We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Proximity to Valley of Temples” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Demetra Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Demetra Resort
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Agrigento
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Proximity to Valley of Temples”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

A little difficult to find by car, but once there it's fine. Better signage would help. For me being close to Valley of Temples important and so worthwhile, Temple Concordia an outstanding Greek temple in its entirety. No need to get taxi from car park as walking is fine. It's an uphill climb and in the heat could be for some tiring, but with water it's ok. Also went early morning to white cliffs, after walk along rather dirty beach arrived and it's beautiful. What I loved about this hotel they have taken in a few abandoned dogs, and they were well fed and cared for.

Room Tip: All rooms fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jidekada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    61
    29
    17
    7
See reviews for
32
92
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at the Demetra for two nights while touring Sicily. It is a lovely oasis in the dry arid land surrounding the area. The staff were very personable and knowledgeable and ready to help make our stay as pleasurable as possible.
The hotel is located close to the temple sites but not in walking distance unless you really want a long hike. We spent one day at the archeological park and another at the lovely beach at Scala di Turchi.
The food at Demetra is wonderful. We ate dinner there one night and the breakfast were the best an most opulent we have ever had.
There is no pool but you can use the pool at their sister hotel, the Best Western, in the nearby town. We spent a pleasant afternoon there by the sea in their forever pool. Temperatures were in the 90's and it was really wonderful.
Our room had sliding doors to a lovely patio overlooking the lemon groves and was quite and restful. The room itself was comfortable and very quiet. Free wifi is available and there is a computer in the lobby for guests. The lobby is large and very comfortable for getting together with friends or just chilling by the bar.
It is a little difficult to find so get directions to the hotel before you start out. The final leg is a dirt road so we thought we missed it but a few feet more and we were there and happy that we were.

Room Tip: It seemed like all rooms were lovely. I don't think you can miss on this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gailmarie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at Demetra for two nights during our 12 day tour of Sicily. The resort seems new, and in fact perhaps it isn't quite finished yet. Not sure why it's called a "resort" versus a hotel, because I failed to note a difference. To me, a resort should have a pool, workout room, spa, things like that. No big deal, but something to be aware of. In fact, I thought there would be pool based on the website's photos, but it was my mistake...the photo was of their fountain (which was dry in any case).

Our room was comfortable, but a little awkward for a few reasons. First of all, the bathroom was located in a little loft upstairs, which could present a problem for small children or people with mobility issues. Second, the walls were so thin that I could hear every word of conversation in the next room. They weren't shouting or being loud...just a normal conversation.

The staff was friendly, but one of the front desk staff mistakenly assured us that the Valley of the Temples accepts credit cards. They don't, and it caused a big aggravation for us. Not her fault, per se, but at a tourist "resort" you'd think that the staff would be better informed.

The price was decent and about right for the level of accommodations. Would I stay there again? Probably not. No HUGE complaints, but with other choices in the area, I'd probably look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask if the bathroom is "upstairs."
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rickzullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We came to this hotel on a tour and only stayed one night. A real gem so quiet, huge rooms and very helpful staff. The breakfast was excellent and fresh.We did not eat dinner at hotel but if dinner is as good as the breakfasts, wish we had.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Our only regret about the Demetra Resort is that we stayed for just one night. It was a welcome oasis after touring Palermo and driving fro quite a few hundred of miles along the Sicily coast. The place is hard to find, granted, but you can always count on some friendly local to show you the way. Anyway, once you knwo how to ge there you realise it's quite easy and very well located regarding the Valley of the Temples.
The reception is very large, confortable and elegant. The resort personnel were nice and very helpful.
Our room overlooked the garden and was simply huge. So was the bathroom with a fabulous bathtube. Bed was confortable and everything was clean and tidy.
We dinned at the Resort's restaurant and had a very enjoyable meal.
The whole property gives out an atmosphere of peace and serenity, set in the middle of the quiet valleys and gentle slopes. I can picture it as a perfect getaway place from any of the big Sicilian cities. BEautiful views of the sorrounding areas.
Extremely quiet at night and therefore allows for a good sleep.
The only thing missing is a swimming pool on the premises, although you can use the swimming pool of a sister hotel.
Definitely worth the money!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mechka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Great hotel, close to temples (right down the street). We enjoyed the large immaculate room, with a bathub and a refrigerator. Delicious breakfast, pleasant english speaking staff, who helped us find our way to a roasted chicken take away restaurant and a bakery to end our great day. For those who complain that the hotel is not a resort because it does not offer a pool, we inquired and were told The hotel is on 'antique grounds' and not allowed to build a pool. For that closeness to the Temples, we will gladly give up a swim. We did not come to Sicily to swim in a hotel pool! We had no difficulty finding the hotel, there were numerous signs adding to our directions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loriloduca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittston, pa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

The Demetra Resort is a nice hotel which is extremely hard to find even with a GPS. In fact, thanks to some very kind locals who took us there, we would have spent much more time looking for the facility. Although not truly a "resort" since it does not have a swimming pool, the rooms are very clean, spacious, with very nice showers. The only downside was that the airconditioning unit did not work very well, giving us the minimum amount of cool air. Also, the refrigerator did not work and we were not able to find a switch to turn it on. We advised management of these problems and they seemed anxious to fix them. Hopefully, they were repaired before the next guests arrived.
We had dinner at the resort which was surprisingly good, both the food and the service. The breakfasts were also very good. Overall, our experience at Demetra Resort was a very pleasant one.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuck_pittston_pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 25 in Agrigento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
0.4 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
3.6 mi away
Antica Perla Residence Hotel
1.7 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#5 of 25 in Agrigento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Demetra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demetra Resort

Property: Demetra Resort
Address: Contrada Forgia, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Demetra Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Demetra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Demetra Hotel Agrigento
Demetra Resort Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing