We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased with this hotel”
Review of Hotel Langhe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Langhe
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Alba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We spent one night in this hotel, we had a large superior room on the ground floor, at a very goodl prize. We appreciated very much the decor of the room, the 'strange' large bathroom, the rich breakfast in the nicely decorated lobby area. The owner was extremely nice and helpful, also the rest of the staff we interacted with was very nice. There is a nice garden, with plenty of space to park.
The location is ok if you travel by car and you want to have a quiet night of rest. You cannot walk to Alba's center, but you can use this hotel as a starting point to explore the beautiful Langhe region.
On the negative side: there was no minifridge in our room, which is fine in winter but for me would be a problem in summer (and I would expect one in a 4 star hotel). No possibility to make coffee/tea in the room as well.
Although the bathroom was really nice, and it was organized in three distinct areas, I would have preferred a 'real' door, instead of the sliding door.

Room Tip: Superior rooms on the ground flloor have direct access to the garden.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Langhe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

From the swanky breakfast cafe lighting to the collection of obscure (and delicious) boutique Piemonte wines, this tiny country inn exudes an understated vibe of country cool. It's not fancy or fussy, and it's not rustic or rough. Rather, the owners have created an instantly comfortable respite for those needing a home-base for exploring the incredible hill towns of the area.

The town of Alba and its old centro district is close by (5 minutes by car). Having traveled throughout Italy numerous times before (the crowds in Venice, Rome, etc. have become so painful!), we fell in love with this entire area. Great restaurants are plentiful and the old town's focaccia cafes are worthy of World Heritage status. The throngs of tourists and busses are nowhere to be found and the locals are actually happy to see you. Alba rules.

If you get a room facing the hillside, you may get to hear the local farmer's truffle dogs working in the fall mornings, and if you're lucky, they'll serenade you with some amazing choruses of howling from time to time.

Bonus points for Nico's music selection (great tunes for breakfast) playing from a vintage 1970s era hi-fi in the lounge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We had chosen this place kind of blindly, but our experience here was quite a surprise. The owner/manager is an interesting and very personable fellow who made us feel quite welcome and ensured we were comfortable. We were rain-drenched and tired by the time we arrived, and his personal attention to us was just the tonic we needed. We were sorry we did not book more than one night. The room was large, bathroom quite nice; very clean. Just be mindful of the high-sided tub; it takes a high leg-lift to clear it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItalianWhirlwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Expecting a modern soulless block we were delighted to find an attractive small family hotel in lovely gardens inclding a small pool overlooking a little river and baby waterfall with comfortable garden loungers etc. Warm welcome from multilingual staff. Comfortable room with tea and coffee. Very quiet facilities. Copious breakfast. On edge of Alba but still quite central.A little difficult to find as address suggests it might be at bottom of a hill. It is but only after you climb quite a distance up a steep major avenue and in last couple of hundred metres suddenly turn left and go sharply downhill. Take the driveway slowly as it is a blind corner. Loved the place. Molto simpatico.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sardonicDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Loved this hotel! It is very nicely manteined, pretty and cosy. The staff is very good and always giving tips of restaurants and places to visit. Nico, the owner, is super kind as well!! It is a few blocks from the city center, but not really far. Breakfast has great ingredients and a good selection.Hope to be back there and would definitely reccomend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chakeiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Hotel langhe had the best service of our entire Italian tour. They made us feel extremely welcome (free welcome drink!). They had a great outdoor areas with a view of a local winery and a pool to enjoy. The only downside is it is a little outside of town but they had free bicycles you could borrow if you wanted which was a nice touch. Definitely worth a recommendation.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The small hotel is a gem, albeit an inexpensive gem. The location is ideal, easy access
to Barolo, Santa Maria and Barbaresco. You will actually save enough money to buy
wine for your next destination. The breakfast is five star and the happy hour is very nice.
Now, you can spend a ton more money in downtown Alba but why? You will be in your
car seeing the beautiful Laghe Hills all day so why hang in the Piazza? Trust me, you
will love it!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the river
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurice Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alba
0.5 mi away
Hotel Calissano
Hotel Calissano
#1 of 10 in Alba
472 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Le Botti
Hotel Le Botti
#2 of 3 in Guarene
145 reviews
8.6 mi away
Relais San Maurizio
Relais San Maurizio
#1 of 1 in Santo Stefano Belbo
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Palazzo Finati
Palazzo Finati
#4 of 10 in Alba
129 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ristorante I Castelli
6.7 mi away
Il Boscareto Resort & SPA
Il Boscareto Resort & SPA
#1 of 2 in Serralunga d'Alba
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Langhe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Langhe

Address: Strada Profonda 21, 12051, Alba, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Alba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Alba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alba
Price Range: £85 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Langhe 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Langhe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langhe Hotel Alba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing