reach a room located in an upper floor.
When we arrived in the late afternoon there was no luggage service available and we had to carry all our suitcases and bags to the room that was on an upper floor.
Also no Wi-Fi in the rooms - only in the lobby area and it is quite expensive.

Room Tip: Choose only rooms that are approachable by the single elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcarmi1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Kaos hotel at first looked beautiful but looking closer it seemed as if it had been neglected and tired. It was in the middle of nowhere and the staff had absolutely no interest in making your stay special in any way. The pool, which looked beautiful, had green slim on large sections of its floor. There was a bar area at the pool but it wasn’t staffed so you had to walk up numerous steps to try to find someone to serve you a drink. The meals they served were cold and tasteless. Far from 4 star!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agrigento hotels

Devizes
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Frankly, there is no incentive to stay in Agrigento for more than a couple of nights, as the temples are the only obvious local attraction. The town is a bit down at heel, and the view from my bedroom was of some of the many local factories, some not even functioning.
The pool is lovely, and the grounds extensive and full of olives, citrus, and colourful shrubs. The staff do not seem to care very much. In the new wing showers have woefully inadequate drainage, and you would think after picking up sopping bathmats week after week something would be done, but decking style bathroom floors showed evidence of regular flooding. Several people in our group could not get their safes to work, and the staff insisted 'you have to enter the number twice'. Yes, we had done that, but they still did not work and the promised maintenance man visit never happened. Food indifferent. Tinned fruit and dodgy coffee are so unnecessary in a country noted for good coffee and local fresh fruit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalind A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

A group of 6 friends recently stayed at the Kaos as part of a tour trip of Sicily. The hotel was clean, the part we stayed in needed a little Tlc but the pool was fabulous, ideal for non swimmers, children and swimmers of course. Food was just about okay, nice buffet starter, choice of other courses a bit limited so if you are a bit of a foodie then maybe not for you. Definitely need to be either here as part of a tour or have your own transport as very out of the way. No free wifi but do not expect it at this level of hotel. No lift so we had to haul our bags to the top floor - maybe if we had been independent travellers our bags would have been taken up for us. We found the staff to be pleasant and helpful and overall enjoyed our short stay at the Kaos.

Room Tip: Top floor balcony room means you are not overlooked by others. Might mean you have to carry your ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauragarrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Spent one night here. The rooms were definitely clean and on the modern side with the exception of the bathroom. The breakfast and dinner were fine with plenty to offer. However there is no free WIFI and the hotel is located in a really remote area with nothing at all around it. You are limited as to where you can it as a result. Would rate this hotel a 3 because I thought the staff were not quite as helpful as they should have been.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor were quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jb01091950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
4.6 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
5.0 mi away
Antica Perla Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 25 in Agrigento
1,656 reviews
1.1 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
2.1 mi away
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
#3 of 3 in San Leone
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blu Hotel Kaos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blu Hotel Kaos

Property: Blu Hotel Kaos
Address: via Giovanni Gentile 11, (Strada Statale 115, Km 185-186) | Contrada Cumbo Villaggio Luigi Pirandello, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Agrigento
#6 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#6 Family Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Blu Hotel Kaos 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Blu Hotel Kaos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Agrigento
Best Western Kaos
Blu Hotel Kaos Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing