We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,176)
Filter reviews
1,176 results
Traveller rating
308
419
242
129
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
419
242
129
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tennis courts card system huge swimming pool escorted tour riviera travel tour anti pasti stayed here for three nights sea view first floor small balcony modern hotel monreale palermo km museum olives francesco
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,176 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2017

My room was beautifully furnished and quiet. It had a small balcony that looked out over other parts of the hotel . The food was very good and the service excellent. The enormous grounds were mainly filled with Olive trees and a few other varieties including pomegranites. A very big swimming pool was popular with most of the guests. It is located close to the Valley of the Temples which was a most interesting excursion.

Room Tip: some of the rooms have recently been refurbished.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Kenneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Hotel was used as part of a Riviera tour of Sicily and is used by similar tour operators to the island - consequently there are large parties arriving on an almost continual basis to take advantage of its close proximity to the valley of the temples in nearby Agrigento (about 15 minutes away by coach).

The hotel is divided into a "classic" area (the original building) and a modern "contemporary" area where we were allocated a room. The room was modern, tastefully designed and had a fantastic rain shower as well as very efficient air conditioning (which from previous trips to Italy, came as a surprise!). A small patio area looked out onto the "classic" building (so not much of a view) but somewhere to sit in the evening to enjoy the late sunshine. The main road is close by and can be heard from the patio but not from the room when the doors were shut.

The pool is the real gem in the crown for this hotel, is surrounded by extensive gardens full of orange, olive and pomegranate trees, and looks directly out to sea. There are a couple of covered areas where you can escape the sun and enjoy a coffee/beer/cocktail from the extensive menu (there is a bar menu that has all of the prices listed so you can keep control of your spending). You are provided with a "blue card" that is used to purchase drinks from the bar and restaurant - each time it is used a paper receipt is handed over which details items purchased and provides a cumulative total so you can see just how much you've spent, something we found particularly useful. Usual story with the staff - speak in English and they are somewhat surly, speak in Italian and you'll get beaming smiles so make an effort!!

The restaurant food and service are poor. The variety of antipasti is good if a little bland. The second course and main course however are pretty awful. Some of the meat and vegetables taste as if they have come straight out of a tin. And beware...several times I had a piece of overcooked fish or tasteless meat served up with a single lettuce leaf so make sure you fill up on antipasti and bread! Soups are the best thing to go for on the menu and the desserts are varied and tasty. Bottled water has to be purchased to go with the meal. The cheapest bottle of red was available for 18 euros - you can keep the bottle for the following night should you so wish. Waiters were slow and took their time over taking drinks orders. If multiple tour groups descend on the dining hall at the same time then it is a real cattle market - just trying to get to the antipasti can be a painful experience and they don't top the dishes up regularly so there can be times when there's little left to choose from. Breakfast has plenty of variety with both continental and cooked available. I got really annoyed one morning when my wife and I turned up 5 minutes late and couldn't find a single table in our Riviera allocated "zone" (tour groups have to sit in predetermined areas) free to sit at - we tried to sit elsewhere, got told off, and then couldn't find any cutlery or crockery to use, eventually having to resort to rummaging among the "waste" on the uncleared tables to find unused items which was infuriating to say the least. Not exactly what you expect from a 4 star hotel.

The hotel's location is isolated so there's nowhere to walk to if you need to escape the crowds or if you want to get something different to eat. Grab yourself some extras in a supermarket if you can before arriving - you'll be pleased you did!

Room Tip: Most classic rooms have balconies and sea views. Contemporary rooms don't.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

The location of the hotel is isolated (Agregento is nice but doesn't have much nightlife, you can't walk to the beach from the hotel but it is close to the valley of the temples) so the hotel has to make up for this. The hotel is large, modern and well maintained. The bar are is soul less. Our room was large and had a large outside terrace but because of the layout about a third of the rooms don't have a sea view. The tv was small and there was no wifi (which was even patchy in reception). The restaurant was another large and soulless room Food was repetitive and just about acceptable. The buffet was fine but main courses were poor and we had the same three types of creamy cake deserts every night. Breakfast was also just ok with tinned fruit and watery juices. We left the precooked omelettes alone. Cleaning, repair and bar staff were all friendly and efficient. Front desk staff were happy to keep you waiting while they spent a lot of time in a little side office and were offhand when you wanted help - our tv wouldn't let us select channels but we were told to go back and try again, we didn't and the repair man found the satellite box was disconnected as an example. Waiting staff or the kitchen were disorganised as courses arrived at random intervals. I have rarely seen staff angle so blatantly for tips, including the 'head waiter' who only appeared at the end of the evening. He was pretty blunt with a number of guests telling one to go to reception when they asked what time breakfast started. Outside there are large terraces and a huge circular pool with shallow edges but a deep middle section, fine for adults who are swimmers. There was a lifeguard but we didn't see any signs indicating changes in depth so parents with children need to be careful. This could be a great hotel, the rooms and facilities are of a good 4* standard and many of the staff were friendly and efficient but it's let down by a restaurant and senior management who don't seem to understand what good service is.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SGNMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights as part of a Riviera Travel group booking.
The double room we had was modern and clean with a patio area.
The hotel is isolated but we were busy with trips during the day so that didn't matter for us. The huge plus was the pool area. Very lovely indeed.
The downside was the poor food - hardly any vegetarian choices even though we mixed and matched starters for mains. An omelette for dinner wasn't really what I had in mind for good food in Italy.
The bar area was a bit soulless, more akin to a canteen with a few tables dotted around.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank trippytoesScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We stayed here as part of a two centre stay. I had read beforehand that it was a bit isolated and that was tha case however, we had everything we needed.
Our room was modern with a comfy bed. The shower room is rather different with wooden latted flooring which wasn’t to my taste as it made a noise during the night when you got up. That said it was a nice shower!
The pool was just lovely, plenty of sun beds and it’s really big! It’s €2 to rent a towel.
We didn’t think the food was really good here the salad buffet was fine but the waiter service food was often too salty. The breakfast was ok mainly fruit or cereals and continental meats etc. It’s a very modern hotel with a spacious bar with a fab barman! We liked the card system for charging to your room.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JollyJane2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews