We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a disappointing hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Spiaggia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Spiaggia
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Alassio
Faversham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a disappointing hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We went to Alassio after a wonderful week in Santa Margherita's Helios Hotel where we had a lovely view over the sea. We had booked a superior room with side view and paid more for it than the Helios so were expecting something special. As soon as we walked into the room we were appalled - first by the room itself- certainly not superior and then the view- the block of flats next door. We immediately complained and were told that we could possibly upgrade 2 days later at an additional cost of 50 euros a day. We agreed to this and eventually got a larger room and nice view. Our restaurant table was never upgraded however and we were stuck at the back of the dining room with no view despite asking the head waiter several times. This seemed unfair as there were lots of tables with lovely views and we were paying a lot of money for this upgrade. We were generally most unhappy about these issues and would certainly not return!

Room Tip: don't believe side sea view= there is no view just a block of flats about 10 feet away
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    136
    58
    16
    9
See reviews for
95
196
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maniago, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed there for 4 nights with B&B arrangement.
Very clean and spacious rooms, private beach (sun loungers and towels provided), helpful staff at the reception, good choice for breakfast.
No wifi provided, unless you pay for an hour at the time, which I find ridiculous.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsLiviaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

Spent a week at this hotel after a 4 night break in Nice and were looking forward to a more relaxing time but were very disappointed with this hotel. We had only been able to book a room with a side sea-view and have no complaint about that but the very close proximity of the adjacent building meant that the only sun on the balcony was for a short time early morning and also that building severely blocked the daylight into the room so that electric light was a permanent necessity even in the middle of the day. In addition the room was a bit on the small side whereas the bathroom was quite large enough for a bath but only had a shower!The hotel has its own section on the beach but we thought 17euros a day each for a sunbed and umbrella was exorbitant! Having said that we made a lot of use of the free sunbeds on the roof terrace where we were usually the only people there. The food was also not 4* - no hot items at breakfast, a very poor salad buffet at dinner (just bowls of 4 different green leaves, another of tomatoes and one of grated carrot) and the same luke-warm vegetables every night - boiled potatoes, slced carrot and courgette! I
Altogether we were disappointed with this hotel and would not return here!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsAholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bebington, Wirral
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

My family and I stayed at the Grand Hotel Spiaggia from 21st August for 7 days. It is a medium sized hotel 30 meters from the beach. The rooms were excellent and spotless. The restaurant is on the 6th floor with lovely views over the bay and the food was excellent every night. The staff in the restaurant and bar were lovely, very friendly and attentive; especially the young waiter called Mirco who was always very helpful and provided service with a smile.
The beach was a very short walk and spotless. The hotel Spiaggia has its own section of beach right in front of the hotel providing sunloungers (lettini as the italians call them) and towels, that can be reserved at the hotel reception each day. The beach also has a supply of inflatables for the kids to use, changing rooms, a shower and best of all a bar!! The staff on the beach (also employed by the hotel) were very friendly and on our first day on the beach brought free nibbles and sparkling wine down to the beach for everyone. Another day we had freshly cut watermelon, again free!
The hotel is a few minutes walk from the town centre; Alassio is a very quaint little town with cobbled streets and lots of nice shops, bars, resaurants and a few beautiful churches.
All in all we had a lovely week on the Italian Riviera at the hotel Spiaggia and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hamburg09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

We stayed at the hotel for 14 nights, on a half board arrangement and the hotel allowed us to take either lunch or dinner, provding we let them know at breakfast. We had a side room with a balcony and sea view. The room is small, with a good sized bathroom, and very firm matresses!. The hotel is situated at the quieter end of Alassio which suited us, as it meant a leisurely walk to the centre each night after dinner to browse the shops, have a drink and watch the world pass by. The Food was excellent at the Hotel, good portions, simply prepared and packed with flavour, the dessert (cake) is a must. There is also a good choice of wines. The hotel has a very welcoming feel, and the staff are helpful and friendly. A tip for lunch and dinner is to go when it is busiest as the service is well paced, otherwise it was a little too quick for us. Try Clapsys (on the seafront) for excellent food, best pesto gnocci ever. The Hotels rooftop pool and bathing area is a great asset, particularly if like us you had been sightseeing for the day, and wanted to relax in the sun without going to the beach. Acess to the beach is only a few metres from the Hotel, but be warned from June you can pay euro 17 per person per day (ouch). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Alassio and the hotel and staff played it's part.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlairWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
125 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

Beach front closed to the "budello" - pedestrian area - but quiet. You can sleep without ear plugs. The hotel is renovated and nice. Of course not luxurious, but it cost 100 euro in June...Breakfast at the 6th floor very nice, but the "salted part" is very poor as usual in
Italy. Parking is a nightmare along all the Riviera. They charged 19 euro and your car will be squeezed anywhere they can...so if you are fussy about your car, be advised...
What I didn't like is 34 euro for two sunbeds a day even if you are a guest...that's just too much even for Riviera's standard...
Staff friendly.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bridgerobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire, england
Level Contributor
119 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

The location of the hotel is probably one of it's best features. It's directly opposite the nice long beach and within easy walking distance of the center of Alassio. Street parking in Alassio is virtually non existent so hotel car parking is essential, although not cheap at E14 or E19 a night. Our room, superior side sea view, was very dull and the balcony was tiny. The facilities in the room were adequate with a very efficient AC unit .The daily servicing to the room was good, plenty of nice fresh towel etc but the bed linen was only changed every 2-3days which we considered very poor.
The roof top sun terrace was very pleasant, peaceful and quiet with lots of comfy sun loungers. You need to ask for hotel towels at the pool bar otherwise they won't be brought to you. The pool was small and water too cold to bathe in. We did not use the beach facilities but understand they were quite expensive.
We stayed at the hotel on a half board basis and this we consider a big mistake! Evening service finished dreadfully early at 20.45 and we were even asked at breakfast on our first morning if we wished to make our choices from the dinner menu for that night? We declined! The cold buffet breakfast was adequate with a reasonable selection of sweet and savory but evening dinner was certainly not Italian cooking at it's finest! The four courses were generally very badly presented and often looked very unappetising. It was obvious that the hot dishes were cooked and plated well in advance to serving and so tended to be rather dry and sometimes only lukewarm. Table service was brisk but was sloppy and lacked attention to detail. On more than one occasion we had to ask for fish cutlery to be brougt to the table after ordering a fish course.The head waiter also, on more than one occasion, failed to provide us with beer glasses when were had ordered Peroni and seemed to expect us to drink beer from wine glasses! After asking for the correct glasses we were not apologised to for the omission. The wine started at about E20 for the Vermentino and Peroni was about E4 a bottle.
Overall we considered the hotel was genarally a poor example of a 4 Star rating but did appear to be very popular with both Italian and German guests, the majority of which were in the 60yrs and above age group.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alassio hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Alassio
Grand Hotel Alassio
#5 of 50 in Alassio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rosa
Hotel Rosa
#19 of 50 in Alassio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#4 of 50 in Alassio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#11 of 50 in Alassio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Mediterranee
Grand Hotel Mediterranee
#22 of 50 in Alassio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Toscana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Spiaggia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Spiaggia

Property: Grand Hotel Spiaggia
Address: Lungomare Roma 78, 17021 Alassio, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Alassio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alassio
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Alassio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Spiaggia 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Spiaggia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Alassio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing