We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel”
Review of Demetra Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Demetra Resort
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Some Hotels get it just right, and the Demetra does this in spades. Tucked away between olive trees and pines, just off the highway and within in sight of the temples, a short dirt road leads to a typically Sicilian dusty forecourt. Two friendly dogs and a cat flaked out on the tiles in the large porch in the shade to welcome us made it feel like coming home after a long hot day. The very friendly English speaking staff were just right for the relaxed 'vibe'. Always there to help, but unobtrusive - just as it should be. Dinner and breakfast were excellent in a lovely dining room, why would you want to go out? Excellent spotless and large room. The whole hotel is tastefully furnished throughout. Excellent free wifi. Outstanding value for the price, and in our view, a true 5* experience. The best hotel we have stayed in so far after 3 weeks touring Southern Italy. We wished we had arranged our tour to stay here 2 nights rather than one. We agree with previous comments - this is not a 'coach tour' hotel. It is a long hike from the museum to the temples in the heat but there are separate car parks at both. E3 all day for each.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EGLSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

What a lovely hotel, tucked away just off the main highway. The rooms are very nice, well furnished and very clean. Our room opened onto a very quiet courtyard made for enjoying a cool drink before dinner after the rigors of travel. As others have noted, it is a little bit away from other restaurants, so do arrange to eat there. We traveled with a small group and had a delightful evening here. Only negative is that the owner has friendly dogs that roam the parking area, and they will approach visitors. Just ignore them and they wander away. The parking area is gravel, so motorcyclist should use caution

Room Tip: Be sure your room opens onto the courtyard, it is delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sensitivity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

A pool would have been nice, but overall the price fitted the product. Good location, but google maps shows an alternative access route up from San leone, which is an unmade road, a bit dangerous at night. Restaurant was OK, but we voted it one of the two "least good" during our week in Sicily. This maybe reflects the pretty good standards we experienced all week. The rooms were fine, breakfast was OK, but my comments about the Hotel Parco degli Ulivi in Villafranca are echoed here (No coffee machine, no orange juice "juke box", you'll get scrambled egg etc if you ask for it, but it's not offered). Staff were friendly and helpful throughout - you won't go wrong with this hotel in my opinion. It really is very close for the Temples - which were well worth the visit.

Room Tip: If you want UK Sky TV, ask for an upgrade from the normal room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clive c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel is advertised as a tour hotel, not usually our style, but as we only wanted one night, and to be near the temples we booked a room. What a surprise, it is excellent, fully agree all the previous good comments. Also, there were no tours so it was very peaceful at breakfast. It was a great plus to be so close to the archaeological sites. No difficulty finding it as it is marked on Google maps. For supper, we went to the Re di Grigento, a great restaurant. It was only 5/6 mins away and not difficult to find. We sat on their balcony with the most fabulous view of the floodlit temples and ate an absolutely memorable meal.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Hugh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This hotel is less than 5 mins drive from the temples. It can be a bit difficult to find the first time so make sure to ask for directions.
The rooms are on the large side for Sicily, they are clean and comfortable. The hotel is outside the city, surrounded by gardens and hence, very quiet and charming.
Be aware that the restaurant only serves dinner on demand so if you haven't planned for it, you will need to drive elsewhere for dinner (there is nothing walking distance).
There is no pool but we were told we could use the one from a nearby hotel.

Our tip: visit the temples by night. The atmosphere is magical and you will avoid the heat and the crowds!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monica_bcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night while traveling around Sicily. Very close to the archeological ruins. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The restaurant was closed when I arrived. Being weary from all the travel, I was not enthusiastic about driving back into town to find a place to eat and park. The very friendly man at the front desk ordered pizza for me. I had a quick shower in the very clean room, then waited in the bar with a beer while my pizza came. Hard to argue with. Air conditioning in the room was excellent as was the overall cleanliness. I woke up very early in order to get a head start on the sites. Despite it being before the scheduled breakfast time, the very friendly woman at the front desk invited me to enjoy the pastries that were already out and even offered to make my choice of coffee. Excellent service to say the least. The one thing that should be noted is that it is extremely helpful (vital in my case...horrible sense of direction) to have a GPS to find this place. It is a little off the beaten path. But, the advantage is that there is ample parking. I would definitely recommend this place if you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel with excellent service near the ruins!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terraco10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed for only one night on our driving tour of Sicily. I was very sad that we had only booked one night at this hotel since we found it to be clean, comfortable, and very charming. The grounds are well maintained and the landscaping is lovely. We found the front desk clerk to be very friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant was closed the night we arrived and we were disappointed to have to get into the car to eat elsewhere after a very long drive. But we were referred to the a sister-property a few minutes away that had a fantastic view of the sea. We were able to have a nice dinner with a sunset backdrop. My only regret is that we did not stay longer to enjoy the peace and tranquility of this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stoney510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
1.7 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,235 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 23 in Agrigento
1,791 reviews
0.3 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Della Valle
Hotel Della Valle
#10 of 23 in Agrigento
861 reviews
3.3 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
1 mi away
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
#3 of 3 in San Leone
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Demetra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demetra Resort

Address: Contrada Forgia, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range: £75 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Demetra Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Demetra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Demetra Hotel Agrigento
Demetra Resort Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing