We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Residence Aurora
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Albenga
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We have reluctantly left the Hotel Aurora, after a 2 week stay, and could not have asked for a better service. The apartments do not have air-conditioning but the owner Andrea could not have been more helpful and provided a fan upon request. We stayed in room 402, right at the top, which had a large terrace, perfect for sun-bathing all day and maybe lacked a little shade from the afternoon sun but this wasn't a real problem as we spent most days by the pool. The pool didn't have a shallow end but, with arm bands for little ones, it again wasn't too much a problem, it was the most beautiful, clean pool we have ever come across with lots of sun beds/umbrellas and inflatables and spotlessly clean. I am a beach person really, and wasn't too impressed with the shingle beach and deck chairs, but I am now a converted pool person after using the pool facilities here - I am also a non swimmer and rarely use pools but here I couldn't help but be enticed in. The apartments were very clean and towels and bed linen were changed half way through our stay. We used the secure underground car park, part of the hotel, which comes at a cost, but for piece of mind probably worth it although there is a free car park opposite. The centre of Albenga is quaint and stunning and about a 10-15 minute walk away. As a family, we would highly recommend Hotel Aurora and thank you to Andrea, and the friendliness of the local people, for making our holiday a happy one.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    55
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
117
34
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

i love this hotel becouse it has got a big swimming pool. The position of the hotel is very good. There are supermarkets, bakery, vegetables and restaurant near of the hotel. The beach is 250-300 m from the hotel. The hotel's got lot of useful services. Bar, breakfast, pool... The rooms are apartments, so all the rooms equipped with kitchen part. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We spent 8 days there and very enjoyed it. I'm sure we get back. :-D

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loci21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed 8 nights here in first week of June 2013 and loved it! When we search for the hotel one of the options was to have a pool. The Residence Aurora was our first option and it we did not regret a minute! It is a family owned nice, clean hotel, with very friendly staff, with WI-FI and TV (with several channels - Russian including - what a surprise). The location of the hotel is very good. There is a free parking right across the street and about 2 blocks away is good supermarket which we were buying breakfast everyday! The owners are always there and ready to help with any requests. Speak English.
I would definitely come back and recommend for everybody.
Price is reasonable, very clean rooms. Microwave, dishes, forks and knifes and glass in the kitchen - all you need to feel like home.
New furniture...
Elizabeth

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We took a late summer family holiday and found this hotel through Tripadvisor, so feel worth writing a review to follow up as steered by MelNL's review and the overall star ratings. We searched for a hotel with a pool in Liguria and this sparked our interest most of all.

We booked direct with the hotel as none of the systems attached here showed a vacancy during our week. The communication was easy withe the owners and we arranged a deposit payment. We weren't 100% sure of what to expect but had been told we had a two room apartment and they knew we had a 3 year and 6 month old in tow. We walked from the train station which was easy enough with wheeled luggage.

The Owners were waiting for us on arrival and there was a minimu of fuss with the paperwork. We were given a room on the 1st floor facing away from the road - so quiet but not much of a view, but convenient for the lift with the buggy. The apartment (202) had a sitting room with sofa bed (double if you pulled out the bottom section and raised the legs) - dining table and kitchenette with electric hobs and microwave with grill facility. All essential items were available to cook. The bathroom was small but functional. Next to this was a spacious double bedroom (2 singles pushed together with a gao in mattresses). Both rooms had doors to a decent sized balcony with table/chairs and drying rack.

You are pretty much left to your own devices then and the room wasn't cleaned or linen/towels changed during the week, but am sure that the owners would have done if asked. The week we were there was very quiet. We had been informed the pool would be closed on the 30th September, but in fact it was closed two days after our arrival and was pretty cold already - the weather wasn't great so this was hardly surprising really. Self catering was lovely and there are really good shops nearby (the OK supermarket on the corner has everything and there is a Lidl a stone's throw away).

The hotel is near the sea front and easy walking distance of the town centre and shops. Albenga is a lovely town, although we were there at the end of the season so can't say what it might be like in full flow!

Drawbacks - for two nights the next door apartment was occupied and their bathroom reverberated throuugh our bedroom - one night pretty much non-stop from 9.30pm to midnight. This would have been intolerable for a whole week. The water was pretty tepid out of the hot taps, it would have been good to have had more heat. The beds aren't the most comfortable - which you only really notice if you have small children and don't stay up particularly late. Finally the bedroom door has glass panels which is a bit annoying for staying up after the kids go to bed, we ended up draping the sofa cover over it which blocked most light.



d

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albenga, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

WE are so grateful for finding our way back to Aurora Recidence,we were visiting 9 years ago and there was a change of managment. The owner is very helpful and will do anything for you to have a great stay. The pool is ine of the best i have bathed in the water is so soft and clean, you are allowed to have bathtoys in the pool.The rooms are clean and the houskepping is so good and helpful. You can by icecream and coffea and also order breakfast if you prefer that instaed of making your own. Close to foodstores, there is a garage if you dont want to park in the street. To sum this up this is a great place to stay in ,I forgot to the beach is close by and you have free sunchairs there. I will recomend Recidence Aurora to anybody that wants a great vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agnetajuli2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed for a week here in August 2012 and loved it. The swimming pool is superb for the size of the residence and as a family we really enjoyed the relaxed week we spent there. The best thing is the personal service from the owners, which makes such a lovely change from big faceless hotels. There were lots of inflatables to play on in the pool and the owners were always on hand to help with any requests (they helped us to organize a day trip to Monaco and helped with recommendations of things to do in Genoa). The clientele was mainly Italian when we were there which we also enjoyed, everyone was very friendly. We also really liked Albenga - the historical town centre was really interesting and its a little less touristy than some of the other resorts close by. We found everyone to be friendly, in the supermarket, the barbers etc etc - just a lovely relaxing week in a great place - a great find and we will be back at some point!

Room Tip: We stayed on the highest floor facing the pool and had a fantastic view looking towards the sea and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albenga
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marisa
Hotel Marisa
#2 of 11 in Albenga
167 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence Sole
Residence Sole
#5 of 11 in Albenga
123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Solemare
Hotel Solemare
#4 of 11 in Albenga
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Magnolia Hotel
Magnolia Hotel
#3 of 11 in Albenga
112 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ai Pozzi Village & Spa
16.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acqua Novella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Aurora

Property: Hotel Residence Aurora
Address: Via Dei Patrioti 165, 17031, Albenga, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Albenga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Albenga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Aurora 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Residence Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing