We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience - from a gem of an innkeeper”
Review of Fattoria Mose

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agrigento
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fattoria Mose
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience - from a gem of an innkeeper”
Reviewed 3 December 2010

My wife and I stayed here - with Chiara, the wonderful owner/innkeeper - for 2 nights in October. Although we'd never been there before, it felt like home. She treated us like family. The estate itself is a rambling working farm, with 500 year old olive trees, a handful of dogs and cats, and stories of history behind every corner. The food was amazing - there is no reason to eat anywhere else. The only negative was that our bed was quite uncomfortable - more like a slightly supportive cot than a mattress. But, for the price and all of the other good things, that was just fine.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NRoePDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    31
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
37
90
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

There are rooms in the 18th century manor house - the communal rooms are huge with 12 foot high ceilings and lovely old furniture. Breakfast is served here on an immense table. We didn't see the rooms though as we elected to stay in a self-catering apartment in the converted stable block - private terrace and shared barbecue area. Immaculately kept. Well-equipped kitchen with stove and oven. Chiara (the owner) and Sergio were charming. 10 minutes drive to the Vally of the Temples. Only down side is that it is a working estate so there are animals around and they don't always stay quiet at night.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annikins212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2010

We stayed only one night during our visit to Agrigento and it was a pity we could not stay any longer.
The hotel, or farm actually, is an oase nearby the temples, but far enough from commercial or ugly new Agrigento... the perfect place with friendly people, a huge garden, even a small swimming pool... Not the luxury or the comfort of a modern hotel, but exactly what you need in Sicily. The (old) house is enormous and in good shape. We had a room on the first floor in the main house: large, comfortable, quiet, with a seperate smaller room and a bathroom.
The friendly hostess speaks English and French

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan_Gent_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
232 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We stayed for only one night in this very nice B&B. The location is perfect, with gardens, trees and views. Our rooms were spacious, well kept, good beds. We ate (too much) with the owner and some other guests, which added to feeling welcome and well tended.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan_Lelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2009

When planning our trip to Sicily it became evident that we were going a long way and not spending nearly enough time. When we travel, we are less concerned with the posh nature of the accommodations and place a greater emphasis on gaining an insight into the people and culture. You can get a great hotel room anywhere, but there is only one Chiara and Sergio.

We began our trip with a day in Catania and then drove to Siracusa for a couple of days on the ocean and then to Agrigento for a couple of days at Frattoria Mose. I was drawn to Frattoria Mose after learning that the farm had been in the family for 200 years and by the warmth shown by Chiara and Sergio as described by many of their guests. It seemed that this would be a great place to get to know some of the local people and to witness their way of life.

When we arrived, we were immediately greeted by Chiara, Sergio, numerous dogs and 5 puppies. When I saw the expression on my girlfriend's face when she saw the puppies, I knew I had chosen well. This feeling was confirmed when Sergio offered us a variety of drinks and almonds shortly after we arrived.

We stayed in the farm house and our room was large and comfortable in keeping with a farm house rather than the Four Seasons, the view was beautiful and we settled in quickly. We did a quick tour of the grounds and were shown a few of the small apartments at the villa where we could easily see ourselves spending a weekend with friends if we lived closer.

After the tour, Michele spent a while playing with the puppies while Sergio and I began a very enjoyable chat on the politics and people of Sicily. It was all very relaxing and peaceful. We did go see the valley of the temples and had dinner at a local restaurant recommended by Chiara which certainly lived up to expectations as we had a beautiful view of the temples lit up across the valley.

The next morning we enjoyed a simple breakfast on the balcony overlooking the fields. Although we visited in early May, we were still able to enjoy a swim in the pool while we were there.

The highlight of our stay was the cooking lesson given by Chiara and dinner with her and her Mom. Standing by the stove, drinking a glass of wine, chatting about the food, the farm and its history and the area was just what we had been looking for when we booked at Fattoria Mose.

All I can say was we had a great time, enjoyed our stay, it was very clean if not modern posh and considered it a good value. I am sure you will enjoy a visit.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcubes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

We stayed for just one night at Fattoria Mose and enjoyed it very much. My husband and I, traveling with our 21-year old niece, had one of the small apartments and it was quiet and spacious. It was not that well-appointed (very basic mis-matched furniture) but we had a terrace out back with a nice view. It was a hot day and we were greeted with a cold beer by our pleasant hosts. The dinner that evening (which was served outside) was good 'home-cooking' and we enjoyed conversation with the family. Highlight for me was trying white mulberries for the first time (I did not know they even existed) and chatting with our hosts about our plans for the rest of our stay in Sicily. Breakfast the next day was quite good. Proximity to the Greek ruins is the main reason to stay here. The only negative: I feel the expense is a bit much given that the accommodations are basic -- for the three of us it was 150 euro a night for the apartment and another 75 euro for a simple supper. We had other accommodations during our travels in Sicily that were more reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeattleBinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
168 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We rated this second of the three "agriturismo" places we stayed at on our recent tour of Sicily. We stayed three nights and were very happy with our choice. The location is ideal - out of town, so relatively quiet (but see below!), yet convenient for the Valle dei Templi (assuming you have a car). We had dinner with the owner and her mother the evening we arrived. We were the only guests that night and enjoyed a truly family atmosphere and an excellent meal. There is no choice, so it is important that you tell them of any dietary requirements of preferences when you book. Our meal consisted of a variety of Sicilian specialities, with the main course chicken in marsala accompanied by filo parcels. At only 22 euros each, it was superb value. We had an apartment rather than a room (this was not expected), so there was no servicing of the room and no change of towels during our three-night stay. Both the living room and the bedroom were very spacious and the apartment had its own private terrace at the back. The only complaint we have about the room is the lack of air conditioning (there is a ceiling fan in the bedroom). We tried leaving the window open, but were disturbed from time to time by the barking of the owner's six dogs. In addition to the dogs, there are about a dozen cats, so if you have any allergies in this direction, take care! Others have criticized the beds for being too hard, and I have to agree with this (though we did not suffer any lasting ill effects). We felt the price of 96 euros a night was a little high, but then we did have an apartment rather than just a room.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ceiniog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
2.9 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 25 in Agrigento
1,657 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
2.3 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 25 in Agrigento
1,162 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Concordia
Villa Concordia
#3 of 213 in Agrigento
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria Mose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Mose

Property: Fattoria Mose
Address: Via Mattia Pascal 4 | Villaggio Mose, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Agrigento
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mose farm is 4 kilometers from the Valley of Temples in Agrigento and 3 kilometers from the sea. On our organic farm we produce oranges, almonds, pistachios, fruit and vegetables, wheat and extra virgin olive oil in a very old olive's wood. The same family has ruled the farm from the 18th century and in 1995 it was open to hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fattoria Mose Agrigento, Sicily
Fattoria Mose Hotel Agrigento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing