We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An experience with the chef”
Review of Dulcis Vitis

Dulcis Vitis
Ranked #40 of 185 Restaurants in Alba
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York
Level Contributor
173 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“An experience with the chef”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Come here in the off -season during a weekday. The great thing about this place is the contact with the staff, especially the chef who is quite a character. I started with a glass of Arneis and some amuse bouche of spinach frittata which was excellent. The mixed lettuces with fresh artichoke hearts and herbs needed more lemon but was delicious nonetheless. I wanted to eat something from the region and for some reason the waitress was pushing fish. Only problem is none of it was from the area so I opted for the Barolo-braised rabbit with vegetables. I passed on dessert but received a lovely arrangement of petite fours. It is a very old-fashioned romantic place with candles and orchids on the tables. The menu could use a bit of updating but I found the experience worthwhile.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BuckeyeChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    33
    16
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
144 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Not impressed!”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

3 courses with a glass of wine was €80. The food was mediocre at best.

I'd much rather eat at Enolab or Lalibera, both of which would cost half as much.

Little wonder why only 3 tables on a busy Sat night.

Not going back even if you drag me by my hair!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank a9zn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Well hell.....”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I have been twice to this restaurant - it is good but does not live up to its promises. The food is good, the atmosphere is sort of pretentious and the price is....well, not adequate.
The first time I went I was invited to a "no-truffle" menu. The food was appealing, not innovative in any way, but well cooked and well presented. It also offered an array of good vegetable dishes, which is quite rare in an Italian restaurant.
We went for a "truffle" experience. And that was a bad idea. You could tell that the owner was taking a ride on us. Lots of expensive, over priced and poor quality truffle. 65 grams, more expensive than gold (but, it has to be said that this year was a bad one for truffle). The truffle we bought in the streets and ate at home was tastier. The price was out of this world taking into account that we had consumed no wine.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stefania c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sao paulo
Level Contributor
98 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great place!”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

The restaurant is in the house of the chef and Owner Bruno, that is a special character.
You can tell that he loves what he does....ask to visit the kitchen and you will see how perfectionist he is....he is also an excellent source if you want tips of places and restaurants to go in Piedmont.
The food is great, the service is perfect and the atmosphere is very nice. Totally recommended!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tichaguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Pasta and Wine List”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Good restaurant with a good wine list. Tarjin, pasta of the region, served with Ouvele, a mushroom that rivals porcini, was fantastic. A bit pricey, but worth it.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mscudiery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dulcis Vitis also viewed

Alba, Province of Cuneo
Alba, Province of Cuneo
 
Alba, Province of Cuneo
Alba, Province of Cuneo
 
Alba, Province of Cuneo
Alba, Province of Cuneo
 

Been to Dulcis Vitis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing