We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B Poggio del Drago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
B&B Poggio del Drago
Ranked #1 of 109 Arezzo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We went to Italy and France for my partner's 60th birthday. Her dream was to go to Tuscany and see the rolling hills, olive groves and vineyards. Poggio del Drago was the perfect picture of all of that. It was very quiet and clean with beautiful grounds. The bedroom was large and the bed comfortable. We were there in mid May and 2 of the 4 nights we were there, no one else was there. It was very quiet and Emanuelle was very accommodating. We got lost getting there, so he came into town, Ponticino, about 10 minutes away, and let us follow him back to the B & B.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrW4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    53
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
130
479
14
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We just stayed in B&B Poggio del Drago for one night, and it was wonderful. We really enjoyed the beautiful and well kept structure and great breakfast! The owner is super nice and we truly suggest this bed and breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperNic6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Poggio Del Drago is a very beautiful property, developed from a restored farm house of typical Tuscan construction. Despite being quite close to the A1, it's peaceful and quiet, and we heard no traffic noise at all, apart from the one or two cars which come up and down the track. It is immaculate, extremely well decorated, and spotlessly clean.

Emanuele is a perfect host, and was very gracious with my imperfect Italian, as was the charming housekeeper, Rose. Nothing is too much trouble for either of these lovely people and they made us feel extremely welcome. There is coffee and tea always available for guests to help themselves, crockery, cutlery etc for your use, and a fridge shelf is reserved for each room. Any problems (like the plug which would not come up to empty the sink) are dealt with promptly and efficiently.

We stayed in Ophelia. The bed is extremely comfortable, and I also found the pillows fine - which for me is a big deal because I have a damaged neck and the wrong pillows give my a 'hungover' headache for the entire next day. The flyscreens are in first class condition (also important to one who is a banquet for all biting creatures for miles around) and there is a door which opens to the garden. The bathroom is small, but the shower is great: hot and with a good force, with a choice of hand or overhead shower spray.

Breakfast was perfect for us. Fruit juice, bread, jam, cold meats and cheese, biscuits, cereal, fruit and local cake, and a great variety of teas and coffees.

The one small niggle was that it would have been nice to have a little more storage in the room, there being no drawers for clothing. We managed very well though, since there was a spare bed to lay out suitcases on.

All in all, it was a tranquil, lovely, stress-free week of peace and quiet, while still being close enough to any number of gorgeous Tuscan towns. Arezzo, the closest large town, has a great deal of charm and we visited the old centre twice.

One piece of advice: there are two gates to this property. Use the second! It is much, much easier and smoother. You need to ignore the sign which says 'Poggio Del Drago' and points to a right turn from the track, and proceed upwards until you see a large metal gate on your right which (when we were there) is always open except at night. This gate is also for Poggio Del Drago!

Room Tip: All of the rooms that we saw looked great. We stayed in Ophelia which had the advantage of having a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

The location is beautiful and quiet. The rooms are clean and decorated with class. Our only regret was that the owner, Emanuelle, and we didn't speak the same language. We would have appreciated restaurant recommendations, etc but got along nicely despite this little issue. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muret, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed there from August 16 to 26, 2013. Each day was perfect, due to Emanuele (the boss :-) and the beautiful place with swimming pool and view to the Tuscan landscape ! You can visit the best cities of Tuscany and explore the little villages of Chianti wine. We will come back with great pleasure !

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank faouzi40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

It’s worth the drive up the rugged road to reach this charming villa in the peaceful countryside setting surrounded by olive trees. We stayed for three nights in September, with one night in the smaller room (Lenora) and two nights in the triple room (Vanilor). Rooms are nice and clean, thanks to the cleaning lady who worked wonders every morning with a big smile. Just a glitch in the shower head - the handheld shower in Vanilor was quite weak so had to use the rain shower which worked well. Breakfast is superb, especially the delicious torte! Above all, Emauelle the host made all the difference and added so much fun to our stay!
這間漂亮莊園雖然位於山上,開車必須利用GPS才找到,但甫到入口,便看見偌大的庭園,感受到郊野的清新寧靜。莊園有五個房間,裝飾雅緻,每天早上,風趣的屋主Emauelle備好滿桌早餐,讓客人於大廳或花園享用。住進這裏絕對比傳統酒店更能體驗Tuscany的大自然及田園風味,而且開車到Chianti酒區或鄰近的城鎮Arezzo, Montalcino, Cortona, Castellina..…等也非常方便。

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We wanted a quiet, relaxing getaway in Tuscany to unwind after a week in Venice and Florence. Poggio del Drago did not disappoint! This renovated farmhouse sits on a hillside overlooking the countryside. The grounds are beautifully kept and the pool area, overlooking the valley is wonderful. We stayed for 6 nights and could have easily stayed longer. The rooms, decorated in a modern style, are very clean and comfortable. The breakfast area is in the center of the guest rooms and we often lingered there after breakfast and in the evening visiting with the other guests. Our host, Emanuele, was very hospitable and warm. He has a wonderful espresso machine that is available to use at any time and a refrigerator stocked with drinks for purchase, or you can store your own food or drinks in the frig. The only negative I would say is that it is difficult to locate the first time. GPS is definitely a plus! We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arezzo
23.4 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hotel Badia di Pomaio
Hotel Badia di Pomaio
#9 of 29 in Arezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
10.0 mi away
La Cantina Relais - Fattoria Il Cipresso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
22.1 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Il Gentiluomo
Hotel Il Gentiluomo
#1 of 29 in Arezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Poggio del Drago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Poggio del Drago

Property: B&B Poggio del Drago
Address: Localita Poggio del Drago 18 | Ponticino, 52041, Arezzo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Arezzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Arezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Poggio del Drago 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poggio del Drago Bed & Breakfast originates from an old rural stone cottage, originally built at the end of the 19th century and recently restored, keeping the rural architecture and combining it with the comforts of the modern world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your B&B Poggio del Drago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing