We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good location, staff try hard to help.”
Review of Hotel del Viale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel del Viale
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Agrigento
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, good location, staff try hard to help.”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Good location, near bus and rail stations - don't be fleeced for €10 by a taxi (unless you have heavy bags!), it's a 10min walk from main bus station. Our room was clean and newly furnished, breakfast was pleasant (classic continental, staff happy to top up coffee cups). Bit of nocturnal noise from nearby bar but not a major issue. Lack of English seems a widespread problem in Sicily but staff tried hard to help, were friendly and used initiative. Would absolutely use again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    53
    48
    21
    16
See reviews for
30
73
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The hotel is in a good central location from most of the sites you need in Agrigento (quite short driving distance from Valley of Temples and the old town).
The room was standard with nice large bed. The hotel has no view at all but it did not bother us. The only shortcoming was the sound - you can hear the noise from the cleaning rooms in the morning.
Breakfast quite OK.
If you need a hairdryer - ask in the reception.
You can also park a car with no charge next to the hotel. We had to park on the street first and then asked the hotel lady to show us where to park near the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
297 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed for a night in October. The hotel was easy to find, an older lady working in reception was very nice and helpful. The room was nice, breakfast ok. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kleopetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The hotel is within walking distance from the train station/bus stop for Valley of the Temples. We did not receive a room with a view of the private garden booked and had construction going on in the room next door. Mediocre breakfast is served in the lobby, which feels crammed and a little uncomfortable. We stayed only one night, which was good because I woke up to a welcome reception by a cockroach.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
Thank pthft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agrigento hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Agrigento should not be missed while travelling around Sicily. This hotel is very convenient for the bus station, centre of town and access to the Valley of the Temples. It is clean and is great value with friendly reception staff. However, the hotel rooms are very tired and the walls paper-thin with windows opening onto a central airwell, making them very noisy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

It is a bit difficult to find - keep walking along the boulevard and just before a little square with a play area you will see some signs to the hotel. By the way, keep walking along the boulevard to find a very nice tea/coffee/pastries/ice cream place.

The receptionist was very friendly, and immediately, without being asked, provided a map and started to show us bus stops, explaining how to get to the ruins, etc. Good that my partner speaks fluent Spanish and I learned some basic Italian before our trip, which has come in very useful!

The hotel itself is in dire need of refurbishment - dated, old; boy does it need new carpets and new bathroom interiors. Also, we had booked a double or twin bedroom with courtyard view: we got a twin bedroom where one of the beds was a very uncomfortable folding bed; I've never come across that before. And the courtyard view: there was a building about 3 metres across from the hotel and that was our view.

Having said that, it was clean, and after our evening stroll/dinner we came back to find a bottle of wine and 2 glasses in our room - nice touch.

If you are travelling by bus - which is a great way to see the island, by the way - and you need to go to Siracusa: you can get a ticket from Agrigento to Catania, then you must buy another ticket from a different bus company to get from Catania to Siracusa. Be very very sure to ask for the last possible connection there as you dont' want to get stuck in Catania.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

This hotel is in a great location – literally minutes from Agrigento town centre. It’s tricky to find, with tight parking, but locals are very friendly and can direct you. It’s about a 10 min drive from the hotel to the ruins in Agrigento.

The hotel is small, and the reception speaks on Italian and French. Staff are very warm and friendly.

On the hotel: basic but clean rooms, clean bathrooms with 700W hairdryer, TV. There are no English channels – only MTV Italia, where some shows are in English. There was no computer on which to check internet at the hotel. Breakfast is very limited – hot drinks, and 4 varieties of bread.

Agrigento town is great – cute, vibrant, safe. Great little restaurants snaking up outdoor stairs, and cobbled streets. Combined with the ruins, it’s a good place to pass 1-2 days (note that ruins can be seen in one afternoon as they are all on one small site).

A note that the best way around Sicily mainland is by car – in 2 weeks no the island, we barely saw any buses. The exception is the Aeolian islands, where buses are pretty regular. And pack your Italian phrasebook! English is not spoken widely.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CompulsiveReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
3.1 mi away
Hotel Tre Torri
Hotel Tre Torri
#14 of 25 in Agrigento
284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel della Valle
Hotel della Valle
#10 of 25 in Agrigento
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Kore Hotel
Kore Hotel
#1 of 1 in Villaggio Mose
347 reviews
5.2 mi away
Antica Perla Residence Hotel
0.7 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 25 in Agrigento
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Viale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Viale

Property: Hotel del Viale
Address: Via del Piave 19, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Viale 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel del Viale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Viale Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing