We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colleverde Park Hotel
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“A disappointment!”
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We were escorted up to our room (we had booked a standard room) on the 4th floor. Elevator to the 3rd, then up a narrow metal spiral stairway to a landing where there were two rooms. The poor porter had to carry our heavy wheeled bags, as they wouldn’t fit on the stairs. Our room was 402, a small room with an enormous terrace that was useless, although it had a distant view of some of the temples. The bathroom had no ventilation, only a small grid leading out to the terrace, but no fan to make it work. AVOID THIS ROOM (AND I ASSUME 401, NEXT DOOR) LIKE THE PLAGUE!

The next morning, after a very poor breakfast, we asked to be moved to another room and to stay an extra (third) night, both of which were granted by the reception staff, who were VERY HELPFUL IN EVERY WAY! Our new room was 222, a small room with a bathroom fan that would have awakened the dead. This hotel needs work! And the barking dog nearby and the wedding guests talking loudly under our window at midnight didn't help us sleep.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chandolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giacomos, proprietario at Colleverde Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2009
I'm sorry that our room “402” hasn't been appreciated. Usually this room is one of the rooms most appreciated from our guests for the tranquillity and the view. In truth we have two rooms 402 and 404 with 2 large terraces. Of course, if you do not use it, a terrace can 'be useless, but it can be very pleasant if it is used to catch the sun in summer, an aperitif in the afternoon, diner by candlelight or simply to enjoy probably one of the landscapes most 'beautiful of the city. It is true that these are the only 2 rooms on the fourth floor which is accessed by a staircase from the third floor but it is also true that baggage and all that our guest needs is increased by our staff. The bathrooms of these rooms are properly ventilated and does not require suction power. Other rooms have air exchange through aspirators connected to electric light bath. According to some American standard some of our rooms may seem small but the measures provided for are by Italian standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    444
    162
    55
    17
See reviews for
179
640
23
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

I was extremely selective with our accomodation in Sicily and used Trip Advisor as our predominant source of information. I had a suspicion that Colleverde would be just a view of the temples and so didn't expect much and literally a view of the temples was all I got, but then again I did specifically book a room with a view of temples. The air conditioning struggled and failed against the heat of July even with the shutters down over the windows making the point of a room with a view pointless. The level of service was bordering on Faulty Towers. Scrambled eggs lay congealing in the frying pan on top of the hot plate which had obviously been switched off at least an hour before. Salami etc sat sweating under a cover which had trapped a wasp and only the bravest soul would open. Waiters cleared tables irregularally and tossed the dirty plates and cutlery on a trolley far too near the table the breakfast items were displayed on. Fruit once fresh had obviously been sitting in the tray as long as the eggs in the pan and looked fit for only animal consumption. We avoided breakfast the second day.
The room was adequate but in desperate need of a renovation, and the lock on the door to the room was almost impossible to open. Tony is not a weak person but any stretch but he struggle to unlock the door on ever occasion. It got to the point we were actually counting down the number of times we needed to access the room. Thank God there were no fires in the building.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ree21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giacomos, proprietario at Colleverde Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2009
We always thank our guests for their comments because they help us at being better in what we do.
What leaves us a bit puzzled about this comment is the fact that the period of stay is June, but then they talk about the "heat of July". However, air conditiong is centralized in the hotel and, until today, we haven't had problems with air conditioning; obviously if the clients want to observe the panorama and open the windows, if there is too much hot outside, there is a dispersion of cold air.
Ham, salami, cheese are all covered to prevent flies and other insects to stand on top. Fruit is always fresh, we place it whole or sliced, in small bowls in order to reintegrate it frequently. Sometimes it may not be too pretty to look at because we prefer, whenever it's possible, to buy "biological fruit".
Rooms have been renovated lately.
If our guests informs us of any type of problem during their stay we do everything to solve it, but in order to do so we need to be informed. At the departure of our clients we always ask them to fill in a "customer satisfaction form" in order to know how was their stay and what things they would recommend to change or better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2009

This hotel advertises a view of the Valley of the Temples and a quiet, peaceful garden. The view is one temple miles away with a power plant! When we checked in there was a wedding in the garden area which closed the garden and restaurant to guests. The noise and music went on to 3:00 am. And that was only the first night! There were two more catered parties which closed the garden and restaurant while we were there and, of course, we could not sleep due to the noise. If you are looking for a view with peacefulness do no go to Colleverde Park Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WineC0untryTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giacomos, responsabile at Colleverde Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2009
Dear Sir,
We have read your comment and both, good and bad comments help us to better ourselves and the service we offer our clients. We want to clarify some points that you probably didn't notice: The hotel is located in an archaeological area and it's extremely close to the Church of San Nicola, Archaeological Museum and the Hellenistic-Roman Quarter, the area of the temples is closed to the traffic and it's 2km (a bit more than 1 mile) from the hotel. Some of our rooms, the terrace and the garden have a view on the Valley of the Temples; in our website and in many other websites in internet you can find pictures taken by guests that stayed at our hotel where you can see the view of the Temples from our hotel.
We regret that there was probably a communication problem, the garden is never closed to our guests; one day the restaurant was reserved, the other days the inside restaurant was regularly open. We regret that music did not make you sleep, however, windows have double glass for thermal and noise isolation, but we understand that a lot of people prefer fresh air to air conditioning, and that some people need absolute silence in order to rest at night.
Anyway, thanks to your comment, in the few cases that there is music in the garden, we have anticipated the hour to stop it.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
västerås
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2009

I liked very much this hotel because of the position and people working there. Beautful landscape and temple nearby... just half an hour walk.

I can advice to everyone going to sicily to make a stop in agrigento!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2009

Agrigento is not known for particularly good accommodations for the money. The archeological park attracts a number of large tour groups, especially bus tours, and the hotels tend to cater to them.

Folks expecting an authentic Sicilian experience will find a lot of the Agrigento hotels rather cheesy. The Colleverde Park Hotel fits the bill. It's clean, but the decor looks like a second rate Holiday Inn in the US midwest.

We especially enjoyed the clash of the decor: we could see the main temple from the park from our window, sitting in sharp contrast to the decal glued to the headboard of our bed, sporting a fake "bookshelf" with such titles as "Paintball II" and "The Video Game Expert." (photo attached).

The doors of the room are press board--a medium sized dog could run through one of them, although the Hotel is likely pretty safe given it's location.

It's a clean place to sleep, and an OK value for Agrigento. If you take the culture clash with a sense of humor, you'll be fine.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cheesy decor near a very significant piece of Western history
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank luv_big_cities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singio, proprietario at Colleverde Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2009
Dear Sir, We are sorry that you didn't find our hotel of your complete liking, still I feel obliged to point some things that you probably didn't notice due to your short stay. The classic taste decor of the room goes hand by hand with the style of the hotel that has chosen to have a familiar and cozy line with 19th century Sicilian furniture, Persian carpets and fine ceramics. I understand that this style may not please everyone, that some prefer a more modern style and differs completely from the American standard of hotels, but the purpose of our architect was that of make live our guest the spirit and the warmth of a rich Sicilian home. We wanted to differentiate the furniture of our rooms, some renovated in 2008 and many others ended in 2009. Some rooms have maintained a classic taste, otehrs a more modern taste without ever differing with the style of the hotel. The headboard of the bed you refer to was designed inserting as a decor a valuable wallpaper that reproduces a library; and no one before had said anything about the titles of the books. However we have renewed our website in order to render more visible the style of the hotel and the several types of rooms and their furniture. Agrigento, as all the art cities, is a goal both of individual tourist and group trips and we try to give the best of our welcomng to all of those who chose Agrigento as a destination for their holiday regardless of the type of trip they have chosen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2009

We stayed at the Colleverde Hotel for 3 nights, excellent time of the year. They organized a New Year's Eve Dinner and it was really lovely, well organized and we fell at home. The staff was really helpful, they answered to all our questions and suggested places to visit near Agrigento. The hotel also has a chat reservation system and it's really fast and easy. Great location, half way between the Valley of the Temples and the town. The hotel also has a wonderful garden where you can spend hours just sitting there or reading, or just enjoying a drink.

  • Liked — Welcoming, friendly staff, great location
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cmb25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2008

For this year, the Colleverde Park is the hotel closest to the Valley of the Temples and certain rooms (plus the romantic terrace) have an overview of the lighted temples at night. If you are only staying for a couple of nights, it pays to go for the deluxe rooms with a view. The rooms themselves are well-equipped, nicley styled and very clean. The bathrooms are up-to-date and sized well. The garden is spectacular. The desk people are accomodating and speak English well.

There is also an ample breakfast buffet, tho you might have to ask for eggs (they will be prepared freshly, in moderate bulk, for the side buffet table from time to time).

The location is convenient...between the ruins and the town, but you will probably need transportation to both, The hotel provides free parking and will advise you about parking at the major sights. Or, they will get you cab service.

  • Liked — Overall atmosphere and competence
  • Disliked — buffet coffee was not up to usual Italian standards, tho individually ordered coffee was fine
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ttowncraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
1.9 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 23 in Agrigento
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
0.2 mi away
Hotel della Valle
Hotel della Valle
#10 of 23 in Agrigento
787 reviews
4.6 mi away
Antica Perla Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colleverde Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colleverde Park Hotel

Property: Colleverde Park Hotel
Address: Panoramica dei Templi, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#5 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#8 Family Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Colleverde Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a lush park overlooking the Valley of the Temples and the sea, the Colleverde Park Hotel welcomes guests with a calm and elegant atmosphere. Just a few minutes from the historic centre and the archaeological area, and only 6 km from the beaches. Colleverde Park Hotel is a place where one can contemplate a landscape that embraces nature, sea and culture. Immersed in a lush park overlooking the Valley of the Temples and the sea, the Colleverde Park Hotel is ready to welcome you into its calm and elegant atmosphere. This historic dependance of the first Jolly Hotel of Agrigento was bought and renovated by the Sinatra family and over the years has become the Colleverde Park Hotel; a modern and comfortable four star hotel successfully combining the traditional tastes and the advantages of innovation. The cozy and elegant hall, embellished by fine 19th Century Sicilian ceramics and furniture offers a Wi-Fi area for high speed wireless internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Colleverde Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colleverde Park Agrigento
Hotel Colleverde Park
Colleverde Park Hotel Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing