We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spring menu with flowers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piazza Duomo

Piazza Duomo
Ranked #1 of 180 Restaurants in Alba
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
“Spring menu with flowers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

The prettiest dinner I have ever had, every dish was a piece of art. Loved the special signature salad and also most of the other dishes, but the cod wrapped in (something?) was bland and the consistency was mushy.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cecilie402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    644
    105
    27
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
147 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Flawless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Difficult to add much to the glowing reviews of this restaurant, except that I will say that this lunch was one of the best meals I have ever had, on par with El Celler de Can Roca, Restaurant Bareiss and Elevent Madison Park. The service, in particular, was extremely welcoming and generous, without being overly pretentious or stuffy. We ordered a la carte for lunch (highly recommend the juniper fish dish and the plate of vegetables -- the best vegetables I have ever had), and put ourselves in the hands of the very knowledgeable sommelier.

An unforgettable, standout meal, even among all of the amazing meals to be had in the Piemonte area. I have never been to a place with such consistently excellent, top-notch, creative food across the many restaurants where we ate (and reviewed here on TripAdvisor), not even Burgundy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yaneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“my favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

I cannot forget the wonderful experience that we had at Piazza Duomo. What a surprise and revelation it was!! I ate at many 3 stars restaurants and must say that this one surpassed any other one. Can a simple salad be a big deal ? Well surprisingly yes ;the one we ate there was just phenomenal.! Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank trovitolau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siesta Key, Florida
Level Contributor
255 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Top innovative Piemonte cuisine - worthy of 3 stars great ballance of real food with a molecular twist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

The potato truffle egg thing I ate here was worth the price of admission - really delicious as was everything else we ate. The first "courses" have a bit of the molecular cuisine feel, but not to the point of not being food. The olives that were not olives were very cool.
The partridge and sweetbread dishes were amazing as were the pasta and squid courses.
Wine prices and selections are excellent.....
One complaint, and this is typical of many Italian restaurants is just how bright the lights are, and here it is compounded by the pepto bismal (sp?) walls.....
Having said that - go eat here enjoy some of the best food of the area!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mdbasile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Perfect food, service and atmosphere. Well worth a trip from Sweden. We had the truffle menu and it was excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Asa_Hornsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piazza Duomo also viewed

 
Alba, Province of Cuneo
Alba, Province of Cuneo
 

Been to Piazza Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing