We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mandranova

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agrigento
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mandranova
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding ”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I, along with our 1 year old son have just spent 5 very memorable nights in the hospitality of Silvia and Giuseppe. The setting, quality of the rooms and above all the food and wine could not be faulted. We met some fantastic people passing through and have taken away a real insight into sicilian cuisine, hospitality and olive oil production! We used this as a great base to explore southern sicily, returning each evening for a dip in the pool before the feast that Silvia had prepared.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    28
    13
    11
    7
See reviews for
40
122
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Incredibly welcoming and elegant host and hostess made it feel like we were visiting family in the area. The setting is stunning and the whole development has been beautifully designed to create an elegant and comfortable series of buildings/ spaces. The dining room will remain as one of the absolute highlights of our whole holiday. Exceptional local cooking - the hostess is in charge in the kitchen. Fantastic walks in the grounds.

An utterly classy joint - cant wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxylady15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Can't think of a negative about the mandranova. Situated amongst olive groves this multi generation farm stay is very special. The accommodation is spacious and luxuriously fitted out. The area peaceful and tranquil and the food is outstanding. The breakfast selection growns on the farmhouse table - from the freshly squeezed blood orange juice to the just baked cake and excellent bread. The (optional) dinners we ate we're made from the freshest seasonally available ingredients - our best meals in Sicily.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidandjenny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
144 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Let me explain. First of all, it was our first time in an agriturismo, we travelled a lot but had not experienced this sort of hotel before. We chosed it because it sounded like the real sicilian experience. We did not know what to expect. Traveling as a family we booked the suite with2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms, located in the main building. the room was beautifully finished and decorated. with sky tv! although I understand from the other guests not all rooms have tvs. The Main buildng is very nice, with lovely stone floors, lovely furniture, tvroom, pool room. We have not seen the other buildings but people we met were extremely happy with their rooms. We could hear the noise from the road only once outside. It is not a high tech hotel, or super modern one, it has a traditional feel without feeling old fashioned, it is rustic but in the good sene of the term ie decorated wih style and nicely finished.

We stayed 3 nights. Silvia ran a cookng class for me and the children and it was wonderful. The hosts are soft spoken and kind and they were so patient with the children, we made some fresh pasta and chocolate refrigerated cake. What people cook during the classes is then served at lunch or dinner. All produce is fresh and Silvia cooks everyday!
The pool area is small but absolutly charming (stone pool walls). You have to drive through the olive trees (on a road) to get from the gate to the hotel and walk through them too to get to the pool.
We also asked if there was some horse riding the kids could do. Silvia knew of one place but advised and booked for us an educative farm with a donkey. It was simple but our children are 4 and 6 so it was enough for them. They saw a range of animals, milk the gaot and rode on a small donkey. a fun day really!
We tried to make the most of it and on the last day we booked the boat tour. The boat is very nice - one of these faster ones- there were 3 couples and our family that day. They served us again very nice food. The tour in itself is not spectacular, you swim, you dive. but it was more the whole experience of the tour and the people we enjoyed, we had great fun again.

I can see that some people may feel uneasy. The reason for that is I believe that as people arrive, they meet people who have been there for already 1 night sometimes 5 and the other people know each other of sort. So it creates a strange feeling the first day but believe me if you play the game of chatting wih the others, you will feel the full benefit of Mandranova. Giuseppe tries to help you by connecting to the new comers every evening. You see,during the day you go about your business, visits, beach whatever. towards the end of the afternoon, you may see people around the pool, then around I think 8pm eveyone gathers for dinner outside. People have a drink before hand sitting on some sofas and chairs then move to tables set up by family/couples but its free sitting. The tables are aligned in a couple of rows far enough from each other than you can speak to your family only but close enough to your neighbourgs to start a chat. We met lovely people.
There were not many famiies with young children when we were there but we never felt akward and people really welcomed the children. SIlvia always asked us whether we wanted to have the children eating at the same time as us or before. The first night we dined together as this was normal to us, but after seeing what the first night was like, nice wine, nice people and nice food, we decided to have them eat before and put them to bed before we ate. Having the room just in front of our eyes helped and also we felt dinner was a bit late for them.

so in summary, we keep very fond memories of MAndranova. We have made some friends ther with whom we have kept i contact. A lovely place to stay if you let your hair down!
Thank you Giuseppe and Silvia

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kald06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

We actually chose to stay here because of a bottle of olive oil. We happened to buy a bottle of Mandranova's oil in the fabulous Eataly Italian food emporium on Madison Square in New York, and it is one of the better olive oils we've ever had. So when we planned a trip to Sicily, we noticed they ran the estate as an "Agriturismo" hotel, conveniently located to break driving along the south coast. It was a very good move. In the end, we wished we had stayed much longer.
It is a little hard to find. The estate is well signposted as you come off the bridge over the main road, but for some reason the final gate off the public road into the property itself is NOT marked. Look for a prominent gate structure with a large rolling metal gate.
Once inside, the estate is sprawling and beautiful, clearly a labor of love for the very friendly owner, a retired Italian banker, and his wife. The highlight was the evening meal, where the owner bounced around the room with sheer pride and justified pleasure at the simple but wonderful food.
One caution: don't let them keep your passport at check-in for more than a few minutes. We found they were just a little careless if left to keep them any longer. Also, wifi is limited to a slow connection for about half an hour in the mornings. You'll have to check your email quickly.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank WB2260763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed at Mandranova for 2 nights as part of an 8 day Sicilian holiday.

After our previous hotel, the bedroom looked very stark when we first arrived in the fading daylight as it was furnished quite minimally and in a modern style. However, it was comfortable and in the daylight, seemed much brighter. The friendliness of the owners and atmosphere in the dining room at meal times more than made up for this.

Although the evening meal was a set menu, we found the food to be of very good quality, plentiful and my husband was particularly impressed with being able to have seconds! The olive oil produced at the farm was wonderful and the wines available were really good quality.

On our first evening, we had a table to ourselves but on the second night had to share the large dining table. However, this was really sociable with guests from Belgium, the Netherlands, Canada and Britain.

Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice and it was easily possible to eat enough to keep you going until the evening meal.

Don't miss the opportunity to look around the olive farm and processing plant - and take some olive oil home!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed at Mandranova for a weekend. The property and the setting is beautiful and very romantic. The rooms are large and more upscale than your average agroturismo and the location near to the road was barely noticeable. Silvia was a lovely and helpful host.

This would be a five star review if the food was better. Maybe she was catering to the tastes of the mostly British families staying, but the meals (aside from breakfast) were very disappointing. On the other hand they have good wine list and the olive oil is amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tressa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
1.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 25 in Agrigento
1,606 reviews
2.3 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
58.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
96.3 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
66.2 mi away
Eremo della Giubiliana
Eremo della Giubiliana
#6 of 39 in Ragusa
425 reviews
101.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandranova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandranova

Property: Mandranova
Address: Palma di Montechiaro | ss 115 km 217, 92020, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Mandranova / Villa La Robazza / Il Casello Hotel Agrigento
Mandranova Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing