We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely garden, near the temples”
Review of Demetra Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Demetra Resort
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely garden, near the temples”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

What a lovely hotel, tucked away just off the main highway. The rooms are very nice, well furnished and very clean. Our room opened onto a very quiet courtyard made for enjoying a cool drink before dinner after the rigors of travel. As others have noted, it is a little bit away from other restaurants, so do arrange to eat there. We traveled with a small group and had a delightful evening here. Only negative is that the owner has friendly dogs that roam the parking area, and they will approach visitors. Just ignore them and they wander away. The parking area is gravel, so motorcyclist should use caution

Room Tip: Be sure your room opens onto the courtyard, it is delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sensitivity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    61
    30
    17
    7
See reviews for
33
92
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Spezia, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

A pool would have been nice, but overall the price fitted the product. Good location, but google maps shows an alternative access route up from San leone, which is an unmade road, a bit dangerous at night. Restaurant was OK, but we voted it one of the two "least good" during our week in Sicily. This maybe reflects the pretty good standards we experienced all week. The rooms were fine, breakfast was OK, but my comments about the Hotel Parco degli Ulivi in Villafranca are echoed here (No coffee machine, no orange juice "juke box", you'll get scrambled egg etc if you ask for it, but it's not offered). Staff were friendly and helpful throughout - you won't go wrong with this hotel in my opinion. It really is very close for the Temples - which were well worth the visit.

Room Tip: If you want UK Sky TV, ask for an upgrade from the normal room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clive c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel is advertised as a tour hotel, not usually our style, but as we only wanted one night, and to be near the temples we booked a room. What a surprise, it is excellent, fully agree all the previous good comments. Also, there were no tours so it was very peaceful at breakfast. It was a great plus to be so close to the archaeological sites. No difficulty finding it as it is marked on Google maps. For supper, we went to the Re di Grigento, a great restaurant. It was only 5/6 mins away and not difficult to find. We sat on their balcony with the most fabulous view of the floodlit temples and ate an absolutely memorable meal.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hugh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This hotel is less than 5 mins drive from the temples. It can be a bit difficult to find the first time so make sure to ask for directions.
The rooms are on the large side for Sicily, they are clean and comfortable. The hotel is outside the city, surrounded by gardens and hence, very quiet and charming.
Be aware that the restaurant only serves dinner on demand so if you haven't planned for it, you will need to drive elsewhere for dinner (there is nothing walking distance).
There is no pool but we were told we could use the one from a nearby hotel.

Our tip: visit the temples by night. The atmosphere is magical and you will avoid the heat and the crowds!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monica_bcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin . TX
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night while traveling around Sicily. Very close to the archeological ruins. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The restaurant was closed when I arrived. Being weary from all the travel, I was not enthusiastic about driving back into town to find a place to eat and park. The very friendly man at the front desk ordered pizza for me. I had a quick shower in the very clean room, then waited in the bar with a beer while my pizza came. Hard to argue with. Air conditioning in the room was excellent as was the overall cleanliness. I woke up very early in order to get a head start on the sites. Despite it being before the scheduled breakfast time, the very friendly woman at the front desk invited me to enjoy the pastries that were already out and even offered to make my choice of coffee. Excellent service to say the least. The one thing that should be noted is that it is extremely helpful (vital in my case...horrible sense of direction) to have a GPS to find this place. It is a little off the beaten path. But, the advantage is that there is ample parking. I would definitely recommend this place if you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel with excellent service near the ruins!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terraco10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed for only one night on our driving tour of Sicily. I was very sad that we had only booked one night at this hotel since we found it to be clean, comfortable, and very charming. The grounds are well maintained and the landscaping is lovely. We found the front desk clerk to be very friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant was closed the night we arrived and we were disappointed to have to get into the car to eat elsewhere after a very long drive. But we were referred to the a sister-property a few minutes away that had a fantastic view of the sea. We were able to have a nice dinner with a sunset backdrop. My only regret is that we did not stay longer to enjoy the peace and tranquility of this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stoney510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This establishment is really difficult to classify as it is an odd mixture of a country inn/bed and breakfast and a lobby that pretends that you are in a hotel. Part of the explanation is that this used to be a hacienda that was converted into a 23-room "hotel". It is located so off the beaten path that our GPS was unable to guide us there and we had to call for directions. Good thing it was still light -- do NOT attempt to find this establishment in the dark! Once you have found the place down a small dirt road you will be greeted by several big but friendly dogs -- if you are afraid of dogs this might not work well for you. The restaurant was closed as there apparently were not enough guests to make opening the kitchen worthwhile. The hotel's restaurant recommendation for a place in San Leone, the beach front suburb of Agrigento, was wonderful, however, although it required a 10-minute car ride. In general, you do NOT want to book this hotel unless you have a car. You will need it not only to get to the hotel but also to the temples, which are about a 5-minute drive away but way too far to walk. We had booked a deluxe room which was a comfortable downstairs/upstairs suite, with a living room with a little porch at ground level and the bedroom and bathroom upstairs. Several problems: These deluxe rooms face the driveway and have NO view; the small porches outside your room are likely to be occupied by very friendly big, sleeping dogs; and taking a shower is difficult if you are taller than 1.80 meters (6 feet), as you have to stand in the bathtub and the ceiling is very low. If you have mobility issues you may also not wish to have to walk upstairs to use the toilet. The beds themselves were very comfortable and the quiet only punctuated by dogs barking in the middle of the night. The breakfast was very modest, consisting of only some pastries, cereals, and fresh fruit. The best part of the stay was the reception staff, particularly Giovanni, who is most efficient, helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Only stay in a deluxe room if don't have mobility issues. They also face the driveway and have n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angkor2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
0.2 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
1.2 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 23 in Agrigento
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
1.9 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,184 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
#3 of 3 in San Leone
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Demetra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demetra Resort

Property: Demetra Resort
Address: Contrada Forgia, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Demetra Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Demetra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Demetra Hotel Agrigento
Demetra Resort Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing