We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, views and a great night's sleep” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camera con Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Camera con Vista
Ranked #91 of 201 Agrigento B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
336 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Location, views and a great night's sleep”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We chose on of the huge upper floor rooms with a great balcony and lovely views across open countryside to the sea one way and the ridge with the valley of the temples the other way. Sit on your balcony in the evening and gaze at the beauty of the ancient temples so beautifully illuminated! Situated across the road from the main car park, you can walk into the archaeological zone, leaving your car at the guest house parking area. Spotlessly clean, great shower and bathroom. Comfortable beds and absolute peace at night gave us a great night's sleep and the excellent breakfast fuelled us up for a day exploring the ruins. Nello and his staff were charming and friendly. We would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Worth paying the small amount extra for one of the top floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank galloping_grannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    74
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
135
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Nello is a welcoming host, friendly and extremely helpful. Our room was large with big en suite and a large terrace on two aspects with good views to the temples. We walked to the temples and the museum, which is well worth a visit, it was great to park the car and not use it until we checked out. Nello offered us a 'simple' pasta dinner which we accepted and was very tasty. Not at all simple and his own delicious recipe followed by the best granita we tasted in Sicily. We also used his tour guide recommendation, Enzo who was very knowledgable and explained things in an easily understandable and enthusiastic manner. Would definitely recommend this B and B for Agrigento, easy to find, clean and decorated with lots of Nello's artworks. This was a highlight of our Sicily holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

As has already been pointed out, Camera con Vista is just across from the lower parking lot for the Valle dei Templi. Tip: The easy way to visit the temples is to take a taxi (2€/person) from the parking lot to the upper end of the "valley" (It's really a ridge...) and walk back. That way you are walking downhill, plus you only have a 5-minute walk back to the hotel at the end.

From the hotel itself, you have a nice, although rather distant, view of the "valley". It is wonderful to watch it at different times of day. We saw it in shade, sunlight, clouds and ... mist! Beautiful. The rooms are spacious, clean, bright and airy. And breakfast is delicious.

But the real prize here is the owner/manager, Nello. Nello is receptionist, chef de cuisine, guide, painter, woodworker (He made much of the furniture in the lobby.), plumber and a d**n nice guy. On our arrival, he offered us home-made antipasti which were delicious and almost constituted a meal. Another time, when we were tired, he made us a delicious salad with all sorts of goodies in it. (I think it cost us 2€ apiece.) Nello is also also a philosopher, offering aphorisms (from I know not what source) as they were pertinent. My favorite was "L'homme s'adapte; la femme se plaint." ("Man adapts; woman complains.")

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joneall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

I chose Camera con Vista based on the location so I could see the temples at night. The views were quite good. The location is very convenient, but not terribly scenic because it's across the street from the lower parking lot for the Valle dei Templi. I also chose it because of the glowing reviews of Antonello the owner. All true. Antonello is a charming man, eager to help, serves a great breakfast on the very nice terrace. Great to have private parking available here as I had a car.

Unfortunately, my room was a bit beat up with black luggage marks on the walls. This I can understand and overlook, but I was completely grossed out by the bedding when I got ready to turn in. The bedspread was stained. OK, pull it back and sleep, I'm exhausted. When I saw the blood stained pillow, I was nearly sick. I've never had an experience like that before. Lucky for me the other pillow was ok. Sorry, I would steer clear of this B&B. This was the only bad experience of a 3 week trip with 10 different lodgings.

Room Tip: My room was Gea, on the ground floor. Some noise from the kitchen and front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Spello2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

The building is really very well locate (5 out of 5) just a few minutes from the Temples by car. The building itself is not at all
beautiful (2 out of 5) and it is just besides a little hospital and in front of a big parking. Nevertheless, the owner Nello is very funny, he welcomed us very warmly. The room was quite big and clean and so was the bathroom. The view on the Temples is great especially at night time because of some orange lights. The breakfast is not a standard one, personally I loved it (a ham and cheese sandwich with sweetie bread, a croissant with ricotta and another with pistacchio). In my opinion, it is better to stay here then in downtown which is not that amazing.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aubonne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

The Camera con Vista truly is a “room with a view” – from the expansive balcony one looks across at nearly the whole range of the Valley of the Temples, the seaward entrance to which is not more than 10 minutes’ walk. The small B+B is run by two very friendly and English-speaking gentlemen, the rooms and lobby/salon are large, attractive and clean, the breakfast is good, and there is a fine terrace more suitable to warmer weather than when we visited. It’s on the seaward side of the Temples ridge and isolated from the city of Agrigento, so, whilst it’s easily accessible by car, that might not be the case without one. There is a restaurant quite near which didn’t please us very much, as it seemed more suited to tourist coach groups, but surely there are good places closer to the city a quarter of an hour’s drive away.

Room Tip: If not all rooms face the Valley of the Temples, it would be good to specify that you would like tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Like us, you might not want to stay at a roadside tour group hotel. Nor do you want to hassle with staying in some tiny room in the pedestrian-only town, far from the main attraction of Agrigento - the temples! And wow, can you see them! Three in a row, lit at night. My husband was fulfulled simply drinking a bottle of wine on the terrace rather than walking the 2 km. to get closer. This is also the perfect option for drivers - no parking hassles.
Not my first time in Agrigento. I know what is available and I would stay here again in a heartbeat.
Paula

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
1.2 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#5 of 25 in Agrigento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.8 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
0.6 mi away
Valle Dei Templi Concordia
Valle Dei Templi Concordia
#53 of 201 in Agrigento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
B&B Villa San Marco
B&B Villa San Marco
#10 of 201 in Agrigento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa La Lumia B&B
Villa La Lumia B&B
#5 of 201 in Agrigento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.7 mi away
B&B VillaSeta
B&B VillaSeta
#4 of 201 in Agrigento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camera con Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camera con Vista

Property: Camera con Vista
Address: Contrada Bennici 4 | Valle dei Templi, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 201 B&Bs / Inns in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Camera con Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room with a View is at 200 mt. from the entrance of The Archaeological Site of The Valley of the Temples, part of the World Heritage List since '98. We are very close to the house where the Nobel Prize writer Luigi Pirandello was born and the Kolymbetra Garden, one of the treasures of the Italian Environment Foundation (F.A.I.). The hotel has private parking for guests, free of charge, within the perimeter of the villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Camera con Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camera Con Vista Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing