We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, outstanding presentation and warmth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Rotte Ghiotte

Le Rotte Ghiotte
Ranked #55 of 478 Restaurants in Arezzo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arezzo, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, outstanding presentation and warmth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Le Rotte Ghiotte offer excellent tempting dishes, trays on which food is beautifully displayed, a variety of flavours from all Mediterranean countries, and above all Shady's big smile.
Shady and his staff are there to amaze you and tempt your senses. Shady is also a great teacher, with Andrea any cooking class is great fun.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    106
    34
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An outstanding experience from beginning to end”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Chef Shady is fantastic. The food is delicious, the atmosphere is fun, the menu is diverse, chef Shady speaks 4 languages, it was just a great evening. Can't say enough about how great this place is. Just Go!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great mediterranean gem in Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We visited here not once but twice during our recent trip to Tuscany. We had experienced Shady's fantastic skills as a chef when he used to be the head chef at Il Borro a few years ago, where we stayed.
We had heard on our return there this year that he had opened his own restaurant in Arezzo, so we had to hunt him down. To our delight, he is now also a celebrity TV chef "Chef Shady".

The restaurant serves a blend of Italian and Mediterranean dishes, with many traditional family recipes used stemming from Shady's family heritage. And it was delicious, served with great wines that the staff match for you. The service is fantastic. Shady and his brother spend time with you, explaining each dish. Great portion sizes.
They are really welcoming of children which was important for us, traveling with a 3 and 6 year old. They were more than accommodating making alterations to dishes for the children. We always take an ipad or other amusements for the kids whenever we eat out when we are traveling - not that they needed it, our girls loved watching the orange juice being hand pressed. Le Rotte Ghiotte is just outside the walls of Arezzo town and there is a carpark directly across the road. We highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mmmw04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

We were looking for authentic, fresh Italian food ...and found it here. The price are also reasonable and service is very friendly. Overall a wonderful evening out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, perfect service, convenient price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

We found a place through the Tripadviser, it's a small place just a short walk from the historic center. Don't let the simple interior design to put you off. The hospitalty of the chef (he spoke English too!) was incredible, he immediately made us feel at home. The menu is not very big, but thoroughly chosen, and has Italian and international dishes in it. Everything we had was delicious - perfectly cooked tagliata di manzo (cut beefsteak), great paella also the dolci were fantastic. Vine quality was great and the price seams very reasonable. Really one of the better restaurants we were in Italy. And they run a cooking school too.
Many thanks again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arkady M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Rotte Ghiotte also viewed

Arezzo, Province of Arezzo
Arezzo, Province of Arezzo
 
Arezzo, Province of Arezzo
Arezzo, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Le Rotte Ghiotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing