We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid food, terrible service”
Review of Osteria dell Arco

Osteria dell Arco
Ranked #4 of 188 Restaurants in Alba
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Solid food, terrible service”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This was one of those places we were told we "had to eat at" so we did. In the heart of slow food country and the center of Alba, it's not particularly charming inside but nice. However I've never had such confused service like this anywhere in Italy. The gentleman tried take our food order before we'd even looked a menu. We wanted to order the wine first and he didn't seem to understand why. He seemed annoyed throughout the meal because I'm the only one of our group who spoke Italian. My dad and I ordered the tasting menu and my mom and wife ordered ala carte - no joke my Mom's braised veal came out before my appetizer! I actually had to explain to him when to bring out what dishes so we could eat together. Really? And getting the check was like pulling teeth, I asked him several times finally told my family let's stand up to leave and sure enough he finally brought the bill. The food was delicious and maybe the guy just had an off night, but when the service is that bad it tends to taint the experience. I wouldn't go back. And a table of French couples next to us had the same exasperating experience as we did.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KimmieandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    426
    112
    30
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great local food and nice wines !”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

A very nice place to eat local food at a reasonable price. Gnocchi with asparagus and pesto are delicious as well as the rabbit. Very nice wine selection by the glass and very generous cheese platter. Good animated ambiance and efficient service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReneeD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trani, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ad Alba come a casa”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

One of the best places to go informal in Alba centre with reasonable prices... great tajarin al sugo and a good selection of cheeses; unforgettable panna cotta.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ZestofItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fossano, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delicious food but no "slow" food experience!”
Reviewed 11 March 2013


Very interesting menu with quality ingredients and nice portions! Was really impressed with the food and place!
However, for being a slow food restaurant it sure didn't feel like it! As soon as we sat down they coldly told us what wasn't available anymore and asked what we wanted to eat before drinks! When we asked if the waitress could come back she rushed us and said the kitchen was closing soon !! (9;45) in italy on a saturday night!? Are you kidding? As soon as we finished our meals they kept coming back to ask about dessert until i finally asked if they were in a rush!
Anyway all in all one of the best decently priced restaurants i have been to in the area!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winesavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a terrific restaurant”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

A gem...authentic well prepared local cuisine. As good as any (or better than) any Italian rest in London...and at reasonable prices. Service is good and efficient in an Italian manner.Alba is not Cleveland, Ohio!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Potsdavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria dell Arco also viewed

 
Alba, Province of Cuneo
 
Alba, Province of Cuneo
Alba, Province of Cuneo
 

Been to Osteria dell Arco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing