We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abundant hospitality and ambiance!”
Review of Villa Diana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Diana
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Abundant hospitality and ambiance!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Arrived early to leave luggage before going to ruins. Dario gave us our room and then gave us (English) guidebook for the Valley of the Temples. He also made a lunch recommendation and ensured we were well oriented on how to drive to both the archeological site and restaurant. This was accomplished with nominal Italian knowledge on our part and basic English on Dario's part. After a great day, he provided juice, coffee and biscotti pick me up when we arrived back. That evening he recommended a restaurant in Favara that was excellent. Again, he made sure we knew how to get there and called the restaurant to let them know we were coming. No one in restaurant spoke English, but it all worked beautifully. The bed was comfortable, the room clean, and decorated very nicely. We loved the towels provided and are on a mission to find some to buy. The next morning, the breakfast offered was with a view from the terrace and included cereal, coronets, and rolls as well as fresh fruit, and a bruschetta in traditional Sicilian style. We also had a local type of marmalade made with pepper....it was wonderful!

We have done a lot of traveling around the world. Our experience at Villa Diana ranks as one of the best.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdavisengr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    25
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
95
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire England
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Don’t be put off by the first impressions of Villa Diana – a slightly scruffy 1970’s concrete Alpine looking lodge transposed to rural Sicily. Once you arrive and realise the inside is in complete contrast to the exterior, furnished as a family home with real and reproduction antiques and start to enjoy Dario’s excellent hospitality, you should begin to realise that you have come to one of the most comfortable B&Bs on the island.
The location is a few KM out of Agrigento and conveniently located for the Valley of the Temples.
Rooms are spacious, well furnished, and equipped (ours had kettle and good range of teas coffee etc, fridge, bottled water, premium toiletries, even a plug in insect spay). Most have balconies with views out over the surrounding countryside, where Dario keeps his donkeys, goats, hens and ducks. The bathroom was spacious and fitted out in high quality marble, even if the colour – maroon, was a bit off putting at first, although rather incongruously the bath was acrylic (shower over). The bed linen and towels were of the highest quality linen (no tired fluffy towels here). Everything was extremely well cleaned and in full working order.
Breakfast was also rather special – served in a spacious breakfast room with a wide range of fruit, meats, cheeses, breads, cakes and home made preserves all laid out on three large displays. Dario took your order for eggs freshly cooked to order.
All in all highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARegularVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Villa Diana the perfectl location to explore Agrigento,and Valley of The Temples The It is right off SS122, about 5-6km or 10 min drive. The surrounding is absolutely beautiful, peaceful, and full of light.Villa Diana is set apart by the warm hospitality of the host/owner. Before we arrived, he came to pick us up when we were lost and could not find our way to the hotel. He was extremely helpful with booking restaurants and proving detailed driving instructions for us to get around the area. Our rooms were quite spacious , comfortable beds, with clean bathrooms. Plenty of hot water and good pressure rain shower or lovely bathrooms with Tubs.., working hair dryer. and Working wifi in room...Rooms to the back have a lovely view and are quieter.. Excellent breakfast served in a lovely room full of refreshing morning light with an excellent choice of organic jams, freshly baked pastries, fruits, nuts, yogurts and much more. Best breakfast we had in Sicily. We felt it was our home away from home....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katarinasea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Fl
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

When we arrived early in the day to leave our luggage before visiting the ancient temples of Agrigento, Dario offered us an English guidebook and oriented us with driving directions – all somehow possible with our miniscule Italian and his limited English. The following morning, he explained about the local jam specialties on the breakfast buffet and also about the furnishings and paintings in his B&B. Before leaving we asked about a cabinet of medical instruments and he shared his family history and background giving us a small window into a Sicilian family. I get the sense that he is so very proud of his family history and it is part of his identity. Staying here is an opportunity to experience another aspect of Sicily!

Room tip: If you are a light sleeper, request a room in the back of the house. Although the house is set back from the road, we did hear cars and motorcycles and the windows are not sound insulated.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Journeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We had a large group of family and friend and took over this B&B. Some of us had been here before, and were eager to return. It is an old olive plantation, and the brother and sister who run it continue to sell their own oil. They are also raising some livestock, but it creates no problem, and adds to the rustic charm. The hosts are pleasant and want you to have a good stay with them. It's not hard! The rooms are large, most large enough for a family, and the furnishings comfortable. There is a general sense of elegance at a bargain price. They provide an excellent breakfast. You will need a car here, and try to arrive in daylight as your first time finding it is tricky, and even a GPS didn't help a lot as road work has been changing things around. The website does not translate to English but you can generally figure things out. The host, Signor Spedaro, speaks fair English an can send specific directions from your previous location. Don't let these issues keep you from staying at this lovely piece of genteel Sicily. It is a treat you will treasure.

Room Tip: Il Mandarino has the best bathroom, but the rooms at the back have better views from the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoreThanTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Villa Diana is an ideal location to explore Agrigento and the valley of temples. It is right off SS122, about 5-6km or 10 min drive. The surrounding is absolutely beautiful, peaceful, and full of light. What sets Villa Diana apart is the warm hospitality of the host/owner. Before we arrived, he came to pick us up when we were lost and could not find our way to the hotel. He was extremely helpful with booking restaurants and proving detailed driving instructions for us to get around the area. The room is small, but has a comfy bed with clean bathroom. Plenty of hot water and good pressure rain shower and working hair dryer. Working wifi in room. Excellent breakfast served in a lovely room full of refreshing morning light with an excellent choice of organic jams, freshly baked pastries, fruits, nuts, yogurts and much more. It was the best breakfast we had in Sicily. Strongly recommended for independent travelers.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutchinson Island, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Our host, Dario, was charming and shared his family home, life and local products like honey and goat milk. The resident pets, including a dog and donkey added fun to our stay. He has beautiful and rare goats with unusual horns. Visiting the nearby Valley of the Temples from Villa Diana is a breeze. This was one of the highlights of our trip in Sicily and a good choice for an Agrituismo property.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler522Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
4.1 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
2.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 23 in Agrigento
1,674 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
5.9 mi away
Antica Perla Residence Hotel
3.2 mi away
Villa Concordia
Villa Concordia
#6 of 214 in Agrigento
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Diana

Property: Villa Diana
Address: Strada Statale 122, 14, Km. 5,4, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Diana 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Diana Hotel Agrigento
Villa Diana Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing