We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful.”

Church of San Francesco Arezzo
Book In Advance
More Info
US$268.06*
and up
Cortona and Arezzo Full-Day Small-Group Tour from Rome
Ranked #5 of 91 things to do in Arezzo
Certificate of Excellence
bristol
Level Contributor
101 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful.”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Do not be put off by the very austere facade of the church, it is the inside that matters.
Thed paintings by Piero della Francesa are wonderful and the guide sheet gives a very clear explanation about all the paintings.
Arezzo has a wealth of art treasures and If you are unlucky enough to have a very wet day, there is enough to keep you interested and dry.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank chrisv5101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    608
    188
    52
    37
    34
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

well worth our special trip to Arezzo to see. We booked by phone in advance, but were the only ones there on a rainy tuesday. If you are in Arezzo this is a must see.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank carmellasoprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Worth the hassle and cost”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Yes you do have to pay 8 Euros for a 30 minute slot but it is worth doing. We went first to book our tickets and chose a slot at 2.30pm. We looked around Arezzo which is a lovely City, had lunch and then the frescoes! To have the opportunity to view them so closely even with tour guides all around and then from the body of the church as the congregation must have. There are so few surviving works of Piero della Francesco, I count myself very lucky to have seen these.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosemary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Wondrous Works of Piero”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The frescoes are extraordinary, the lighting quite good, and the opening hours generous. I was very pleased with the accommodating staff - they allowed us to re-visit later in the day when it was not so busy. Only problem - the noisy tour guides. Why don't they give their annoying speeches BEFORE they go into the chapel? Or give their clients a podcast to listen to on headphones? It is very distracting to have them shouting in your face (the space is quite limited) while you're craning your neck to look at these wondrous works.
If you really care about Piero bring binoculars, like we did. Helps a lot to see all the beautiful details.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheherezade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This church is where you will see the newly restored frescoes of "The True Cross" by Piero Della Francesco. The entire apse is covered by these wonderful 15th century frescoes. The flowering of the Renaissance can be seen right here in these works.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank zoeopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Church of San Francesco Arezzo also viewed

Arezzo, Province of Arezzo
Arezzo, Province of Arezzo
 
Arezzo, Province of Arezzo
Arezzo, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Church of San Francesco Arezzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing