We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You read about the nice hotel, the surprise is the great food”
Review of Hotel Beau Rivage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Beau Rivage
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Alassio
Certificate of Excellence
lausanne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“You read about the nice hotel, the surprise is the great food”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I have spent many years vacationing in Alassio. My aunt was from there. I thought I knew it all. Think again. This charming hotel has been discovered by many (see the reviews) so I will not be redundant and I fully subscribe the recommendations. What deserved to be reported however is the small , cosy, rare "tree covered in front of the see" terrace which serve one of the best food in town. We did not have full of half board, as many others,we were keen in exploring places and go for variation, but we ended up eating there 4 times, each of them with great satisfaction. Do not miss it!!.
As further areas of improvement, I suggest to balance better the breakfast menu between sugary and salty choices (almost none of the latter unless you pay extra for scrambled eggs). For a 3 stars, its price tag is somehow 25% higher then comparable others. What about offering the parking for free? (really precious real estate in Alassio and today charged 15 Euro x day).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jogimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaubeaurivage, Responsabile reception at Hotel Beau Rivage, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for leaving a review for us. We value each and every one. We are very pleased that you liked our lovely place so much, especially the food. Our cook appreciates a lot!
Thank you very much for your comments on our breakfast. We will do our best to ensure in future a better balance between salty and sweet food.

We are so sorry that you found parking your car expensive. We take parking of cars very seriously, as we know it can be troublesome during the summer months in Alassio. During these months, we ask a fee for parking (which is even less than the public parking), as the space is little and the request so high. Whereas the rest of the year, our private car park is free for our guests.

We always listen and try very hard to act on what our guests say.
We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Best wishes to you both,

The Salada Family & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    48
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
40
98
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We were so lucky to come across this lovely hotel when we were searching for a place to stay in Alassio in July! The house itself is wonderful and it's situated right on the promenade in the "right" part of town = in a neighbourhood with a minimal amount of noise combined with an exquisite view.

A month or so before our arrival we received a personal mail from the hotel, asking whether we preferred a room on the second floor with no AC or balcony or on the third floor WITH these advantages. Guess what we chose, and how happy we were about our choice! There's no lift in the hotel, but the people working there are very helpful about everything, including carrying suitcases, so there's really no reason for choosing otherwise unless you have major physical problems.

The overall service level is absolutely first class and the landlady speaks perfect English and is a wonderful source of information as well as of suggestions for outings etc.

Add to this a very good restaurant with everything home-made, including the breads and cakes, and the conclusion is clear: The Beau rivage hotel is as close to perfect as it is possible to get!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelse123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaubeaurivage, Responsabile reception at Hotel Beau Rivage, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your excellent stay in our small family run hotel. We are glad to pass on your wonderful comments to the whole team, who will appreciate a lot.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you back again next year. Remember that June and September are wonderful months for a holiday in Alassio.
Kindest regards,
The Salada Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This is the fourth time we have returned to the same room overlooking the sea in this lovely small family run hotel. No pool or lifts but fabulous food and it is directly opposite the beach - book your place when you book the room - Petra the lovely and fantastically knowledgable multilingual receptionist will sort it out for you. Very relaxing and really good value half and full board rates. If you are looking for a relaxing time on the beach with only the trouble of chosing what local ligurian dish and wine to have for lunch or dinner on the terrace looking out at the sea you will like it here. If you get a bit beach weary take a trip into the mountains, eat trout at a fishery on the Piedmont border and go for a dip accessed behind an unprepossessing block of flats in a mountain village that takes you through a young walnut orchard and down to a mountain pool with waterfalls. Petra will tell you how to find it.

Room Tip: Overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomersetLegalbeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaubeaurivage, Responsabile reception at Hotel Beau Rivage, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for your loyalty! It is a great pleasure for us to welcome you year after year in “your” room. We are so grateful for your sharing this marvellous holiday experience with travellers from TripAdvisor.
Every single member of our staff is steadily working for the personal wellness of our guests. It’s fantastic being able to communicate our love for this beautiful spot to our guests, allowing them to discover “top secret” places and to spend a very special vacation.
Looking already forward to your next holiday with us and wishing you a great Summer time, we send kind regards,
The Salada Family & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We concur with all the other favourable reviews recently. This is a lovely, comfortable hotel at the quieter - though never entirely quiet - end of town. It opens straight on to the promenade (but for a narrow access road), with fabulous sea views. Alassio has one of the best beaches on the Riviera, and in summer it's pretty packed, if always somehow remaining civilised. But a lot of the restaurants along the seafront seem to rely on their captive market, and serve up food that's hardly exciting by Italian standards. The Beau Rivage's own restaurant is several notches better than much of the competition, and saves a 10/15-minute walk in the heat, so it could be sensible to stay half- or even full-board.

The hotel is in a stylish old villa, once the home of the 19th-century artist Richard West. The management are more than happy to point you to interesting historical and cultural sites in and around Alassio - and there are quite a few - if you inquire. The hinterland and nearby small towns along the coast also have much to offer, so you don't need to think of Alassio only in terms of beach holidays.

The Beau Rivage is not the place for someone seeking serious luxury - spas, pools &c - or a serious club scene on its doorstep. It's small, competently family-run, with a very genial staff, ideal for people seeking comfort, informality and relaxation Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sea views are well worth taking. On the second floor, they also have a small balcony with room for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PL_JHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaubeaurivage, Responsabile reception at Hotel Beau Rivage, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
We thank you so much for having chosen our small, family run hotel for your holiday. You painted a perfect picture of Alassio, its attractions, its beaches and of our hotel. Our staff is fully committed to excellence on a daily base. We actually do care a lot to answer the questions of our guests, providing information of all kind and making the vacation of every guest a very personal experience, according to everyone's taste. Last but not least, you mentioned our restaurant. The proprietor of Beau Rivage, Mrs. Salada, cares a lot to serve high quality food, genially prepared by our Chef according to Italian tradition, using mainly local and seasonal produce.
We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate very much that you shared your views with the TripAdvisor community.
Looking forward to meeting you again, we wish you a great summer time,
The Salada Family and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We chose this Hotel based on reviews read and they are not wrong. Views from the front upper room was lovely looking over the sea. The staff in this family run hotel go out of their way to make you welcome. Food at the hotel is also very high quality. Take advantage of the offer to park your car for 15 euros a day which does add cost but at least you have a space. All resorts on this coast are a nightmare for parking especially at weekends. Beach is also chargeable (20 euros) but all of the beaches are along this area. We thought it was the best looking of the many hotels in Alassio and also drew a lot of interest from people passing as it looks so nice. The rooms are small by English standards but it matters little as they are very clean and comfortable with Aircon. Housekeeping excellent. Would highly recommend this hotel. We are a mature couple and do not speak Italian which we found awkward sometimes but this is beautiful coastline and it seems to have been forgotton by British tourists and this is regrettable. Go and Enjoy!

Room Tip: Front second floor have a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaubeaurivage, Responsabile reception at Hotel Beau Rivage, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear Richard,
Thank you so much for your detailed report, great indeed! Every single person of our staff works daily to give his/her best in order to enable our guests to enjoy a relaxing, a fabulous holiday. The proprietor, Mrs. Salada, loves beautiful things and high quality cuisine. She is glad to provide both to her guests while staying with us.

We greet you and your wife warmly and thank you very much for having chosen our hotel. It was a pleasure to meet you! Looking forward to meeting you soon again, we wish you a great Summer time!
The Salada Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2012

A great place to stay. My friend and I had travelled from the South of France this summer to spend a few days in Alassio and this beautiful hotel certainly gets our 5* award. The staff and service were excellent, nothing was too much trouble for them.
Our room overlooked the sea and it was great to just open the window and see that view. We ate in the hotel one evening and I can thoroughly recommend their menu.
All in all a beautiful little place to stay with some history thrown in.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view - it's absolutely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret7london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This is a lovely small and stylish hotel with a great ambience and atmosphere. It is situated at the extreme western end of the very long Alassio beach front and is easy to reach by car. There is secure parking and the hotel is only a few yards from the beach with a small and quiet road just in front. it is a lovely old building with cool and serene decor. Our room had a tropical feel with a balcony and looked straight out on to the sea through palms and pines,
The hotel is nothing like the huge piles that dominate the beach front and I could not think of anywhere else i would now consider staying in Alassio.
We did not think the hotel was remotely tired ( see a previous review)
The people who work there were universally welcoming, warm and professional. Our only regret is that we could not stay longer.

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mairangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alassio hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Spiaggia
Grand Hotel Spiaggia
#3 of 50 in Alassio
447 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#2 of 50 in Alassio
252 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Alassio
Grand Hotel Alassio
#6 of 50 in Alassio
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rosa
Hotel Rosa
#15 of 50 in Alassio
411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#9 of 50 in Alassio
111 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dei Fiori
Dei Fiori
#18 of 50 in Alassio
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beau Rivage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beau Rivage

Property: Hotel Beau Rivage
Address: Lungomare Roma 82, 17021 Alassio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Alassio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Alassio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Beau Rivage 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small hotel is situated in an old English House from the 19th Century, finely renovated. The famous Irish Painter Richard West lived and painted in this house during the 1880s.Hotel Beau Rivage is next to the sea, facing the sandy beaches and is only a few minutes walk from the city centre and the railway-station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Beau Rivage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing