We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfecto!”
Review of Hotel Savona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Savona
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Alba
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfecto!”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I was looking for a real old world, true Italian experience and Alba during the Truffle Festival couldn't have been a better choice. Hotel Savona is perfectly situated...within a 2 minute walk from the train station (even with huge suitcases this was a breeze), and right on the edge of the main village. The hotel restaurant has the BEST pizza...very light, airy crust and so many varieties to choose from. The hotel is very well appointed..the rooms were big enough, the bathrooms have lots of amenities, and the breakfast is classic European, with meats, cheeses, lots of breads, fruits, yogurt, eggs, and cereals. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: I had a room on the street side and it is a bit loud so if you're a light sleeper you might want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adk1851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    87
    93
    30
    15
See reviews for
27
91
13
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corfu, Greece
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We wanted a hotel in the old section of Alba and this fit the bill - one block from the Piazza Savona. We walked everywhere in the five days we were here except for one day when we took our car and went to a winery near Canelli. This is an old style hotel which was comfortable but could do with bit of refurbishing. Desk staff was friendly and generally knowledgable. Breakfast was satisfactory. Secure hotel parking was very convenient. The hotel is close to many restaurants and the main shopping pedestrian street. The price was a little high for what it is but this might be because of the annual truffle festival which was happening the week after we were there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredCorfu_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The hotel is located just a few minutes walk from the train station and city center, which we found to be a perfect location. The rooms are small but ok, as long as you don`t mind pink carpets. Friendly and serviceminded staff. For us who doesn`t fancy pastries for breakfast, the selection was rather limited. But friends of ours stayed in this hotel a couple of weeks earlier, and was very pleased with the breakfast, so the selection probably varies.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genova
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

On the pluss side right in the center of the city. Rooms are small and dated. Brekfast plain not the best. Staff friendly

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloGenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2012

A great location, very cozy.The only hotel in the city center. Rooms are old fashioned and very clean. The entire staff is competent, helpful and available. The breakfast is very good and the pizza restaurant is world class. Parking is limited, so reserve ahead. I travel to this area regularly and this is the only place I will stay.

Room Tip: I have never experienced a bad room location. Some have better views than others but all are of high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
664 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,266 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed here one night with friends and this was not my favorite hotel. Yes the location is good; but it’s also just a minute walk away from a main piazza where music played until midnight and people partied late into the morning. The street that the hotel is located on is noisy and the windows did not keep the noise out. It was too early for the A/C to be on, thus the room was hot. So this plus the very hard beds and pillows added up to a poor night’s sleep.

To me the rooms aren’t “antique” looking, but simply dated, with tiny, poorly designed bathrooms. We had trouble closing the wooden bathroom door because it backs up against the shower and had been soaked periodically, thus scraping the tile floor, which is badly in need of cleaning. There was mold in the shower and the bathroom floor tile needs a good scrub. The bathroom has avocado green tile designs with red plastic hooks and towel racks; very dated.

We arrived for breakfast just after nine and there wasn’t a clean table in either of the two dinning areas. The food was picked over with most of the bread gone. The two women working did a good job of cleaning up quickly as people entered and requested a table and eventually the food was replenished. It’s your standard breakfast, nothing special, no hot eggs or hot meat, but plenty of cheese, cold cuts, cereal, yogurt and eventually bread.

Should I return to Alba, this won’t be my first choice, although if you want a very central location and have ear plugs, this may be the hotel for you!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnArborMHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Hotel Savona is a 2-minute walk from the main street in Alba. The rooms are large. Staff is very friendly. They provide parking space in the hotel parking lot (secure your reservation). As you may know, Alba is next to the wineyard of Barbaresco and other Barolo villages.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfredSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alba hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Calissano
Hotel Calissano
#1 of 10 in Alba
449 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Langhe
Hotel Langhe
#2 of 10 in Alba
385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Finati
Palazzo Finati
#4 of 10 in Alba
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ristorante I Castelli
0.3 mi away
Albergo San Lorenzo
Albergo San Lorenzo
#6 of 10 in Alba
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Dellatorre
Casa Dellatorre
#7 of 10 in Alba
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savona

Property: Hotel Savona
Address: Via Roma 1, 12051, Alba, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Alba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savona 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Savona is situated in the heart of Alba, capital of the Langhe. For cover a century now it has carried on the tradition of hospitality for which the area is renowed.The Savona is a well appointed hote offering modern, functional facilities to cater for the full gamut of specific leaisure or business needs: suites and rooms complete with bath, thelephone, television,frigobar, air conditioning and Jacuzzi.Three conference rooms with meeting and convention facilities for up to 150delegates.The restaurant can accommodate up to 150 diners at a time: here it ispossible to savour the refined cuisine of the Langhe or arrange special menus for business lunches and dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Savona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savona Hotel Alba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing