We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to write home about”
Review of Hotel Amici

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Amici
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Reviewed 13 August 2007

When we were in Agrigento the local paper had a front page article about the decline of tourists the town is attracting. And to be honest I can understand that. The superb ruins are off course worth a visit, but the beach area a few kilometers from the city is not as wonderful as many other beach areas in Sicily. The old town itself has some charms but at least the same amount of traps. We had big difficulties in finding the gems. The same goes for hotels. There are some supposedly nice hotels close to the ruins but that means missing out on the nightlife in the town, and for my wife and me that's half the stay wherever we go.
Hotel Amici was one of few hotels in the middle of the city. Staff was helpful and very nice. Rooms were clean. We were surprised when we even had a balcony (not much view though). The hotel is in need of general refurbishment but there isn't anything wrong the furniture, it's just that it looks old. We paid 75 Euro per night so price compared to what we got wasn't all bad. Breakfast? Yes, but not good. We dropped it for the second day of our stay.
A little tip, we saw some really nice B&B's in the old town. Modern furnishing, good prices and even views. If I had to visit Agrigento again I think that would be the value for money bet.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jumper71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2007

This was a nice and friendly hotel, I would recommend to my friends. Don't expect anything fancy, but a clean and well-maintained hotel, for a few nights' visiting.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mariath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2007

We were only staying one night to go to agrigento - the staff were very friendly, however the rooms themselves, despite clean are nothing to write home about. It is good value for what it is but I wouldn't want to stay more than 1/2 days

Stayed: June 2007
Thank AJB07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2007

We stayed for 2 nights in our self-drive tour of Sicily, so we could have a full day to see the excellent Greek ruins, and the very interesting Archeological Museum.

This hotel cost half the price of the other hotels we stayed at (all 3/4 star), and was excellent value for money.

The room was large, clean, if a bit spartan, with an excellent bathroom (shower only), though the bed was perhaps older than in the other hotels. We also had a small balcony with a view over the rooftops to the sea (though I couldn't see the temples lit up at night as I had hoped to - the roofs were in the way).

The hotel was very central, round the corner to the station, and only 5 minutes walk to Via Atenea, the "corso" which is in theory pedestrian-only in the evenings (though cars & Vespas do also use it), where all the shops and restaurants are.

People have said they got lost finding it, but the hotel emailed to me directions for doing so, and armed with our Litografia Artistica Cartografica map of Agrigento (from Stanfords in London) we had no problems. The hotel has free off-road parking, which we appreciated.

The only problem was there was no sound proofing, and you can hear people talking in the bar/other rooms in the evenings. Otherwise, an excellent hotel, especially for the money (only 75 Euros a night for the room & ok breakfast).

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank worldtraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2007

Hotel Amici is very conveniently located near the train station and the bus stop. Rooms are very clean with all amenities, and there are nice views from the room balcony. It is less than a 5 minute walk away from the main street. The hotel staff was very helpful in meeting our needs. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank KevinSt.Catharines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2006

We booked the hotel by telephone the night before, choosing it from the Rough Guide for the price, location and the fact it had a carpark. We drove to Agrigento from Selinunte in the morning, looked at half the archaeological site, then checked into the hotel early afternoon before going back for the other half of the site - that worked out quite well.

However like another reviewer we found the hotel a litte hard to get to because of the one-way system (some of the streets had also been closed off when we arrived). We parked up the road and walked to the hotel to ask for instructions, but the rather morose-seeming (and non-English speaking) desk clerk who was on duty didn't seem inclined to give us any; he claimed there was no problem! Not for him, perhaps. Eventually my clever other half worked out how to get there for himself by driving part-way back down the hill and up again.

Apart from that the hotel was fine and good value for money. We had a large comfortable room - more of a suite really. Generally I liked the location - just outside the old part of the city so you can easily walk up into it to explore and have dinner. Incidentally it was just the one clerk who seemed so depressed - the other staff were friendly, and some spoke English too.

It's not about the hotel but I have to disagree strongly with the reviewer who was unimpressed with the archaeological site. OK, the so-called temple of Concord, which is currently being restored, has scaffolding and a rather unattractive hoarding at one end, but it looks fine from the other end (and is very well preserved because of having been used as church for many centuries). The temple of Hera is also in fairly good nick. In the other part of the site, the temple of Zeus is admittedly in ruins but still impressive because it's so huge, and very evocative in my opinion.

There are many other interesting remains to explore (including a huge complex of paleaoChristian rock-cut tombs inside the ancient city walls), an excellent site museum, and as a bonus a beautiful mediaeval garden that has been restored by the Italian national trust equivalent.

With the unpleasant modern development that surrounds Agrigento this one doesn't have such an attractive setting as some of the other W. Sicilian sites, but the buildings and finds are extraordinary.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank AlisonCl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2006

The hotel: nondescript. Located off the main railway terminal square above a garage (the hotel is on a hill so its still on the first floor). The room was uninspired motel running off one long corridor, clean but lacking in any character. The view from the little balcony again totally nondescript. The front desk: weird. Arriving after noon dusty and tired at a hotel that seemed basically unoccupied we were told it would take over an hour to prepare our room. Only after we registered surprise was it done in fact in less than 20 minutes. Why it hadn't been done before or why other rooms weren't available is anyone's guess. Weirder still was the town. First, if you're stopping over to see the much touted Valley of the Temples - like we were - you will be severely disappointed. Compared to Herculaneum and Paestum and excepting one temple which was under wraps being "renovated", this was basically a pile of rocks - literally as well as figuratively. Very disappointing and for these travellers not worth our valuable time and money for the stop over. Whoever does the tourist marketing for Agrigento has done an excellent con job. The pictures in the guide books are pretty but very very deceptive. Next comes the restaurants of Agrigento. You don't usually link bad food or service with Italy -until you arrive in Agrigento. We had to walk out of two restaurants because they were so badly organized we wouldn't have been fed until the next day. Unfortunately the third restaurant we found managed to serve seriously burned pizza with no attempt, again, at service. Burned pizza in Italy - that has to be an oxymoron? The the banks. Can all the computers be nonfunctioning at the same time in the same town when you try to cash a travellers cheque? And why the need for a computer. So after trying several banks and getting different run arounds why they wouldn't/couldn't cash the cheque we gave up Then the busses. We travelled to the Valley by bus. No problem. Along the way back we visited the regional museum - very nice. Now, the challenge: try to find a bus stop to take you back into town. We stood at what we were told by the museum was a bus stop. Result: a bus driver pointing down the street as he whizzed by. Found another bus stop (or so we thought). Result: another pointing finger as yet another bus whizzed by. No courtesy to stop. No courtesy in recognizing that their bus stops had been totally vandalized and weren't there any more!. Only after trudging half way home did we encounter a collection of people waiting for a bus at a non-existent bus stop (to our eyes) did a bus - reluctantly - stop. But that seemed to represent the place. All marketing but nothing of quality underneath. Conclusion: don't waste your time unless you're driving and have a couple of hours in transit to waste. But don't bother to stay there. We missed breakfast at the hotel since we wanted to get out of this place as soon as the train schedule would permit. The reaction of the surly front desk when we told him we didn't want breakfast: a silly smirk as if he understood why. That seemed to represent very nicely Agrigento and Hotel Amici.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank canontnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
3 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Viale
Hotel del Viale
#18 of 23 in Agrigento
202 reviews
0.8 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lerux Guest House
Lerux Guest House
#15 of 23 in Agrigento
35 reviews
5.4 mi away
Antica Perla Residence Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 23 in Agrigento
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amici

Address: Acrone, 5, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amici 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Amici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amici Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Amici Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing