We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel - staff and food appalling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Spiaggia
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Alassio
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - staff and food appalling”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Just returned from a week (20-27-Sep-2012) at the Grand Hotel Spiaggia. I felt I should bring attention to anyone thinking of booking this hotel that ii is not worthy of it's 4* rating. We had booked a superior side sea-view room it turned out very close proximity to the adjacent building the sun never shone on the balcony so we had to have artificial lighting on at all times! I complained immediately to the Citailia rep who contacted the reception staff. We were then advised to go down to reception but were amazed at their dismissive attitude basically told there were no rooms available so wouldn't be moving us!! The next shock came when we went up to the restaurant which was the worst I've ever encountered. The Maitre d barely spoke to us for the whole week. The food was also not 4* luke-warm vegetables every night - very minimal choice and mostly unedible. We were never asked why the food went uneaten or offered alternatives. We were very disappointed with this hotel and would never return again I would also advise others not consider booking here.

Room Tip: Request sea facing room on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Senn0ckian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    148
    60
    16
    9
See reviews for
99
215
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Faversham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We went to Alassio after a wonderful week in Santa Margherita's Helios Hotel where we had a lovely view over the sea. We had booked a superior room with side view and paid more for it than the Helios so were expecting something special. As soon as we walked into the room we were appalled - first by the room itself- certainly not superior and then the view- the block of flats next door. We immediately complained and were told that we could possibly upgrade 2 days later at an additional cost of 50 euros a day. We agreed to this and eventually got a larger room and nice view. Our restaurant table was never upgraded however and we were stuck at the back of the dining room with no view despite asking the head waiter several times. This seemed unfair as there were lots of tables with lovely views and we were paying a lot of money for this upgrade. We were generally most unhappy about these issues and would certainly not return!

Room Tip: don't believe side sea view= there is no view just a block of flats about 10 feet away
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maniago, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed there for 4 nights with B&B arrangement.
Very clean and spacious rooms, private beach (sun loungers and towels provided), helpful staff at the reception, good choice for breakfast.
No wifi provided, unless you pay for an hour at the time, which I find ridiculous.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsLiviaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Spent a week at this hotel after a 4 night break in Nice and were looking forward to a more relaxing time but were very disappointed with this hotel. We had only been able to book a room with a side sea-view and have no complaint about that but the very close proximity of the adjacent building meant that the only sun on the balcony was for a short time early morning and also that building severely blocked the daylight into the room so that electric light was a permanent necessity even in the middle of the day. In addition the room was a bit on the small side whereas the bathroom was quite large enough for a bath but only had a shower!The hotel has its own section on the beach but we thought 17euros a day each for a sunbed and umbrella was exorbitant! Having said that we made a lot of use of the free sunbeds on the roof terrace where we were usually the only people there. The food was also not 4* - no hot items at breakfast, a very poor salad buffet at dinner (just bowls of 4 different green leaves, another of tomatoes and one of grated carrot) and the same luke-warm vegetables every night - boiled potatoes, slced carrot and courgette! I
Altogether we were disappointed with this hotel and would not return here!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsAholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bebington, Wirral
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

My family and I stayed at the Grand Hotel Spiaggia from 21st August for 7 days. It is a medium sized hotel 30 meters from the beach. The rooms were excellent and spotless. The restaurant is on the 6th floor with lovely views over the bay and the food was excellent every night. The staff in the restaurant and bar were lovely, very friendly and attentive; especially the young waiter called Mirco who was always very helpful and provided service with a smile.
The beach was a very short walk and spotless. The hotel Spiaggia has its own section of beach right in front of the hotel providing sunloungers (lettini as the italians call them) and towels, that can be reserved at the hotel reception each day. The beach also has a supply of inflatables for the kids to use, changing rooms, a shower and best of all a bar!! The staff on the beach (also employed by the hotel) were very friendly and on our first day on the beach brought free nibbles and sparkling wine down to the beach for everyone. Another day we had freshly cut watermelon, again free!
The hotel is a few minutes walk from the town centre; Alassio is a very quaint little town with cobbled streets and lots of nice shops, bars, resaurants and a few beautiful churches.
All in all we had a lovely week on the Italian Riviera at the hotel Spiaggia and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hamburg09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

We stayed at the hotel for 14 nights, on a half board arrangement and the hotel allowed us to take either lunch or dinner, provding we let them know at breakfast. We had a side room with a balcony and sea view. The room is small, with a good sized bathroom, and very firm matresses!. The hotel is situated at the quieter end of Alassio which suited us, as it meant a leisurely walk to the centre each night after dinner to browse the shops, have a drink and watch the world pass by. The Food was excellent at the Hotel, good portions, simply prepared and packed with flavour, the dessert (cake) is a must. There is also a good choice of wines. The hotel has a very welcoming feel, and the staff are helpful and friendly. A tip for lunch and dinner is to go when it is busiest as the service is well paced, otherwise it was a little too quick for us. Try Clapsys (on the seafront) for excellent food, best pesto gnocci ever. The Hotels rooftop pool and bathing area is a great asset, particularly if like us you had been sightseeing for the day, and wanted to relax in the sun without going to the beach. Acess to the beach is only a few metres from the Hotel, but be warned from June you can pay euro 17 per person per day (ouch). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Alassio and the hotel and staff played it's part.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlairWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
129 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Beach front closed to the "budello" - pedestrian area - but quiet. You can sleep without ear plugs. The hotel is renovated and nice. Of course not luxurious, but it cost 100 euro in June...Breakfast at the 6th floor very nice, but the "salted part" is very poor as usual in
Italy. Parking is a nightmare along all the Riviera. They charged 19 euro and your car will be squeezed anywhere they can...so if you are fussy about your car, be advised...
What I didn't like is 34 euro for two sunbeds a day even if you are a guest...that's just too much even for Riviera's standard...
Staff friendly.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridgerobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alassio hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Alassio
Grand Hotel Alassio
#6 of 50 in Alassio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rosa
Hotel Rosa
#20 of 50 in Alassio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#9 of 50 in Alassio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#3 of 50 in Alassio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#2 of 50 in Alassio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Mediterranee
Grand Hotel Mediterranee
#22 of 50 in Alassio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Spiaggia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Spiaggia

Property: Grand Hotel Spiaggia
Address: Lungomare Roma 78, 17021 Alassio, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Alassio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alassio
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Alassio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Spiaggia 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Spiaggia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Alassio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing